We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,602)
Filter reviews
1,602 results
Traveller rating
976
452
101
41
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
976
452
101
41
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood stove bluff cabins ruby beach creekside restaurant the pacific ocean hoh rainforest olympic national park gift shop beach access cozy cabins on site restaurant tide pools low tide the cliff washington coast beach combing small store
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 1,602 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017

I took my parents here for 3 nights during a trip to the national parks in Washington. We stayed in a duplex cabin with 2 bedrooms.

We didn't have a cabin with a view (we were looking at the backs of other cabins), but we knew that when we booked. The cabin was completely clean and very comfortable. It had a full kitchen, but it was very basic, so keep that in mind if you plan on doing a lot of cooking (not a lot of pots, pans, utensils, etc). The beds were comfortable. At first, the tile floors didn't seem very cozy, but they are probably much easier to keep clean in a sandy location and we got used to them. The only complaint we had was that the wall separating the two units in the duplex was apparently very thin, and for 2 nights, we had very noisy neighbors (loud talking, laughing, shouting, swearing).

The setting is pretty, being right on the bluff above a beach and next to a creek. There were pretty flowers around the cabins. There is a gazebo on the bluff that is a great place to watch the sunset (it was crowded with others doing the same, but everyone was friendly). Just be aware that, like most of the beaches in the area, you do need to walk down the bluff to reach the water, so people who have disabilities or mobility issues might not be able to get down to the water.

We ate breakfast each day in the dining room, and it was decent. Like most national park restaurants, it wasn't the most amazing food for the price, but it was good enough, and service was always excellent.

The location is perfect for seeing the beaches of Olympic. You can walk down to Kalaloch Beach from the resort, and many other beaches are just a few minutes' drive. We loved the seastacks and tidepools at Ruby Beach, and one afternoon we watched whales from the bluff at Beach 2. The lodge is also only about 40 minutes from the Quinault Rainforest, and about an hour each from the Hoh Rainforest and Rialto Beach.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that duplex cabins could be unpleasantly loud, depending on how loud your neighbors are
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HeroicPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

I came here as a 16-year old on a family vacation in 1988, and had fond memories of our stay in the lodge. So when my husband and I decided to take our 16-year old on a winter break trip to drive 101, I knew where I wanted to spend Christmas!

We got a log cabin with two queen beds. It had a wood stove (wood provided), kitchen with all utensils and pots, microwave, range and sink and refrigerator (large dorm size). The bathroom had a shower with pump shampoo, conditioner and bath gel, so you get what you need without messing with little plastic bottles. Parking was next to each cabin, and across the parking is the beach!

Within a short drive, there are numerous beaches and forest hikes. It is a great, somewhat secluded, escape from the everyday life. Satellite signals are sporadic, so prepare to unplug from the internet..pay phones are on site. There is a restaurant at the lodge from 8am-8pm, and if you plan accordingly, you can get a full breakfast free....we are talking crab benedict and stuff like that!

The lodge, in winter, opens an upstairs suite as a lounge/game room/reading room with fireplace. There is a game closet you can borrow from, as well as a small selection of books. The lodge has gifts, as does the on-site mercantile, which has food, apparel, gifts, etc. I plan on returning whenever I’m on 101 again. Oh, and even though they have a Forks, WA, address, the lodge is about 40 minutes south of Forks.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Spent Christmas at the Kalaloch Lodge.
Had a wonderful time.
The staff and service were excellent as usual.
Our waiter for Christmas dinner, Patrick, made the evening very enjoyable with his knowledge and personality.
Thank you
Steve Saunders

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Our cabin had two queen beds, semiprivate with a single bathroom (a bit awkward as it was in one of the bedrooms). There is a simple kitchen, two burners, a fridge and microwave. Bring your own salt and pepper! Don’t plan any complicated meals. There is a store with plenty of easy boxed meals for sale, a bit expensive. The staff in the lodge are accommodating. The beds were comfortable and the place clean.
The location is spectacular. Some cabins are on a bluff for unobstructed ocean viewing. There are places for play and a fire pit to enjoy. We could see the ocean and the setting super moon from our window even though not on the bluff. There are many places to sit and overlook the ocean and a trail to the ocean.
One thing: when making your reservation, READ THE FINE PRINT, SOME GUESTS WE TALKED TO GOT FREE BREAKFAST (directly off the menu for the same price we paid). AND they wouldn’t change our reservation for us to take advantage of that when we discovered this discrepancy. So make sure you ask about the included breakfast.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank draePDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Too bad I live in the Midwest and will most likely not return, but this was a very nice stay. Great location, on the water, short walk from the lodge to the beach. Very friendly and welcoming staff. And although the restaurant was a bit pricey, it was worth it.

My only complaint was the HVAC in the room didn’t work properly. Although they tried to fix it they could not. But when I mentioned my issue at check out, they adjusted my bill, without me asking.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bree A, Manager at Kalaloch Lodge in Olympic National Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hello Ted,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing this great review. We apologize that the HVAC system wasn't working properly in your room and we will be sure to get this fixed for future guests. We are happy to hear you were pleased with how our staff handled the issue and we hope you had a great overall stay. We wish you safe travels and we hope you will visit us again if you are ever in the area!

Best,
Bree A.
Customer Service Manager
Kalaloch Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews