We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An ideal place for a solo retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
The Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Studio
The Studio The studio is on the point where the arrow points!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The Studio
The Studio
The studio is on the point where the arrow points!
Entry
The dining room/living room/loft bed
Looking from living room to dining room. Reading nook & window seat beyond
Fire in the woodstove, flat screen TV on left
Handmade cedar table
Window seat, clothing tree
Preparing the coat tree
Ladder to loft
Loft bed
Clerestory windows wrap around loft bed
Kitchen/bath
Well-equipped kitchen
Front deck and driveway (train tracks are beyond and below far side of driveway)
Path to hot tub (our house is on the left)
Hot tub
Parking area
Driveway
View of Chuckanut Mountain about 200 feet from our driveway
View of Chuckanut Bay about 200 feet from our driveway
The Interurban Trail leads to town, with countless spurs accessing Chuckanut mountain and beaches
Beautiful Fragrance Lake, a 2.5 mile hike from the Studio
The Rock Trail, the newest Chuckanut Mountain Trail
Nearby Chuckanut Island (a 20 minute paddle away). The studio is in the trees in the distance
Chuckanut Mountain view from nearby Chuckanut Island - the studio is in the trees on the far right
North Cascades Mountain trails are just 1.5 hours' drive away
Pleasant Bay Lookout, with sweeping views of forest & sea, is also available for an extra fee
Glass wall of Lookout
View from Lookout deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bellingham, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Venture68...
1 review
“An ideal place for a solo retreat”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This place was like a dream getaway! Aimee was so helpful when I first arrived and the place is lovely. If you're looking for peace and quiet and a chance to get recentered, this is the place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen b
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, terrific owners, but have caution with loft bed.”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying here. It was a terrific respite. The studio has a beautiful mid-century design. It has a full kitchen. It's close to water, close to hiking, close to town, but still secluded. The owners are great—personable and full of information about things to do around the area.

My only caution is about the loft bed. If you have any movement limitations or are past 50, you may not want to try it. It's difficult to get into and could use some more hand holds around the ladder for safety. Also, not safe for children as the edges of the loft are open. The couch in the living room folds down and converts to a bed too, so that may serve if you don't want to climb into the loft.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The secluded setting in the woods.
Liked least: The loft bed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary H
Castro Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and unique”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Aimee started a fire for us in the wood burning stove, left cookies for us and greeted us when we arrived. She knew we were coming to visit relatives in Bellingham and didn't need info about hiking trails. There was TONS of information about hiking trails for those of you who like to hike/explore. The kitchen had all we needed. The train that comes by occasionally did not bother us a bit. The best part is the wood burning stove and the windows all around. I sat and read while in front of the fire and enjoying the view. The main bed is in a loft- my husband and teenage son slept in it. I slept on the futon that turned into a really comfy bed with the topper on it (bathroom breaks in the middle of the night made that a safer choice for me. Of all the places we stayed on our driving vacation from California up to Bellingham= this is the one place we all agreed was our favorite!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and architecture/furniture of the house and wood burning stove
Liked least: having to go home.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehtew
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Let the forest be with you”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our family stayed here for two nights, and it was a special experience. We were on a quick getaway, and our only plan was to relax, curl up, and be at home. This place, nestled among the trees, was perfect, and was the highlight of our trip. The owner, Aimee, who lives on the property nearby, was a welcoming host, and unobtrusively attentive. Amazingly, there is a secluded private beach nearby, located down a steep trail. We wanted something in this area because it is near Fairhaven, and it also provides nice access to the Bow / Edison communities, and Burlington, and the Interurban Trail. The one room studio was expertly finished with lots of charming and unique accents and details. The sofa, which appeared to be of a higher end design or make, converts into a surprisingly comfortable bed. There is a wood burning stove and the main bed is suspended in its own frame from the ceiling - very cozy and inviting.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The studio and the surroundings, the private beach and easy access to great hikes
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing