We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Many miles of trails

Lots of wooded and shady trails. Head to the lookout tower for some nice views of the area and bay... read more

Reviewed 17 September 2018
mikeatlarge
,
Northwest USA
Great hikes on a mountain above the University

This is a great place to hike with many hilly trails and, at the top, a tower you can easily climb... read more

Reviewed 24 August 2018
Barry T
,
Sun City West, Arizona
Read all 48 reviews
  
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
20
22
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
22
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews observation tower great place to hike close to town tunnel trees bay parts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Lots of wooded and shady trails. Head to the lookout tower for some nice views of the area and bay and the tunnel is kind of fun as well.

Thank mikeatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

This is a great place to hike with many hilly trails and, at the top, a tower you can easily climb up to view the Bay and City. And when you're done, walk down to the WWU campus cafe and have a latte!!

Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

The arboretum is a nice little get away in the town of Bellingham, close to the university. There's parking below at the entrance and also a small lot up top by the observation tower. Easy trails to follow, some paved some dirt. When it's clear, the tower has great views of the area. Free to everyone.

Thank 778micheleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The trails are well-maintained and beautiful. It was an easty walk with a tunnel and tower to add to the experience.

Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We hiked Oyster Dome two weeks ago. This is a gentle stroll by comparison. There are numerous short loops and trails so you can walk as little or as much as you like. There are some steep parts (From Jersey street the left trail is a hike up, the right trail with the wooden barrier is much more gentle) The observation tower is much ado about nothing since most of the view is blocked this time of year- maybe all year- I didn't pay attention to which trees where coniferous and which ones were deciduous). It would be a good workout to start at the 25th street parking lot off of Bill McDonald parkway and go to the top but nothing a 50 something overweight couple wouldn't enjoy. The sign at the upper parking lot has a good map that give you a sense of how the trails connect.

1  Thank Smd1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

A little disappointing as the trails were overgrown so it was hard to enjoy the surroundings when we were too busy watching our step to ensure we didn't get entangled in bushes/shrubs. The day was also tarnished by some jerk who had left his/her large, very fluffy dog in a hot car with only 2 windows cracked, which put a damper on our hike. At least they had left the pup a bowl of water. Regardless, we called Animal Control and waited until they attended to the pup.

Thank Roamer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We planned our walking tour of Bellingham and Fairhaven to include walking through the Arboretum. We approached the Arboretum from the north, via Jersey Street. The climb from that direction is not for the faint of heart. The Arboretum is a lovely place to escape to within the city. You can easily spend an hour or more exploring it. We climbed to the top of the observation tower and recommend it for the views when the leaves are off the trees (the rest of the year, it seems the tower would be surrounded on all sides by trees). The walk downhill from the observation tower toward 24th Street and Bill McDonald Parkway was very nice, but I can imagine it would be challenging in the opposite direction.

1  Thank Cliff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

There is a good chance you'll have to share the view with a college kid or two. However, if you get the right time and are alone, it can be extremely peaceful. The walk up is a fairly steep incline, but not difficult. You will likely be winded though! There is parking at the bottom, but you still have to walk a ways before you make it to the Arboretum. However, very worth it.

2  Thank dansonman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

I walk my way to work through here almost every day. It's a great walk that offers a main trail thats pretty easy, as well as more difficult side trails. Or you can just go off the trail.

Thank rampagingUNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Trails maintained for any access level. Most of the trails are gently sloped so its easy to take a long or short walk through the woods. There are several paved roads so even in rainiest conditions its easy to walk without getting your shoes muddy. Observation tower is built sturdy to last many generations of enjoyment. Steady foot traffic with dog owners and families alike on recent Sunday morning walk.

1  Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews