We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house, great yard, nice neighborhood”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gourmet ultra contemporary kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Gourmet ultra contemporary kitchen
Guest room number three
steam room bath
Disapearing home theater and real VG Fir & real stone fireplace
kitchen from sunroom
living room
Master bath
sunroom
Sunroom & bar
sunroom (2)
Front of house
Hot tub, deck, BBQ, great back yard
1 of 3 walk-in-closets
jetted tub for two in the master suite
guest room number 4
2nd master with French doors out to the garden
Marble steam room with body sprays
Master bedroom
Guest room number 3
Dining room with both casual and fine dining sets for large groups
Real wood fireplace and disappearing 50\' 1080p plasma tv, built in surround sound, cozy furnishings
Contemporary sunroom floods the house with light year round
1 of 3 full baths (also has walk-in shower, not visible in this picture)
Luxurious linens, towels, and robes
Beautiful gardens
Lush suroundings
small 3
small 4
small 5 alt
small 6
small 7
small 8
small 9
small 91
Exceptional quality and detail
A very special and tranquil place
Your own private oasis!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bellingham, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IndianaSa...
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great house, great yard, nice neighborhood”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Except for difficult TV, wireless and computer issues, this was a GREAT house. We were 9 adults and one child of 11 yrs. Two of the bedrooms are VERY nice, the other two were good. The sunroom was very pleasant. Laundry facilities and hot tub were a plus. There were lots of dishes and pots and pans (some baking pans should be replaced). The living room is spacious with lots of seating. Dining area is adequate for our size group. One of the 3 bathrooms had sink stopper issues, otherwise the bathrooms were nice. Two of the bedrooms have to share a bath. There were plenty of towels, washcloths and supplies. The property was clean (maybe inside the kitchen drawers could use a once over). Decor was well done. If the weather had been better, we would have enjoyed the patio and back yard. Having a county park with scenic waterfalls and good hiking trails available to us was a real plus since we tried to avoid any more driving than was necessary and the house is not in walking distance of stores or restaurants. Everyone in our group enjoyed the house. We drove to Hagens and Trader Joes for groceries and ate at Boundary Bay Brewery (comfortable, easy and tasty for a large group). We would recommend visiting the Rock Sculpture Garden on Sylvan St. Other than that we did family things and visited family in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The two bedrooms on the newer wing.
Liked least: Difficulty with TV controls.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjp181718
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Stayed here in a group of 8 - four couples. It was perfect. The layout of the house is wonderful for privacy and is incredibly spacious! The pictures of the house are beautiful, but the home is more beautiful in real life. Lots of towels - which was great, because we used the hot tub. Location was great - $14 cab ride to downtown. Would have loved to stay longer - and would definitely stay again. Rated beds as good only because one of the king beds is actually two twins pushed together - a little less comfortable than a full king mattress.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and the layout
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidthebea...
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great vacation!”
Reviewed 12 November 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the Whatcom Fall Retreat for a month in July, 2012. We wanted to visit family and this was the perfect location. We already knew the area well, like there is a play ground 1 house away, the trailhead is there also BUT not needed since there is a path from the backyard to the trail.
The home was nicely furnished, the stereo was great as was the 1970-1980's music collection. My family loved the sun room and back yard...it was the center of our days there. We did use the spa but not often. The kitchen was workable, maybe a few larger pots would have been nice when I was making Jambalaya for 8, but otherwise fine.
We did have a problem with the kids not totally closing the fridge door so the temp jumped too warm, but that was operator error!
We traveled all over the area while visiting, there is so much to do!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was just relaxing...close to everything but still quiet.
Liked least: Maybe a larger patio table?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristy S
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Home in Bellingham”
Reviewed 15 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

A group of us have stayed at the Whatcom Falls Retreat home on several occaisions for business travel. The home is extremely well cared for, updated with everything one would need and private. The beds are extremely comfortable, the bathroooms well stocked and the owner is responsive to any requests / questions. Staying at the Whatcom Falls Retreat home is 'home away from home'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The soaking / jetted bathtub AND walk in closets!
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feebles07
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A haven on the edge of bushland ... wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 20 May 2011 for a stay in September 2010
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this beautiful house last year. The house is just like the photos on the website - spacious, elegant and well-equipped for a group or family stay. We loved walking in the nearby park, and then having a meal all together in the dining room (6 adults and 2 children fitted easily). If we come back to Bellingham, we would definitely stay here again.
The only, very minor, negative aspect was that the bins hadn't been emptied and were extremely full - I suspect this was an issue with the cleaner or the previous occupants (we were asked as part of the rental conditions to please get rid of our rubbish before leaving)
Overall, this is a gorgeous, roomy yet cosy house on the edge of the woods ... just perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2011
Thank you for this great review! It really means a lot to us!

My apologies that there was garbage in the exterior garbage can--your stay landed just after a big group checked out and ended the day before trash pick-up.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing