We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in Virginia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at the George Washington on our way to S. Carolina and enjoyed the stay so much we reserved a room on the way back. Both stays were outstanding for service, cleanliness, and great value.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 00 and 01 are especially nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,824 - 1,828 of 1,981 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Winchester is a charming, small town and makes for a great long weekend getaway.

It is nice to stay in a hotel that has character and doesn’t feel like a standard highway exit chain operation. The rooms are nice and well maintained. The public areas are all attractive.

I was surprised to be charged a parking fee in a small town like this. I can understand in a big city where many people don’t arrive by car. But most people must need a car to get there. So everyone must have to pay the fee. I hate extra fees that are unavoidable. Just up the rate by $5 instead of charging me later for parking.

My only other complaint has to do with the pool. The hot tub was so incredibly hot that I (and others in the pool area) couldn’t stay in for more than 2 minutes. And it was full of bubbles (?) like a bubble bath. This made it dangerous for seeing the steps, especially since there wasn’t a rail.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I don't know where to begin. From the time we checked-in until we left, The George Washington staff was very courteous and friendly and accommodating. The room was beautiful and very very clean and comfortably appointed.

We left feeling very well taken care of and overall very pleased with our stay. It could not have been better.

Thanks, George Washington, for making our 37th anniversary a very special occasion!

Dennis and Velda Carpenter

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Velda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the George Washington Hotel. We slept in a comfortable bed and enjoyed champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room. We ate at the Dancing Goat inside of the hotel for a dinner and breakfast and we were very pleased with both. We would definitely recommend this place to stay for a nice getaway. We don't live far from the hotel and thought it was perfect, because it was far enough but not too far. We did some sightseeing and really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The George Washington Hotel is a first class facility in a sweet location. I have stayed here many times and hosted two corporate events here.

Some information about:
The rooms- beautiful, clean and with comfortable beds and wonderful linens. High ceilings and pretty decor. Ask for a room with a bathtub if you want a tub. They offer a government room rate at the Winchester per diem rate.

The bar- It's awesome- order the Cosmo. It's cold and large and tastes just like it should.

The pool area- very pretty and clean. Pool is small but art deco-ish and interesting. The hot tub is great.

Dancing Goat- everything I've ever ordered here has been wonderful. Cheeseburger, baked brie, minestrone, pancakes for breakfast and the great coffee are some of my favorites.

The venue- Martin, Suzi and Jen are incredibly helpful and accomodating. This is a wonderful place to host an event. The ballroom is very beautiful, clean, historic and beautifully well-lit with natural light and antique windows. Supporting rooms for smaller groups are also lovely and functional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a tub if you want a tub. Ask for a government rate if you qualify. Ask to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank josmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
7.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
727 reviews
3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $143 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing