We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, elegant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed here for two nights and was very pleased. Very comfortable bed, crisp linens, marble
bathroom. Individual heat/cool controls works well. High ceilings give spacious feeling. Hallway
is clean, well-lit. Hot tub was great. Pool is nice to look at but not really meant for laps.
I tried the hotel restaurant but the salmon was fried and swimming in butter--I suggest the
ample # of restaurants in the pedestrian corridor a block away. I liked Brubaker's for lunch.

Room Tip: I was in 526, a king at the back of the hotel facing the parking structure behind the hotel. At th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisFairfield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,884 - 1,888 of 2,034 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

This beautifully restored and updated historic hotel was a wonderful find for my wife and me when we took a getaway weekend. All the facilities were in great condition, the decorations were beautiful and the staff courteous and helpful. We are both so glad we chose this hotel in the center of the old town instead of one of the many chains, that I am sure are fine, out by the interstate.
The old town with the brick pedestrian walking mall is a great place for a meaningless stroll or some casual shopping. There are also several good restaurants in the area. The Nicoise is charming with the owner from Nice who sings along with his French CDs while serving customers himself.
We also enjoyed the free live music in the beautifully decorated bar off the main hotel lobby.

Room Tip: ask for one facing the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olsondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Had a lovely weekend at the George Washingon hotel in Winchester a few weeks ago. The room was warm, cozy and tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The included room ammenities (teas, bottled water, toiletries) were a wonderful touch. The staff was attentive and very personable.
I enjoyed a beautiful Saturday afternoon walking around Winchester - the shops and cafes within walking distance of the hotel were delightful. The hotel gift shop was a treasure of items from hand made purses to pewter pieces. The breakfast buffet at the Dancing Goat was pretty basic, but the resaurant staff was very friendly and added that special element that made an oridinary buffet into a very lovely meal shared with friends.
One of the highlights was the fatastic massage at Saumaj Spa which is there at the hotel. The staff at the spa were warm, friendly and made me feel pampered and special. It was the icing on the cake of a great weekend.
I am already making plans this spring to visit the George Washington again - most definitely will be selecting a few more spa services during my next visit (who doesn't like to feel like a princess during a little getaway??)!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I came to the George Washington Hotel for a weekend getaway with some friends in January 2012. The Hotel location is wonderful. Nice restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance. When we parked at the hotel we didn’t need our car until we left. We were extremely pleased with all the accommodations the hotel provided and the staff was very friendly . The rooms were clean and comfortable. My friends and I love to get spa services so we were very pleased to find out that the Saumaj spa was located on the premises. My friends and I all booked and appointments for a facial and massage. We were all so relaxed and refreshed afterwards. The spa services were very well done. I have had a lot of spa treatments done in the past and I must say the Saumaj therapists were up there with the best treatments I’ve ever received. We enjoyed our time in Old Town Winchester so much that we are already planning our next weekend getaway to the George Washington hotel and the Saumaj Spa.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have the personal experience of using the George Washington for both my wedding and corporate events. They do a fantastic job! From the early stages of planning through the final product, they are a class act! I have also stayed in their rooms which are fantastic. The flant panel TV, upgraded granite and luxury bed linens are just a few highlights. The room sizes are large and spacious with plenty of room to move around and store your personal belongings. The ammenities are very nice from the restaurant downstairs to the lounge on the main level, you can except great service and wonderful hospitality. I cannot say enough about their service, from the cleaning staff, bellmen, front desk, restaurant staff, sales staff, etc.. they are all top notch. You will NOT be disappointed with your stay here, whether it be for personal use or business. Five plus stars for me!!!

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous22603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
7.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Winchester, VA
2.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
2 km away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#4 of 25 in Winchester
705 reviews
2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: AU$148 - AU$240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing