We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”
Review of Blue Talon Bistro

Blue Talon Bistro
Ranked #38 of 421 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 30 - USD 30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a warm place to have dinner. All the family enjoyed the professionalism and warm welcome of the crue. And the food was excellent. Highly recommended!

Thank Guillaume F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Blue Talon Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Guillaume!

I am only sorry that April did not show you more hospitable weather!! Thanks for finding us - we are truly glad you enjoyed your visit. Please come back soon!

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 91 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Good restaurants are hard to come by around Colonial Williamsburg. We spent all day learning about history and were ready for a good dinner. Unfortunately, we had not made any reservations and were not able to get a table at several places before reaching Blue Talon, which is close to the main attractions. Anyway, this French restaurant turned out to be great. It is very family friendly and serves great food. The special of the day, seared duck, was great. Definitely also ask for the complimentary bread and butter. Our son enjoyed his meatloaf which had a distinct french flavor.

Thank Torsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Blue Talon Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Torsten - and thanks for the kind words! We're glad you found your way to our door. We do love classic French bistro food and our menu offers some of the ones we love most, but we also have a ton of American comfort food as well, don't forget! We hope you'll find your way back to Williamsburg sometime soon!

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This is tough. Limited menu for teens and kids. But I had a delish tomato and goat cheese tart, and my son had escargot. I felt prices were pretty good for an upscale place! The crepes were delish! But I was a little disappointed overall.

Thank joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Blue Talon Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Joanne,

Thanks for your observations. We are working on a more expansive Kids Menu and hope to have it out in the coming days. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and we should more stuff dedicated to smaller people very soon!

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The Blue Talon was suggested to us by a friend who said that DoG Steet Pub would be good for a beer, the Maizie's ESB was really good there, so we felt he might be right about the Talon too.

We ate at the bar since they had a long wait for a table. Our bartender was very nice. She steered me away from the short ribs to the roasted scallops with asparagus and forbidden black rice. The scallops were very good. The black rice was a treat. Great pairing of different flavors. My wife enjoyed her french onion soup and garden salad.

Too stuffed for dessert. A nice choice after a day of walking.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jimbelenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Blue Talon Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for the compliments and it's great to hear that you are enjoying Merchants Square! (On a personal note, you would not have gone wrong with the Short Rib special - it's fantastic!). I hope you will come back downtown again soon!

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Oasis of wonderful French-style cuisine in the heart of Williamsburg. A bit on the pricey side but worth it if you have the time and money. Sit in the back for less noise and try the small outdoor patio if open. Steak au frites and the cassoulet were truly awesome!

Thank FranLutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Blue Talon Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Fran,

Your compliments are much appreciated - and it's great to see folks that love the dishes we do. My partner and I truly admire French bistro cooking and have done our very best to bring that to our community, so we can offer French AND American comfort food at the same time.
I hope we see you again soon!

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Talon Bistro also viewed

 
Williamsburg, VA
 

Been to Blue Talon Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing