We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Great Food”
Review of Food For Thought

Food For Thought
Ranked #6 of 429 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Food For Thought is a family restaurant in Williamsburg, Virginia, that’s as engaging for the mind as it is for the senses. Surrounded by quotes and images of inventors, scientists, and social leaders, our atmosphere aims to inspire families and encourage discussion over wholesome, delicious food. Food For Thought’s menu is as diverse as the great thinkers themselves. Our diner’s choices vary from American classics, ethnic dishes, healthy vegetarian options, or one of our nightly seafood specialties. The foundation of our menu is built upon American staples like our famous Fork Tender Pot Roast, Grandma’s Meatloaf, and “fall off the bones” ribs. America grew up on these meals, and we love paying homage to our country’s past. To complement these favorites, we added some newer, more contemporary flavors and ideas like Pad Thai, Jamaican jerk chicken, flavored butters, and original vegetarian dishes. To ensure everyone finds something they love, we also provide a gluten-free menu, a kid’s menu (with healthy options!) and our “Magic 55” senior’s menu. Our food is prepared with love and served with pride. A truly wonderful meal is a combination of good food and good conversation -- so talk about the special people featured here. Talk about the contributions that these people have made to the world! Have a meaningful conversation about how everyone can be great in his or her own way.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

FFT is a favorite dinner spot of ours whether we're in a group or just a few. This is not a tourist dinner mill but a great place to dine.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Velvet1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We're proud to be one of your favorite spots! Hope you'll come back and dine with us again very soon.

Sincerely,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 421 of 5,025 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

We ate there twice in 3 nights! We waited at the bar for a table, even with our 7 yr old. the bartenders were as nice as could be and made great cocktails. Our server was fabulous - friendly and professional. I had the shrimp and grits - soooo good. Oh and they pass around stuffed mushrooms sometimes for people who are waiting , or are at the bar. they are amazing. They made a batch for our daughter who loved them. The second time we were there, just as good. That time we tried the shrimp and potato app (awesome) and I had panko flounder I believe with a rice side that was really interesting and good. Love love love this place.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julesdubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thanks for dining with us a TWO times while you were in town! That's a great compliment. We had a great time serving you and your family on both occasions. Hope you can come back and see us again very soon.

Sincerely,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Great service & food. Complimentary vegan bread & bruschetta offered to my daughter who couldn’t eat the bread provided. Thoughtful & attentive. Manager stopped by to see how everything was. Crab cakes were ALL crab! Unbelievable, so good!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank tnossett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

I appreciate this review! Bringing your daughter some vegan bread was no trouble at all, and I'm very happy to know that your crab cakes were enjoyable, too. Can't wait to see you next time!

All the best,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My wife and I frequent Food for Thought from time to time. You can always anticipate a good meal, wonderful hospitality, and very reasonable prices. You can never go wrong when you plan to eat at this very special place. I am eager to hear what you also think about it. Enjoy!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank WTM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for all five stars! We're always happy to see you and your wife at our place. Looking forward to next time.

Sincerely,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Third or fourth trip into Williamsburg, Va. and there are so many great restaurants! Monday night as we arrived into town, we chose, Food for Thought!! Their menu is so outstanding, we had to try... my husband selected the Meatloaf, sweet potatoes, creamed spinach. I had Thai one on, vegetarian!! It was delicious!! So many veggies, there was enough food for that meal and for take out! You can also select that with chicken or shrimp!! Everything was great and served with care !! If your in Williamsburg and need a different menu... try Food for Thought!!!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 609teresae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hehohop, Owner at Food For Thought, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

I'm very happy that you decided to try us on this trip to Williamsburg, Teresa! You made a great choice with our pad Thai, and it sounds like it really hit the spot. Hope you can come back and try something new with us the next time you're in town!

All the best,
Howard, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food For Thought also viewed

 

Been to Food For Thought? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing