We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This was the worst motel we ever stayed in. Normally we have good luck with less expensive places. We got woke up so many times because of loud patrons, gun shots and screaming. We felt unsafe. I asked for a upgraded room and was given two full size beds not queens as promised. The upgrade included a fridge and microwave, what a joke. The motel was not clean and our sheets did not get changed the whole time also the shower had mold. Not much for breakfast and they acted like we where bothering them by being there to eat. So we decided to find a local grocery and get our own breakfast items. I will pay for a better room next time. Nasty is the word, don't stay here. They also had full time residents here, that seem a little shady.

Room Tip: Not sure any room would be good.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017

This is the worst place I have ever stayed. 1st room - aircon did not work so we were transferred to another room. Mould around bathtub, dirty sinks, bathroom floor filthy. When i wanted to go to bed sheets were dirty. Took over an hour to get some clean sheets (the full story is too long and depressing to go in to). Walls disgustingly dirty (milk stains and cheerios stuck to wall).

Next morning we found out the room did not lock. Outside, you could just open the door, even when locked from inside.

Stairwells were dangerous - one cordoned off with tape and had collapsed stairs. Other had loose steps. Pool was empty and looked disgustingly dirty. Rubbish strewn around parking area.

We were promised a refund, but manager was away when we checked out and did not return phone calls as promised. We have made a complaint to Wyndhams group.

This should not be allowed to operate, The levels of mould and filth are a public health hazard.

Do NOT stay here under any circumstances. I don't understand how there can be any positive reviews on Trip advisor, unless people have reviewed a different hotel.

Room Tip: Any other hotel in the area preferable, Actually, sleeping in car would be preferable.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ca11ieKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Should have known when the handle to the door came off. They did change our room, at 8:00 we
could not get the TV to work. Had to play with the set up on the side of the TV. But the worst was
at 6:15 AM when the water in the tub/shower would not come on!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank X6421FNbethw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Y3798XDmariac
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 May 2017

DO NOT STAY HERE! My family and I have stayed over the years at this Travelodge but it has gone so far downhill. We will never stay again! Although staff was friendly, it cannot make up for the filth. We had adjoining rooms this trip and both were gross and smelled of "cat pee" We were on a quick weekend getaway so I didn't have time to move to another hotel. We had to suck it up and deal with it. I was appalled at the condition of the rooms. I could not sleep well...and upon leaving we realized that the sheets and mattress cover were stained very badly! I TOOK PICTURES. The parking lot and guests from other rooms seemed sketchy (possible monthly or weekly renters) We kept the kids close when going in and out of our rooms to our cars. Breakfast room was dirty during breakfast hours. Eww. Selection was slim and was not replenished. The lobby, although, was updated nicely. If I could give zeros on some of the ratings I would but I haveto choose at least a 1 by default.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Izzy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 km away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
5.1 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#46 of 73 in Williamsburg
93 reviews
1.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Williamsburg Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#40 of 73 in Williamsburg
340 reviews
2.7 km away
Travelodge Williamsburg Colonial Area
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area

Address: 120 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: $57 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Brick Motel Centrally located in Williamsburg. We have standard 2 queen bed rooms, 2 double bed rooms, single king rooms and our 2 room suites. Our property consists of 2 buildings with 3 floors and an elevator for your convenience. We also have an outdoor pool, volley ball net, picnic tables and a grill for guest use. There are several restaurants within walking distance to us. We are located 2 miles (7 minutes) from Colonial Williamsburg, 13 miles (22 minutes) to Historic Yorktown, 8.3 miles (22 minutes) from Historic Jamestown and the Ferry, 8.2 miles (12 minutes)to Busch Gardens, 7.9 miles(13 minutes) to water country, 2.9 miles(10 minutes) to our Premium Outlet Mall. We look forward to Accommodating you during your visit to Williamsburg, VA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Travelodge Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Travelodge Williamsburg
Travel Lodge Williamsburg
Williamsburg Travel Lodge
Williamsburg Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing