We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Colonial Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Colonial Williamsburg is the only place that takes you back in time to the dawn of America. This isn't just a place where things once happened. They're happening, right now, here in the 18th century. We're the place where the idea of our country is being born; the place where the ideals we stand for as Americans are being defined. We are the 18th century "live," filled with the stories of the women, men, and children—free and enslaved—whose values and visions gave us a new world. Step back in time and meet the people who made America—sing with them, dance with them, eat with them, and have fun with them. For every person who wants to understand this country, this is your place.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

There is so much to do here and so much to learn and discover. We always have great time here . Kids love it here as well

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cry witch"
in 122 reviews
"carriage ride"
in 232 reviews
"fife and drum"
in 201 reviews
"day pass"
in 455 reviews
"revolutionary city"
in 157 reviews
"coffee house"
in 130 reviews
"governor's palace"
in 574 reviews
"re enactments"
in 215 reviews
"grand illumination"
in 122 reviews
"buy a ticket"
in 114 reviews
"colonial times"
in 361 reviews
"visitor center"
in 410 reviews
"shuttle bus"
in 145 reviews
"step back in time"
in 258 reviews
"declaration of independence"
in 144 reviews
"duke of gloucester street"
in 176 reviews
"living history"
in 340 reviews
Filter

1,064 - 1,068 of 11,062 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

This is not the same place I visited a few years ago.
The (older) sales lady in the silver shop was chewing gum...not what I expected. I could also see a lot of tattoos on actors this time. Many of the actors seem inured to their jobs.
We went to a tavern tour that featured 2 women of color and a Thomas Jefferson actor..the younger female actress 'hid' in the private bar dining area and came out and told us 'she was afraid'..she was so long winded and lectured the audience...but mostly we felt ambushed and trapped. She targeted 'WHITE PROTESTANT MALES', literally!..She actually said she hoped she 'didn't run into a white protestant male'....maybe like half of the people in the room? I was not the only person offended.
This was NOT child friendly as she implied rape..
This new Williamsburg has a modern political agenda and uses history as it's cover. The 'new' took many liberties with the past (yes, I have studied history)... Not going back, will tour other American historical sites.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank cunctator2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Wow, this place is great. Lots of fun for all-ages. Our six year-old had a blast. The city is great with lots of cool historical sites. Plus, the interpreters are great and very informative as well as entertaining. There's plenty to eat and drink and do...one day is not enough

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mchickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Went on a ghost tour at night.Visted several locations near center drive.INTERESTING HISTORY.NO GHOSTS SIGHTED1111

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank JOSE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I took our two elementary age children (5K and 3rd grade) to Williamsburg and we all loved it! There was enough to do to keep everyone entertained. The Patriots at Play area was fun and our kids played the games for a long time. They advertised animals, but the only thing there the day we went were chickens. It didn’t seem to bother our kids and they said they loved it. Make sure to get a list of the activities for the days you will be there when you get your tickets at the Visitors Center. Decide what you want to do and do those things first. I would recommend going right at 9am when it opens as well. It got crowded at around 10:30am/11am. It was never as bad as Disney World, but wait times did get longer and with younger kids we had to pick and choose what we would wait to see. Our favorites were the Governor’s Palace, Public Armoury, Weatherburn Tavern tour, Public Gaol, Capitol, Charlton’s coffeehouse, and Silversmith. We did not get to do a few on our list due to time. If you can, eat lunch at Chowning’s Tavern (there will be a wait) and make a reservation at King’s Arm Tavern for dinner (do this in advance). It was the best experience eating by candlelight, enjoying a traditional meal, and being entertained by a violinist who went from room to room throughout the evening. Definitely a highlight of the trip and worth the money! We can’t wait to go back when our kids are a little older. Every age will experience something different.

Date of experience: April 2018
6  Thank EmilyPNMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colonial Williamsburg also viewed

 

Been to Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing