We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOW DOES THIS PLACE STAY IN BUSINESS?????”

Northside 29 Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 95 Restaurants in Warrenton
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 November 2017

When you choose to eat at what looks like a roadside diner, you are rolling the dice on the food quality. In this case, the Northside 29 Restaurant comes up snake eyes!!!
The food was HORRIBLE!!! (4 of us ate and all had the same assessment). Everything came to the table cold, dried out, over-cooked (I suspect, actually just re-heated under a heat lamp) and tasteless. To add insult to injury, the prices were ludicrous for a highway dive place. Half of our orders came with the wrong sides -- mine finally came with a side of mashed potatoes that looked more like hardened chocolate sauce on a scoop of plastic ice cream. The worst place I have EVER eaten. Pass this place by and hope that it folds up and never snags another unsuspecting passerby.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BAseger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northside29, Owner at Northside 29 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we disappointed you this time and would like to have the opportunity to make it right. We are taking your feedback to make changes and improve the overall dining experience. Again we hope you will give us another chance as we have had many new recent staff additions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017

We have been going here since they opened. Until last year I would have given a 5 without hesitation. In last year both food and service have not been consistent. We eat dinner here 3-4 times a month after horse work and a group eats breakfast weekly. When things are good they're really good but you can never tell how food or service will turn out with two exceptions. Amber and Steve are outstanding service pros, really know customer service and anticipate what delights the customer. Not sure why kitchen is not consistent as far as food.

Bottom line we like it. If they could get consistency back would be a 5 without question.

Thank horsehusband2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northside29, Owner at Northside 29 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you so much for supporting local business and taking time to provide us with feedback. We strive to bring the best service and food consistently and are working to implement ways to make this happen. We do hope that you will continue to come visit us and continue to provide us with feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

My son and I stopped in the Northside 29 restaurant yesterday for lunch for the first time and we needed a microwave on our table!!!! We both ordered the famous chicken and rice soup to warm up the bones as it was a chilly day however the soup was served like gazpacho, not even luke warm, so we sent it back. After a short while our server came back with both soups and they were "warm" but not hot at all. We were starving so we consumed them and ordered two hot turkey sandwiches hoping for better results than the soup, Sadly we were both disappointed, the hot turkey sandwiches came with mashed potatoes and gravy and not ONLY were they cold but the mashed potatoes were actually colder than both of our cokes filled with ice !!!!The turkey looked like deli turkey thinly sliced and the portions were very small. I think the potatoes came right out of the frig and were scooped directly on our plates then covered with luke warm gravy.We honestly could not believe how cold out meals were. Again we asked the server to put them in the microwave(for three came minutes), this time they were hot however bland but again we were starving and ate quickly before our lunches got cold .On a good note our server Heidy K. was very friendly and understanding of the cold soup and sandwiches and quickly made the best of an otherwise lousy meal.She laughed when I asked her if the cooks were wearing parka's because they seemed to have a problem with hot and cold!!! I would suggest the owners drive to western Maryland to a town called handcock and eat and the park n dine restaurant , order the hot turkey sandwich with mashed potatoes which are made with a combination of real turkey both white and dark meat and real mashed potatoes served piping hot, then drive back to the Northside 29 diner and fire their cooks!!!! They advertise "comfort food at it's best" .......not yesterday !!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northside29, Owner at Northside 29 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Hi Heather, We are sorry to hear we disappointed you this time and that your meals were not up to par. We have taken your feedback to improve in the kitchen and ensure this does not happen. We are happy to hear the Heidy provided great service! Again we do hope you will give us another try and give us a chance to make it right. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Having recently returned from a vacation in Boston, Woods Hole and Martha's Vineyard happy to report you don't need to travel to New England to get a nice meal of fish & chips. We compared our fish & chips meal while on vacation to our recent (among many) visit to Northside 29 for fish & chips. In our opinion, Northside 29 was better. Cost less than on Martha's Vineyard, better taste, service was better and only 10 minutes from our home!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northside29, Owner at Northside 29 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review! We love our Fish & Chips, hand-battered to bring you the best taste and quality! Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

After a long heitus from this restaurant , we returned to see if any improvements were made. In the past when we arrived at around 9:30 Sun morning for breakfast the parking lot. Would be paled. Well it was not. Food was just ok but what was disappointing about the experience was that it was not very good and the prices were expensive.

Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northside29, Owner at Northside 29 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Ron,

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience this time. If you ever are unsatisfied with your meal, please let us know and we will be happy to make it right. We hope you will give us another try soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northside 29 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Northside 29 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing