We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky but very good”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanystumdwy, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LindaB493
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky but very good”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Bothy is a beautifully converted cottage with everything necessary for a self catering holiday. It is spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. It stands right next to Talhenbont Hall (a beautiful Manor House) along with a couple of other holiday lets round a courtyard area. The gardens are all open planned so dogs and young children need supervision, but as they are in the middle of the 75 acre estate there is no traffic. The grounds are brilliant, with peacocks and other exotic birds, humorous notices and statues, and lots of interesting walks in the woodlands by the river. The cottage is suitable for up to 4 people.
The toilet is downstairs. There is an outdoor tennis court immediately outside the back door. There is no telephone land-line in the cottage and no mobile phone signals in the vicinity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: No secure garden and no phone signals in vicinity.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bradford
Reviewed 25 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Professor...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical!”
Reviewed 9 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

My husband and I and our two sons, aged 4 and 2 stayed here in June and were knocked out! It's an eccentric, charming place with loads to explore, and so many things for the kids to find. In no particular order, the woods were brilliant - figures, goblins, a flying witch, things creeping into the water, even a skeleton in a shed! A beautiful river meanders through the woods and you can paddle and even fish for trout. Friendly peacocks everywhere, ducks and fowl to look at, and feed if you turned up at half past 9, a Japanese garden, a real gypsy caravan for the kids to play in, larger than life models of the Blues Brothers(?!), a cool (home made!) adventure playground with 2 playhouses, and some lovely ornamental gardens. We stayed in the Bothy, which was very nice. It was well appointed, again, a little eccentric, slightly dated but none the worse for it as it felt homely and well looked after and very clean. The only minus that the place had was that the Bothy was very slightly damp, but we didn't mind, and it was totally outweighed by the general perfectness of Talhenbont Hall, and in particular the lovely lawn that the house had, and the tennis courts that were right next to it! It is a beautiful place in a great location, perfect for loads of different types of people.
The owner Roger Good is lovely, as is the groundsman Paul who was amazed that we'd never tried duck eggs and got Mr Good to drop half a dozen by our house to try (V nice!) Also, we were accidentally 2 hours early arriving and Mr Good was charming about it. We'll definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Reviewed 12 November 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing