We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday brunch”

Swan Terrace Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Swan Terrace Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,582 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Centerville Turnpike
Description: 'Fresh, local cuisine with a touch of Southern elegance.' The award-winning Swan Terrace Restaurant takes guests on a sensory journey inspired by both regional and authentic Colonial dishes. The menu features locally grown fruits, vegetables and the freshest seafood as well as prime beef, lamb and pork prepared to perfection. Dine by the fireplace or alfresco on the lakeside terrace. Breakfast Buffet $14.95 Lunch Buffet $16.95 Sunday Brunch $29.95 Tuesday Pasta Night $17.95 Thursday BBQ on the Terrace (Seasonal) $19.95
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Our server Emily N. did a wonderful job at making my mom feel special and celebrated for her birthday!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rachaelwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

rachaelwheeler,
Happy Birthday to your mom and thank you for spending her special day with us. We are glad that Emily N. took such great care of her and made her day special.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Our family had Easter brunch at the Swan Terrace/Hunt Room and it was simply outstanding. So many tasty selections on the buffet and wonderful desserts. High marks for the outstanding service from Emily C., A.J., Seth and Nic. We couldn't ask for a more attentive team. Can't wait to return!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank millermarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

millermarks,
Thank you for spending Easter with us and we are so glad that Emily C, A.J, Seth and Nic took such wonderful care of you. They do make a great team! We are hosting a similar brunch for Mother's Day so we hope to see you again in May.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I previously took a group last Thanksgiving to Swan Terrace for brunch and it was wonderful for one reason, the Crabcakes. So I thought I’d take my daughter for Easter brunch. Unfortunately they no longer serve crab cakes And the only seafood option was a whitefish drowned in some kind of cream sauce that did not look the least bit appetizing . The selection is very good but most of the food is bland and tasteless. I will not be going back unless they again start serving crab cakes. At between $50 and $60 per person I expect to receive food that I enjoy. The atmosphere however is very good And the wait staff are always so pleasant . I sincerely hope they resume the crabcakes because I would love to go back.

Thank SCgirlatheart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

SCgirlatheart1,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience during our Easter Brunch. We are sorry that we did not have crab cakes for this event. We try to rotate the food offerings for all of these occasions so it is not the same food every time. I will share this feedback with our culinary team.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We ate dinner here while staying at the Founders Inn. The menu selection is limited, but very interesting. Our server, Emily was outstanding.

Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Stephanie M,
Thank you for dining with us. Our Executive Chef has really opened our eyes to new food and creative offerings and we are so glad you enjoyed your meal. Emily is wonderful and we will make sure she is aware of your comments as well.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

today we thought our family including two children would enjoy the Easter brunch at Swan Terrace but it was disappointing....and this is the first restaurant in our great city that has disappointed us! We arrived at 10:50 for our 11 reservation. After waiting in line we were told our assigned table was in the ball room...now think about how much fun it is to wait AGAIN in another line for our table of five adults, a six year old, a two year old and a baby When we were seated we found that the children's buffet was in a different room from the regular buffet...another wait...finally we were at the adult buffet (with a line) to find the food was ok but having chicken and roast pork was not our idea of a good Easter lunch................oh but wait there was a carving station with ham and lamb but again another line and then we found shrimp was available if we wanted another line...we did not. Time for desert and yes another line for each of the selections..we picked up a cookie and that was enough for us.
Time to pay...we asked for our bill and after about 10 minutes were told there was a back up and we would get it "soon" another wait for the bill to finally come...
Again I understand the founders inn is changing to another brand so one can only hope that the service and food will be like it was when we went years ago...
Too many people and not quality food....we expect more from this landmark facility

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hamptonroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

hamptonroads,
Thank you for this detailed feedback. We are sorry about the confusion regarding the location of your reservation and that information should have been communicated to you at the time of the booking and also on your confirmation. We did have a lot of people arrive all at the same time (we set up the reservations to be staggered) but we did not want to keep people waiting who arrived early. We did this with good intentions, but it did not work out well regarding the lines. Because of this same issue, everyone asked for their bills at the same time and this caused a delay with getting people their tickets in a timely manner. We value this type of feedback and we do learn from it. I am sorry your experience was not the best and we will make the appropriate adjustments.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swan Terrace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Swan Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing