We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Decorations, but way overpriced.”

Mizuno Japanese Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mizuno Japanese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #143 of 1,427 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: USD 31 - USD 50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Cross street: First Colonial
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Decorations, but way overpriced.”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I received a gift certificate for Mizuno this Christmas and decided to give it a try the other night. My fiancee' and I were in the mood for sushi...but when we got there we realized we would not be going there again.
I've been to my fair share of sushi restaurants, some good, some bad. This one was way overpriced for what you received. The food wasn't bad, but the value was. I was shocked at the price.
I will say, that it had a very unique decore and was probably one of the more beautiful sushi restaurants I have been in.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank vblocalguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    9
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Creative, Unique and Fresh”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

It is hard to find a better sushi restaurant in the enire US than Mizuno's in Virginia Beach. I dont even eat raw sushi and I love it. The current restaurant has a nice upscale atmosphere. However, they are expanding into new space next door and I am sure it will be even prettier. My favorite is the tempura lobster roll. I also love the jumbo shrimp tempura roll. Don't miss the beef negimaki. Even though I dont eat raw sushi, my husband raves about it. And I have to say I love watching the trays come by because they are so beautifully arranged. I also like how they give you hot hand towels to clean your hands before dining. The owner Walter is always there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Best in the world, no kidding!”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I have eaten in sushi bars all over the world, courtesy of 25+ years with the Navy. Mizuno offers the best sushi, bar none (no pun intended! ;-) The owner/chef, Walter, is a stickler for detail and quality. You can rest assured, you will never receive less than the absolute best. No wilted lettuce, questionable fish, or stale drinks...everything will be fresh, expertly prepared, and elegant in its presentation. The service is attentive and the entire dining experience is perfect. For those who found Mizuno Restaurant expensive, well, you get what you pay for, truly. There is no comparison!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Destiner1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Hampton Roads”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I love Sushi, and this is the only place I will eat in our area. I recommend the Jalapincho, Crunchy Flounder, and So Soy Roll.

Other Reviewers have said it is expensive, perhaps this is in comparison to other Sushi restaurants in the area that use lower quality fish and ingredients, or if you cook yourself, but if you compare it to top sushi restaurants in New York which offer similar quality, it is cheap.

The Japanese waitresses are lovely and if you seat at the Bar you will meet Walter, the owner chef who is great.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank baygirl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mercy of the Chef”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Mizuno, bar none in this area, serves the best quality fish and is priced accordingly. The small jewel box of a restaurant with austere modernist vibe with low lighting and the absence of any kitchen odor (grease) makes this noteworthy. The chef/owner, Walter, runs the restaurant with velvet glove, although is sometimes off putting with the way he berates the staff. It sets an edgy vibe to the evening that would otherwise have been enjoyable. The loud regulars (louts) treat this as their living room/lounge and you are assaulted by inconsequential talk. Were it not impolite or just plain weird, I'd bring a pair of Bose noise canceling headphones to the bar and enjoy my meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mizuno Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mizuno Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing