We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
137
117
91
68
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
117
91
68
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airporthot breakfastroom was cleanvery nice stayking bedindoor pool
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

It was a great hotel at an excellent price. The only problem I experienced was not being able to receive towels/washcloths when needed. I was told that they were out of them at the moment, but never received anymore during my stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank annielP6611MQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We booked our hotel months ago and secured it with a credit card. Our card was stolen and used illegally 1 week before our trip. The Chase Bank fraud department alerted us and cancelled our card, informing us that they were sending a new one. We completely forgot that the hotel room had been held with this card.

We had a very long, turbulent flight and landed in Norfolk at 11:30 that evening. By the time we secured our rental car and located the Wingate hotel we just wanted to take a shower and sleep! When we arrived, we were informed that the card had declined earlier that day and that someone should have called to let us know and to get a new credit card number to hold the room. NO ONE CALLED. Our phones were with us at all times because we were checking to make sure the flights were not delayed. We would have seen a voice mail or a phone call.

They had given our room away and were completely booked. By now it is almost 1am and we are completely exhausted and upset.

At first the young man at the desk was helpful. NOT apologetic or even understanding but helpful. He gave me a laptop with a list of hotels nearby that I could find my own hotel that might have a room available.

My husband has worked in the hotel business for over 40 years. He knows what his expectations are for his front desk help. And this young man was NOT what you would expect at a Wyndham property. He refused to help us find another location. When we informed him that we had not received a phone call he was very condescending saying that we have no proof that we didn't receive a call. And the worst part was when he said "Well, you shouldn't have used a bad card to secure your room?"

Even after having explained to him that we had totally forgotten about our card being cancelled due to fraud.!

We are 58 year old professionals. We are not 21 years old trying to get a free room or a handout. We were tired, hungry, and needed a place to lay our heads. We were trying to explain to the young man that we never received a call and all he said was "you have no proof". What? My husband was in shock. He would fire his front desk help in a second if he heard his people saying even half of what we were told by this boy. I could go on for paragraphs and paragraphs with condescending lines that were thrown at us. At one point he pointed to a computer in the lobby and said sorry, there is nothing I can do for you. If you want to use our computer, there it is. When my husband asked how to get into the computer, the young man said "Well if you can't see the password taped to the front of the computer, then I don't know what to tell you".

I felt like I had just stepped into a bad dream. This could not have been happening to us. When we asked to speak to his GM, he refused to contact them saying that we are trying to get him fired. He then proceeded to call someone who he said was the night manager, telling this person that there is a very nasty man getting ready to jump over the counter at him, what should he do. He hung up the phone and said that he was told to call the police.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME? My husband is a Director in the hotel industry. He is responsible for making sure guests are treated with respect. His entire 40 years of career would be down the tubes if he ever "jumped over a counter" at a front desk worker.

I have never been in such shock! Never has even the worst motel treated me this way.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 October 2017

The closet door handle was falling off. The bathroom was old with rusty fixtures and discolored tub. Difficult to open or close the main door.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank francesg660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

I do not normally write reviews. Im not sure how helpful they really are. We stayed two nights in this hotel. I will tell you the bed is real comfy. The first night was ok the shower drain did not work well. Sat night I was sleeping and about 10:45 the family in the room next to started fighting. It sounded pretty bad so I called front desk. He said he would take care of it. It went on until 1:30 my husband we down to the front desk to complain. The deck clerk finally went to the room and told them to knock it off. The fight then went out to the hall. The police were called it finally stopped. At check out I told the clerk it was the worst night sleep I have ever had. The clerk acted like none of it happened. No I have to drive 12 hours home. I hope this helps someone. Not ever staying again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews