We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alamar Resort Inn
Nearby Hotels
USD 194*
USD 176*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge on the Ocean(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 104*
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 156*
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 118*
USD 107*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 88*
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 81*
USD 75*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 189*
USD 172*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 172*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 138*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 116*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
103
41
20
14
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
41
20
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo blocksbeds were comfortableocean frontalmarboardwalkrefrigerator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

It was really hard to sleep with an outdoor lamp open all night in front of the room. The curtains are not dark enough. The room still have an old tapestry on the wall with old toilet and bath. We had problems with the shower and was first told they could not do anything. It took about 20 minutes before they finaly came back and gave us the piece missing in order for us to use the shower. Normaly, it would not matter much, but this is Virginia beach and when you come back from the beach you need to wash the sand in a shower, not bath!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catou2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alamarresortinn, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

The curtains for this room are new and now that is has been brought to our attention through
this review that they may not provide enough coverage we will look into the matter.This guest did not know how to operate the shower so we went to their room and showed them how to operate it. There was not a missing part. Once they were shown how to use the shower they had no furthur issue with it. We are always available to our guests and always responsive when given the opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Virginia Beach is one of our favorite place for vacation. We've stayed many times at Alamar. The hotel has everything to please my wife and I (well located, secure, clean, amenities, good price, etc.). The new owners, Tina and Ernie, are very nice people. The staff (maids and maintenance) help you enjoy your stay as well. That was great. For sure, we'll return in the future.

Room Tip: We like rooms upstairs
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cholu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Some pro's about the Alamar Resort Inn. Staff was very plesant and facility clean. Very close to anyting you may need. Suites were roomy, 3 adults and 3 children, no problem.
some Con's. Hotel is 2 blocks from beach front, altho a short walk crossing Pacific ave. proved to be a night-mare, (hang on to the young ones). If you plan on usuing the kitchen, you may want to take a few items, there is not much there. We had to go buy a spatchula. A/C unit is located in the closet of the bedroom, very noisey, also if ou like your room to be dark take eye shades, 70watts of metal halide lighting right in front of the windows. The game room is not as it appears on the web-site, the door was lock the entire week we were there and the only thing in there was a ping pong table, this room also is the access to one of the sun decks,
All in all it is was a ok hotel,but nothing to rave about. for the amount of $$$ spent for this resort, I will make sure the next time I will get ocean front.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soccerdad_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alamarresortinn, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

This guests complements about our wonderful staff and well cared for property are very much
appreciated. Our rooms and suites are unusually large and our guests appreciate the extra space and comfort. The Alamar is a 2 minute walk from our front door to the middle of the boardwalk and beach and there are convenient crosswalks for beach access. Our suites
are a 1 bedroom apartment with a queen bed in the master bedroom and a separate room
with a complete kitchen and television sofa area and the sofa becomes a second queen bed.
The kitchen has a full sized refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, toaster, coffeemaker and basic dishes and pots with a dining room table that sits six.
We are always available and responsive to our guests and if this guest had contacted us we would have quickly responded had we been given the opportunity to assist. It is our goal that each of our guests have as wonderful and memorable vacation as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We have stayed at the Alamar for our family reunions for 4 years in a row and absolutely
love it. The rooms are spacious and immaculate and everyone loves the saltwater
pool. We get a combination of standard rooms and a two bedroom suite which has the
adjoining door so it is like a 2 bedroom apartment. There is a coin operated laundry on
the property which is so convenient especially for longer stays. Tina and Ernie, the owners,
are wonderful and they create a great environment that is quiet, clean and attractive and are very helpful and responsive.
They are continually improving things. Last year they added a fountain in from of the hotel
with colored lights at night and this year they stained the entire parking lot with a beautiful
design that is just lovely. I cannot say enough about the Alamar and highly recommend
the gem of a hotel

Room Tip: Tina and Ernie are very helpful.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank lovetogarden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed for a week in June. We had two adjoining rooms. This was a family vacation that was wonderful! The owners Tina and Ernie, were wonderful! they made reservations for us and were always helpful with advice on where to go and what we should not miss.The rooms were kept immaculately clean. Only 2 blocks from beach but seems closer. One block back from the "action" street with all the entertainment and shops! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I called Tina!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank angeltoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews