We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Year Staying Here and We Still Love It”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alamar Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alamar Resort Inn
Ranked #65 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rixeyville, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Third Year Staying Here and We Still Love It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Everything was as nice as we have come to expect from this hotel. Our room was clean, the beds are very comfortable and the staff helpful and attentive. Our family of three had a wonderful time and we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quetzalmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    39
    20
    14
    16
See reviews for
97
43
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

It was really hard to sleep with an outdoor lamp open all night in front of the room. The curtains are not dark enough. The room still have an old tapestry on the wall with old toilet and bath. We had problems with the shower and was first told they could not do anything. It took about 20 minutes before they finaly came back and gave us the piece missing in order for us to use the shower. Normaly, it would not matter much, but this is Virginia beach and when you come back from the beach you need to wash the sand in a shower, not bath!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catou2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alamarresortinn, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
The curtains for this room are new and now that is has been brought to our attention through
this review that they may not provide enough coverage we will look into the matter.This guest did not know how to operate the shower so we went to their room and showed them how to operate it. There was not a missing part. Once they were shown how to use the shower they had no furthur issue with it. We are always available to our guests and always responsive when given the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Virginia Beach is one of our favorite place for vacation. We've stayed many times at Alamar. The hotel has everything to please my wife and I (well located, secure, clean, amenities, good price, etc.). The new owners, Tina and Ernie, are very nice people. The staff (maids and maintenance) help you enjoy your stay as well. That was great. For sure, we'll return in the future.

Room Tip: We like rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cholu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Some pro's about the Alamar Resort Inn. Staff was very plesant and facility clean. Very close to anyting you may need. Suites were roomy, 3 adults and 3 children, no problem.
some Con's. Hotel is 2 blocks from beach front, altho a short walk crossing Pacific ave. proved to be a night-mare, (hang on to the young ones). If you plan on usuing the kitchen, you may want to take a few items, there is not much there. We had to go buy a spatchula. A/C unit is located in the closet of the bedroom, very noisey, also if ou like your room to be dark take eye shades, 70watts of metal halide lighting right in front of the windows. The game room is not as it appears on the web-site, the door was lock the entire week we were there and the only thing in there was a ping pong table, this room also is the access to one of the sun decks,
All in all it is was a ok hotel,but nothing to rave about. for the amount of $$$ spent for this resort, I will make sure the next time I will get ocean front.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soccerdad_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alamarresortinn, Owner at Alamar Resort Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
This guests complements about our wonderful staff and well cared for property are very much
appreciated. Our rooms and suites are unusually large and our guests appreciate the extra space and comfort. The Alamar is a 2 minute walk from our front door to the middle of the boardwalk and beach and there are convenient crosswalks for beach access. Our suites
are a 1 bedroom apartment with a queen bed in the master bedroom and a separate room
with a complete kitchen and television sofa area and the sofa becomes a second queen bed.
The kitchen has a full sized refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, toaster, coffeemaker and basic dishes and pots with a dining room table that sits six.
We are always available and responsive to our guests and if this guest had contacted us we would have quickly responded had we been given the opportunity to assist. It is our goal that each of our guests have as wonderful and memorable vacation as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We have stayed at the Alamar for our family reunions for 4 years in a row and absolutely
love it. The rooms are spacious and immaculate and everyone loves the saltwater
pool. We get a combination of standard rooms and a two bedroom suite which has the
adjoining door so it is like a 2 bedroom apartment. There is a coin operated laundry on
the property which is so convenient especially for longer stays. Tina and Ernie, the owners,
are wonderful and they create a great environment that is quiet, clean and attractive and are very helpful and responsive.
They are continually improving things. Last year they added a fountain in from of the hotel
with colored lights at night and this year they stained the entire parking lot with a beautiful
design that is just lovely. I cannot say enough about the Alamar and highly recommend
the gem of a hotel

Room Tip: Tina and Ernie are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank lovetogarden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
4.4 km away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
0.3 km away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#70 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.4 km away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#62 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.2 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Be...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.7 km away
Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach
Days Inn Virginia Beach at the B...
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamar Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamar Resort Inn

Property: Alamar Resort Inn
Address: 311 16th Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price range (per night): $107 - $529
Hotel Class:2 star — Alamar Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Style Hotel. We are about cleanliness and quality rooms. We offer a continental breakfast may 1 thru September 15th. We are a 2 minute walk to the boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Alamar Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamar Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing