We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tranquil Island in the Virginia Beach Oceanfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 March 2011

The Barclay Inn is just far enough off of the boardwalk to avoid the hustle, but a short walk to anywhere you want to go at the oceanfront. We enjoyed the exceptional hospitality of Innkeepers Steve and Marie-Louise LaFond. Their attention to detail and availibilty made our stay the most relaxing we have ever had. The Inn was clean, cozy, and comfortable. We enjoyed all of the comforts of home with more conviences than we could get from a big hotel. Breakfast was outstanding. The friendly presentation and service were exceptional! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pw9138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VABEACHB&B, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2011

Thank you for coming to our 'tranquil island'. We are glad you were able to come and enjoy our little piece of heaven and, yes, please do come back. We'll be looking forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at Barclay Cottage for the third year in a row this weekend, and it charms us every time. From the beautifully appointed rooms to the fabulous breakfast, it doesn't get better. The beds are comfy and the location is perfect. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank typie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tria3, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2010

Thank you! We appreciate that you have shared your enjoyment of our inn with others. We are happy that you have come a few times and are looking forward to your next visit. We'll all have things to catch up on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We were at Barclay Cottage last week for our second visit, which was just as wonderful as the first. Same clean, beautiful comfortable guest rooms and common areas, same delicious breakfast (and afternoon cookies), but most importantly, the same warm welcome. I feel as much at home here as I do visiting with family whom I have known all my life. This is definitely going to be an annual visit for us.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Virginia_Lee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tria3, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2010

Yes!!! Come every year. We'll look forward to having you here and catching up on what has been going on in all our lives. That is so much fun and the very best part of owning an inn. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Steve and Marie where such wonderful hosts, I felt like I was a guest staying with old friends. I have never felt a need to submit a review before, but this place is so wonderful I had to share. When Steve called soon after I made the booking, to inquire about food likes, dislikes and allergies, I knew I had made the right choice, and the experience only improved from there. Breakfast cooked by Marie every morning was amazing, and kept us going all day - I never once felt the need for lunch while I was there. My initial booking was for 4 nights and we ended up staying 6 nights. If you are looking for a place to relax in a comfortable environment, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ljdunivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tria3, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2010

We love that you extended your stay with us...and that you came to us in the first place! The hardest part of being an innkeeper is saying goodbye to folks whom we have enjoyed getting to know. That's you. We can; however, still look forward to seeing you again, I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My wife and I recently visited Virginia Beach staying at Barclay Cottage for the third time. Once again Steve and Marie-Louise, along with the "Cottage" made our stay memorable. Upon entering, you are immersed in the charm and history of this turn of the century cottage. The friendly and homey guest parlor/dining area greets you and is perfect for reading the daily newspaper, catching a little television (we've yet to watch TV on our visits) or getting better acquainted with your fellow guests before breakfast. Guest rooms are tastefully decorated with period pieces and are extremely inviting. We've now stayed in three different guest rooms and all three have provided us the perfect blend of intimacy and comfort. Outside, the wrap-around porches are perfect for beginning the day with a before breakfast coffee and ending the day with a freshly baked cookie and "beverage of choice."

Breakfast at Barclay Cottage is an event in itself. Marie-Louise shines in the morning. Her breakfasts are the best we've had at any B&B or hotel restaurant. It is obvious that Marie-Louise enjoys delighting her guests by the meticulous detail she puts into her breakfasts. In addition, I've never experienced a better B&B breakfast table atmosphere. Steve and Marie-Louise's warm hospitality is contagious and we've had some wonderful table conversation with our fellow guests. Maybe it's because Steve and Marie-Louise always take the time to join their guests at the table or maybe it's the delicious food. Whatever the reason, it is a wonderful way to start the day!

My wife and I have stayed at B&B’s up and down the east coast and Barclay Cottage is our favorite. The location is a short walk to the beach and boardwalk and is convenient to many fine restaurants and attractions. After all is said and done, the warmth and charm of Barclay Cottage might only be surpassed by the hospitality of Steve and Marie-Louise. They know how to please and they make you feel right at home…down to earth, never pushy, happy to take a little extra time with their guests to provide quick directions or a restaurant recommendation and above all else, always friendly. If you are going to visit the Virginia Beach area, I urge you to stay at Barclay Cottage. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tria3, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2010

We look forward to having you here and this is the reason we love being innkeepers...so many good people come to us and we don't have to go anywhere! I know you've heard me say that before. I especially appreciate your sharing great recipes with me. Thank you for coming here and for taking the time to write a lovely review of your visit. Looking forward to staying in touch with both of you and to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.7 km away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,042 reviews
2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
19.6 km away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#42 of 109 in Virginia Beach
441 reviews
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
632 reviews
13.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 400 16th St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $128 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1895 Victorian Coastal Cottage located in historic residential neighborhood. Turkish towels, crisp linens, heavenly beds, spa robes, modern upscale amenities, gourmet breakfasts, beach towels and all beach gear, bicycles, many extras included in rates. 2 Blocks to the beach, and short walk to 20 restaurants, 3 museums, and fishing pier. A romantic alternative to high-rise hotel/motel lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Cottage b&b
Barclay Cottage Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing