We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 307
USD 276
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 221
USD 159
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 258
USD 224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Key Resort(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 199
USD 194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 331
USD 268
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oceanfront Inn(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 243
USD 235
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belvedere Beach Resort(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 261
USD 244
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 200
USD 183
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,320)
Filter reviews
1,320 results
Traveller rating
619
351
186
93
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
351
186
93
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswan terraceregent universityhunt roommain buildingcolonial styledog parktennis courtsoutdoor poolbeautiful propertyfitness centerminute drivevirginia beach areamini fridgeweddingfireplacefoundedconference
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 1,320 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We checked in and there was no bed for our son which we booked, called reception and they said they will install. We went out for 4 hours returned and still no bed. Called again and they installed bed finally. Shouldn’t have to call once let alone twice. V poor.

We booked this hotel purely for the indoor heated pool for changeable April weather and our son who loves swimming. The pool is heated but no staff on duty, no keys for lockers, no towels. So very poor.

The breakfast was good and staff very attentive. V good.

Overall we got the impression this hotel is geared up for business conferences and weddings and don’t really pay attention to holiday makers.

We wouldn’t return or recommend.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank G4Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

G4Z,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry that it took multiple phone calls for you to receive the bed for your son. We are glad it was finally fixed. We do not have a lifeguard or staff for the indoor pool due to it's size. There should be towels stocked in the pool area, and keys for the lockers can be obtained from the Spa. Typically our hotel guests do not need to use the lockers since they are staying with us. This is good feedback that will be shared with our spa/fitness center housekeeping staff and they will do a better job of monitoring the towel supply. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast and our Swan Terrace staff.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Let me at me and my boyfriend more than once we’re greeted with a warm and professional smile by Erin she helped with all the odds and ends of our spa experience. Brooke and Alexis did an amazing job with our peppermint scalp massages and boy were we relaxed!!! If you are having headaches or if you need you’re scalp stimulation luster for poetsntial hair growth the scalp massages especially with peppermint oil is the way to go . Quite honestly all of the staff is amazing and the meechandise is top quality . We will be regulars and can’t wait for our next treatment .

Room Tip: The conservatory has an amazing view with nice complimentary refreshments
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Latisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Latisha S,
We are so glad you had an amazing experience at our Spa. The scalp massages are very relaxing and we are glad both you and your boyfriend felt well taken care of by all of our staff. We look forward to our next opportunity to pamper you both.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The rooms were nice but my bed was too hard in room 4230. My students' room were wonderful and their beds were really nice but my bed was hard. I thought the property was super beautiful and the food was excellent. I really enjoyed my stay. The staff there was extremely nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure the beds are not too hard.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stem615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

stem615,
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of getting all new mattresses for our rooms and this will be completed by July 1st. We really enjoyed hosting the VSCA conference and the students were all wonderful. We welcome the opportunity to host your group again.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This review is not just about all the awesome visits I’ve had at the Flowering Almond Spa... it’s about the supreme leadership of the Spa!!! Spa Manager Mechelle Smith is magnificent!!! I was a frequent customer of the spa until I became ill and unable to come for services and she noticed!!! She asked a relative of mine at one of her frequent visits and the relative advised her of my inability to come in and she asked if it was okay to reach out to me and SHE DID!!! Now that’s caring about your customers!!! She didn’t have to take time out of her busy schedule to check on me, but it was such a surprise and truly appreciated! In fact, I have had had the pleasure of pulling off several spa events for girls day outs, Birthday celebrations, couples spa days, etc all because of this wonderful lady. She’s the manager, but takes time to talk to you about your needs and visions for the perfect spa day and she and her staff make it happen! Her staff certainly is a reflection of her awesome leadership, because they too are a pleasant and caring bunch! Mechelle truly loves people and is passionate about her job and Founders Inn and the Flowering Almond Spa is VERY lucky to have this classy lady represent them. So I had to take a minute to let Mechelle know that her hard work and dedication has not gone unoticed by her customers AND her kindness and genuine spirit is truly appreciated!
Mechelle you are amazing and keep up the excellent work!! You Rock!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank gcooke4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

gcooke4,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding our Customer Service. Mechelle takes her job very seriously and genuinly cares about each guests experience. We hope you come back and visit us soon!

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here several months ago due to power shortage and gladly, Founders Inn has a room for my family on a same day reservation. Our room was very clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was very friendly. We dine at the Hunt room and their signature burger was very delicious. We will definitely coming back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank archelle18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

archelle18,
We are glad that you decided to stay with us while you were experiencing a power shortage. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa Georges
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews