We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here the weekend of October 7-9, 2011. Our daughter was competing in a high school band trip so we decided to go along and watch her band's competition. We checked in about 4 pm on Friday and stayed Friday and Saturday night. Checkin was smooth-no lines and we had our room key in 2 minutes. We were assigned a room on the first floor facing the ocean. Very nice room-not fancy but clean and comfortable. the room looked out on the beach and had a refrigerator,microwave and coffee maker. We could sit out on our balcony and watch the waves rolling in-very relaxing. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant as we had lots of events to attend,but it looked nice from what we could see. Staff was very friendly-no complaints from us.The hotel was very convenient to beach-literally a 20 seond walk! Would recommend and would stay here again. For those interested there is a small indoor pool and hot tub-in case you didn't want to swim in the ocean,

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzzpacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for the kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    202
    90
    28
    19
See reviews for
226
156
33
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We used our Priority Club points and got our room free, can't beat that! We had a King Suite. Had king size bed, sofa bed, a bar area with fridge, microwave and sink. Very spacious room. We were on the 11th floor, awesome view. Staff was very nice. I'll stress again, this is a much older hotel, but it was clean. And it looked like all rooms were ocean front.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ewoka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you for your great feedback which only makes us focus on improving quality and service. Starting October 17th we are going to remodel every guest room and the public space through out the hotel. This remodel will include the Fitness room, Business Center and upgrade the pool to salt water with a feature that includes waterfalls. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The hotel needs a deep and extended refurbishment. The furniture in the room is old and ugly. The armchair was really distressed in a bad way and it looked it had been there for ages! The feeling when touching it, it was sticky because it had not been cleaned ever. In general the hotel was very dirty. Unbelievable dirty!
The view, though, is great, facing the ocean and the staff very willing to help.

Room Tip: Prefer the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taksidiotissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you for your honest feedback about the hotel. We value our guest feedback and have listened to your concerns.
Starting October 17th we are undergoing a complete renovation. This project will include every guest room, hallways, business center, lobby as well as the pool and fitness room. We look foreward to the completion of the renovation by February of 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed 2 nites over the Memorial Day weekend and was pleased with oceanfront/boardwalk front room. This hotel is right in the middle of everything I wanted to do. Plenty of restaurants and shopping in walking distance.

In fact, I never moved my car during my stay - if there is a shortcoming here, it would be parking space. A secondary lot is nearby, however.

The indoor/outdoor restaurant appeared nice, although I did not use them as many other places were close by. There is a small bar area in the restaurant.

I found everyone encountered to be very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: I think all are oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gringo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback. During the next six months we will also, be renovating the hotel in order to make every guest experience the best possible based on the feed back received. Hope to see you next year.

Thanks again from the entire Holiday Inn Oceanside Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I attend every year a four day event called the Spring Joint Warfighting Conference in Virginia Beach. Two years back I finally found a hotel that is reaonably priced, convenient, clean and each room has a Balcony overlooking the ocean right on the Boardwalk. It has a lounge, resturaunt, pool and excersize facility. Valet parking and laundry service are available. It is right on the "Boardwalk" which makes any ocean side eatery simply within walking distance depending on how far you wish to walk. The rooms are sufficiently roomy, clean, and updated. I enjoyed very much unwinding with a beverage on the balcony.

Room Tip: 3 stays at this Holiday Inn and all the rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, 15 September 2011
It was a pleasure taking care of you and we hope to see you soon.

Thanks for the feedback about the hotel,

Joe Hemerka, CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
540 reviews
0.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
681 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
368 reviews
0.5 km away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
835 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)

Property: Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3346 (Formerly Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach)
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price range (per night): $244 - $536
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing