We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
83
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade granola upstairs suite b bs northern neck wonderful stay rappahannock river enjoy your stay breakfast was amazing good size comfortable bed judith labs hosts linens virginia
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

My parents and I stayed at Atherston Hall during a recent spring weekend. I've stayed in many B&Bs in the US and the UK, and Atherston Hall out-does them all.

Judith and Bill were very accommodating, meeting us warmly despite our later than planned arrival, and making breakfast earlier to reflect our schedule.

The guest rooms are clean and fresh while also being comfortable and welcoming. Each is decorated tastefully yet simply, and the linens, towels and bath products are high quality.

The breakfasts were delicious, and included possibly the best poached eggs I've ever had and homemade granola I'll be trying to replicate. Judith also makes tea, coffee, fruit and a variety of snacks available, as well as chocolates and bottled water in each room.

After a busy morning out, we enjoyed relaxing in the sun in the lovely rear gardens chatting with Judith, Bill and their two affectionate labs, Savannah and Rosie.

I cannot recommend Atherston Hall highly enough, and my family is looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The upstairs suite is lovely and is very private. The bed, linens, and towels are all high quality. Breakfast was amazing (poached eggs with asparagus one morning and soft-scrambled eggs with bacon the next). Plus, there is homemade granola, fruit, coffee, pastries, etc. It was really special. There was absolutely nothing going on in the town when we went during the off-season, but we enjoyed taking walks, reading our books, lounging and napping, and just enjoying some time away. Thanks for a great stay! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upper room is the best, by far. Not all rooms have fridges.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarahjaneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Atherston Bungalow. What a beautiful and cozy home. Our hostess Judith was very gracious and gave us suggestions for nearby restaurants . Everything we needed was provided. Luxurious towels, food basket, coffee, cream, juice and water. This home is beautifully decorated and we would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable retreat.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jim-Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

A relaxing stay in a lovely home from home. Great breakfasts, lovely rooms, comfortable porch to chill, read or doz off. UIrbanna is a quiet town with good places to eat and some boutique shops. It is not far to walk to the water wher there is a marina.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank martyn162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful home, every detail cared for, extremely clean, comfortable bedding, charming decor and very friendly owners! We had not a single issue, food was outstanding and can't wait to return. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith D, Owner at Atherston Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Thank you so much for your delightful review! We enjoyed talkingg to you both about the many issues taking central stage at present! We hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews