We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Dam Cabin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanardsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lydia Mountain Cabins
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We were here for a wedding and they only gave us two options that were available. Since the Old Dam Cabin was able to sleep more than two people and the guest service rep told us that since we have a toddler its better to have a seperate bedroom which was Old Dam Cabin. Boy was that horrible! we got there around 1am and were all super tired, although it was dark,creepy, musty i thought ok maybe the bedroom would be better so i went to check it out and I thought ok, its high ceilings and more open than downstairs. I always check my sheets and luckily i bring my sheets and comforters with me when i travel. Well i uncovered one of the beds and found RAT DROPPINGS!! I was mortified and changed the sheets. went down to take a shower and yet another disappointment! I was greeted by big black ants at the door. the shower head was rusted and disgusting! we were there for 3 nights and I did not have a proper shower, i had to use a cup and was my body and hair till it was time to go. We didnt complain because my husband is the type that does not like to cause any problems but he agreed that the cabin was gross and so did my parents and they are from the country. Luckily we just stayed in the cabin to rest and other than that we were at our inlaws cabin and venue most of the weekend.

Room Tip: Bring your own cleaning supplies and bedding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank channamcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

Found this place when searching for a quick getaway while our boys were away at camp. What a gem! LOVED the seclusion and the quiet, as well as the quick access to Shenandoah National Park. While our cabin was small, it was spotless and had ample outdoor space with a screened in porch, tiki bar, hot tub and fire pit - this was where we spent most of our time when not hiking or visiting the many wineries in the area. The fact that there were no keys, no check in or check out was absolutely fantastic. Making the reservation was easy and the woman who I spoke to was such a sweetheart. Thanks to Lydia Mountain Cabins and "Tucked Away" for making our short vacation so special!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Cabin #1. We came to hike in the Shenandoah National Park and were looking for a comfortable place at the end of each day. The cabin was perfect. Clean, roomy and close to the park. The hot tub was an added bonus and was just what we needed to relieve our aches and pains from the trails. The cabin has everything--linens, towels, hair dryer, soap, shampoo, full kitchen with everything to cook a meal. Even had a dish washer. We were 3 adults and had plenty of room. Very quiet. We never saw anyone else, but we were not at the cabin during the day.

We have stayed in houses/condos around the world and are pretty particular about our accommodations. Lydia cabins did not disappoint.

We are self-sufficient and had no interaction with the staff except for the reservation process. It was very easy and prompt.

Would recommend and would stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank RunnerGirlOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We attending a wedding there and it was the most beautiful scenery. The barn was so well done for the reception. It was big enough to hold at least 130 people inside but plenty of space outside too. There were amazing mountain views and the cater staff did an amazing job. The entire venue was amazing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank JustMarsha30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Stayed in the My Lakeview Cabin. We took previous reviewers advice and arrived during the day, which was the best advice that was given. The drive is a single lane, dirt road, with no street lights, off of the main highway. At the end of the dirt road, we had to almost make a U-Turn onto the driveway, which was EXTREMELY steep. However, once there, the cabin is breathtaking. The view of the lake and mountains was one of a kind. The cabin was well cleaned and modern. The only issue that occurred during our stay was a large water bug living in the sink and an overwhelming amount of stink bugs that constantly entered the living room and kitchen. This did not affect our stay, but should be looked into for future guest. They had a fire pit off the porch to roast marshmallows and enjoy the night in the mountains. The hot tub was immaculately clean and placed perfectly to relax and enjoy the view. We will be back in the future.

Room Tip: Arrive during the day, and drive very slow on the dirt road (you do not get a lot of time to react i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vacationers828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanardsville
6.1 km away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
218 reviews
36.7 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,013 reviews
30.2 km away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Bed & Breakfast at Mountain Valley Farm
22 km away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydia Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydia Mountain Cabins

Address: 134 Mountain Laurel Pass, Stanardsville, VA 22973-2654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Stanardsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Stanardsville
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins, constructed from real logs with rock foundations, reflect a style from days gone by. The rock fireplaces create a cozy atmosphere along with the central heating and air, hardwood floors, log furniture, linens, towels and complete kitchens. On the deck, you can enjoy the view or relax in the large hot tub. Each cabin offers privacy in a beautiful mountain setting. Single and Double bedroom cabins available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lydia Mountain Cabins Hotel Stanardsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing