We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
85
19
7
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
19
7
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain paradise hot tub sugar shack shenandoah national park skyline drive unpaved road fire pit crooked oak wheel drive car log cabin dancing bear fully equipped kitchen relaxing weekend beautiful cabin star gazing at night wonderful stay fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2016

4 day stay over Thanksgiving with 13 people. Plenty of sleeping room for all. Cabin was in excellent shape, clean and well taken care of . Large laundry room, 2 futons and a full and upper twin on the lower level with Fooseball table.

Upstairs kitchen/living area a bit small for 13 people but it has a beautiful porch overlooking the back yard and firepit that was enjoyed by all with guitars and harmonica's and also s'mores!
Previously have stayed at Lydia's mountain and have truly enjoyed both of our stays.
I definitely would recommend at stay here for anyone needing a relaxing vacation.
By the way..the scenery from the back porch is beautiful

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank KAAC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Cabin is very small--approximately 540 sq ft. As would be expected the bedrooms are very small--think RV sized. Living/dining area adequate. Decent sized bathroom. Nice front and back porches. No cellular service (T-Mobile). Verizon and ATT functioned fine.

Steep, private road access on a one-lane, unpaved road. Had to get a running start for my Prius to make it to the top without stalling. My friend's Ford Focus made it up with no difficulty.

For a couple looking for a quiet retreat and willing to spend the money for the three day minimum, may not be a bad choice. However, for a family of four or more, there are larger cabins available that would provide additional room to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We arrived at night so it was pretty hard to find the actual cabin (terrible signage and no lighting to direct us in the middle of nowhere), but once we found it, we LOVED it. The cabin was spotless and modern. When we walked around the mountain, we noticed that our cabin seemed the most secluded so we were very happy we chose the "Just Us" cabin - VERY private. We absolutely loved it! (My husband was pleasantly surprised by the good coffee that was there, instead of something cheap.)

Room Tip: The "Just Us" cabin seemed like the best one to us.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Our cabin was charming, spotless, with all the modern conveniences. It did not have wi-fi, but TV and cell coverage. We were well pleased. I enjoyed setting on both the deck and patio. Plus the hot tub on the deck, in the midst of nature was great. Very well built and maintained.

Room Tip: They have cabins that allow pets.
Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed in #4 Sugar Shack. The cabin was small and quaint for a couple with everything all accessible in one big room. There is a futon for additional sleeping for a family. The balcony was mostly secluded with rocking chairs and hot tub. We had two little kittens visit us during our stay. We brought food and drink and didn't really need to leave if we didn't have to. Although it was a rainy few days we decided to go hiking on Skyline Dr. Which is only another 10 min drive from here so that was very convenient. We definitely want to come back again and enjoy staying in one of the other many cabins as it looks like each one has something unique to offer. So glad we learned of Lydia cabins and until next time ....

The only gripes we had were the bathroom mirror looked like it wasn't holding it place very well in its frame like it could slide out. The futon/ couch wasn't very comfortable to sit on but we didn't spend much time there. The kitchen was well equipped but an addition of basic non stick frying pan would of helped in making breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews