We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cottage at Nature's Edge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanardsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lydia Mountain Cabins
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Cabin is very small--approximately 540 sq ft. As would be expected the bedrooms are very small--think RV sized. Living/dining area adequate. Decent sized bathroom. Nice front and back porches. No cellular service (T-Mobile). Verizon and ATT functioned fine.

Steep, private road access on a one-lane, unpaved road. Had to get a running start for my Prius to make it to the top without stalling. My friend's Ford Focus made it up with no difficulty.

For a couple looking for a quiet retreat and willing to spend the money for the three day minimum, may not be a bad choice. However, for a family of four or more, there are larger cabins available that would provide additional room to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2016

We arrived at night so it was pretty hard to find the actual cabin (terrible signage and no lighting to direct us in the middle of nowhere), but once we found it, we LOVED it. The cabin was spotless and modern. When we walked around the mountain, we noticed that our cabin seemed the most secluded so we were very happy we chose the "Just Us" cabin - VERY private. We absolutely loved it! (My husband was pleasantly surprised by the good coffee that was there, instead of something cheap.)

Room Tip: The "Just Us" cabin seemed like the best one to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Our cabin was charming, spotless, with all the modern conveniences. It did not have wi-fi, but TV and cell coverage. We were well pleased. I enjoyed setting on both the deck and patio. Plus the hot tub on the deck, in the midst of nature was great. Very well built and maintained.

Room Tip: They have cabins that allow pets.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed in #4 Sugar Shack. The cabin was small and quaint for a couple with everything all accessible in one big room. There is a futon for additional sleeping for a family. The balcony was mostly secluded with rocking chairs and hot tub. We had two little kittens visit us during our stay. We brought food and drink and didn't really need to leave if we didn't have to. Although it was a rainy few days we decided to go hiking on Skyline Dr. Which is only another 10 min drive from here so that was very convenient. We definitely want to come back again and enjoy staying in one of the other many cabins as it looks like each one has something unique to offer. So glad we learned of Lydia cabins and until next time ....

The only gripes we had were the bathroom mirror looked like it wasn't holding it place very well in its frame like it could slide out. The futon/ couch wasn't very comfortable to sit on but we didn't spend much time there. The kitchen was well equipped but an addition of basic non stick frying pan would of helped in making breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

My husband and I first stayed at Lydia Mountain when we were just dating. We loved it so much that we decided to get married there :) We have stayed several times in a few different cabins and all of them were exceptional. I will say that the Sugar Shack is our personal favorite though. It is just the perfect place for a romantic weekend. We have also stayed at Luvin' in the Woods which is the same size and also perfect for couples. For our wedding we rented Dancing Bear and The Crooked Oak cabins. They are perfect for a family get away. The view from the Crooked Oak is breath taking! All of the cabins that I have stayed in have exceeded my expectations. Clean, comfortable and inviting. We will definitely be coming back for years to come.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CaseyNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanardsville
6.1 km away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
218 reviews
30.2 km away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,326 reviews
4.1 km away
Bed & Breakfast at Mountain Valley Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 km away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,167 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lydia Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydia Mountain Cabins

Address: 134 Mountain Laurel Pass, Stanardsville, VA 22973-2654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Stanardsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Stanardsville
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins, constructed from real logs with rock foundations, reflect a style from days gone by. The rock fireplaces create a cozy atmosphere along with the central heating and air, hardwood floors, log furniture, linens, towels and complete kitchens. On the deck, you can enjoy the view or relax in the large hot tub. Each cabin offers privacy in a beautiful mountain setting. Single and Double bedroom cabins available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lydia Mountain Cabins Hotel Stanardsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing