We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast(Sperryville)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skyland(Shenandoah National Park)
USD 235
USD 169
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mimslyn Inn(Luray)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
USD 166
USD 155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 109
USD 94
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn Motel(Front Royal)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
177
2
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
2
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusic roomowner's suitemiller familybacongrass fedmy husband and ifrench press coffeefamily portraitslambglass of winegranolafront porchhomemade jamsskyline drivehashbocce courtart galleries
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderfully relaxing stay at the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm, even with an unexpected winter storm that blew in. The property is beautifully situated on the top of a hill surrounded by cow and sheep (and even a lama?!) pastures and a creek. We weren’t able to enjoy the walking trail on the property due to the freezing rain, but we can see why it is a great way to enjoy the beautiful property. The innkeepers, Cindy and Sarah, were delightful hosts giving us a great tour of the house when we arrived and helping us clear our room of smoke when we forgot to open the flue to our fireplace. Their attention to detail made our stay special. We stayed in the Brief Room, which has comical origins. The personal fireplace, private porch, and large clawfoot tub made our stay relaxing! Remember to bring bubble bath! Just a word of warning, the room does have several portraits over the fireplace and in the bathroom, so if that isn’t your cup of tea another room might be better but it is hard to pass up this amazing room! I would definitely stay here again if coming back to Shenandoah National Park!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jchargarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

My girlfriend and I stumbled upon this quaint, yet luxurious, inn when looking for lodging in the Shenandoah Valley. As college students, we wanted a place to get away for Valentine's Day, all the while avoiding big crowds. We stayed for just one night, but it truly felt like a week of fun and relaxation. The innkeeper gave us the perfect amount of guidance and freedom, knowing when to share information and when to leave us alone. A lovely, local pub was just a walk away, and a delicious breakfast was catered to our vegan restrictions. As for the lodging itself, the cabin was absolutely beautiful and the landscape was simply stunning. The Thornton Gap entrance to skyline drive was only a 15min drive down the road, making for easy access to the National Park. I would highly recommend the inn to anyone, and we will definitely be back in the near future.

Room Tip: The cabin offers the most privacy, but all rooms are unique and wonderful in their own right.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Innkeeper, Manager at The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We enjoyed having you and look forward to your return. Hopefully the weather will cooperate next time and you can enjoy our hiking trail.

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Just picture 800 acres of rolling pastures adjoining the Thornton River with the Shenandoah Mtns as a backdrop. Now add a pre-Civil War farmstead lovingly converted to an elegant inn with antiques, family portraits, beautiful fabrics, comfy beds and the best breakfasts in Virginia prepared by Chef Lillian. This is perfection.

We stayed a week in The Cabin, the former summer kitchen, a few steps from the main house. Hardly a "cabin" with its fireplace, sconces, chandelier, library, Persian rugs, modern kitchenette, large flat screen tv...you get the idea! King bed upstairs, more comfortable than ours at home. After touring the other rooms in the "big house" we may opt for the owners' suite on the top floor next trip. It also has great privacy with panoramic views with an enclosed porch for a tv room/parlour and a scrumptious bath.

What did we do for a week in paradise? Hiked the property (mountain trails in the Shenandoahs are nearby too), antique shopped in all the nearby towns, visited Manassas and Newmarket Civil War Battlefields, drove to Montpelier and Monticello, and played golf on the local nine hole par three. I read a bio on Stonewall Jackson from the library while sitting outside in the lawn chairs (yes, even in January!), where happy hour wine and cheese was brought to me at 4pm! That was nice, I must say! Fly fishing is available in the river, where fishing spots are named for people and events.

For restuarants, we ate at the upscale Thornton River Grill in Sperryville (about a mile away) twice; it was excellent. Had hamburgers and great chili at the Schoolhouse just up the road, twice also, while watching the NFL playoffs. Nineteen miles away in Culpeper we had fantastic steaks and crab cakes at The Piedmont A Virginia Steakhouse; Culpeper has several great places.

Just FYI; there is no cell phone coverage for a few miles radius in this part of Rappahannock County due to being in a dip in the valley where towers do not reach. Phones in the rooms can be used to make dinner reservations.

The finishing touch of magic at the Inn is the owner and staff. They are so attentive, courteous, interesting, and respectful of one's privacy. Their pride in keeping the Inn immaculate and in ensuring we had a delightful visit was greatly appreciated. Thank you so much. We will return!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Toonces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Innkeeper, Manager at The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

We throughly enjoyed having you stay at the Inn and seeing what treasures you were able to discover, we show them to everyone. It's wonderful you were able to enjoy all Sperryville and the surrounding area has to offer. There is a lot you can do in this tiny town! We look forward to your return!

Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Spacious rooms, great view, fascinating 1827 house, quiet. Large, varied, tasty breakfast, huge bathroom with the Brief Room. Only problem is our room was on the same thermostat as much warmer spaces, so was awfully cold on a winter night and the following morning.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank brpafp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Innkeeper, Manager at The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you for letting us know about the temperature difference, we are looking into solutions to fix this issue. We really enjoyed having you stay at the Inn and do hope you can return!

Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our overnight in the winter stay. The house and the “cabin” where we stayed had a timeless appeal with generations of fox hunting accoutrements. The breakfast was excellent and we will be back in warmer weather when we can enjoy the beautiful lands.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-Innkeeper, Manager at The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Each season offers it's own beauty here at the Inn. Looking forward to having you visit us again.
Best!
Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews