We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Time Visitor and looking forward to No # 4”
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smithfield Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our 3rd visit to Smithfield Station, it was excellent and we will return.
Extremely clean facility, well appointed, friendly staff, gracious owner, comfort food and
a Cheers environment in the pub. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Request a jacuzzi room if available, but all rooms are excellent. Love the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Welcome back! Thanks again for the great comments and we can't wait to see you for your 4th trip to Smithfield! Next time you stay, make sure you get signed up for our rewards program, ten nights earns you one free night! See you guys soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 396 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at Smithfield for 2 nights at the beginning of January using their Groupon deal. And we're very glad that we did. We had been looking to book a mountain cabin, but when we saw this special offer, it was def. the best choice.

Even though it was low season and just a couple of other people stayed at the Station we were still greeted/treated with the same service as if it was full on tourist season. They offered advice on things to do and where to go in the little town too.

We had a massive room with the biggest bed I've ever seen, and a super big bathroom with large shower and jacuzzi bath. We had a free bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. Everything was spotless and impressive. The room also had an ipod speaker dock - great for charging your iphone/ipod as well as listening to your own music.

The view from the room was lovely, and had it been that bit warmer, a lovely space to enjoy a spot of coffee on the deck. All these things combined really made you feel like you were in real luxury.

There was also a small closet area with a security safe, should you need it for a longer stay.

The bar offers a large selection of drinks and a special offer on something on the menu every night. It was $5 burger and fries night for us - very tasty and great value. There was a lovely atmosphere of what I assume to be locals (given it was off season) so things never seemed lonely or empty.

Breakfast was a nice selection and still a large spread even though there were nt many guests in the low season - they will cook eggs, bacon, waffles etc for you, and there are juices, pastries, cereals, toast etc to choose from too, with coffee and other hot drinks.

Because I am lazy and like to sleep in, I'd have liked breakfast to last a bit longer - but that is always the case with hotels and us because we like our lie ins - but the breakfast was worth getting up for - and also made you get up and ready to take in the sights of Smithfield (so its secretly a good thing, ha)

Our package also included a $40 gift card for the restaurant - with friendly staff, and the gift card a welcome invitiation to try the 'posher than the bar' :-) type food - with some local ingredients on offer too.

There are some boutique shops that are part of the complex which are cute to look in - but just for info - tourist gifts like hams etc can be had in the historic part of town if you need them.

Although it was of the few cold days in January (typical hah) - we still had lovely bright weather we made the views from our room and the walk around Windsor Castle park a pleasant and memorable time!

Our budgets would not have stretched to stay here in full season, so I'm very glad we got to sample a piece of Smithfield at a price we could afford. Thank you Smithfield station!

Room Tip: jacuzzi is good choice, and also a view over the marina is nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Really glad you guys had a chance to enjoy yourselves! Thanks for the kind words and we would love to have you back again. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Of course we went in the "dead" of winter and this is a Marina so that could account for the empty rooms-the lodge where we stayed is beautiful and the front desk staff were very helpful and friendly-the furnishings throughout the lodge are amazing and our room was not only lovely but very comfortable
Dinner at the restaurant was very good and the wait staff very nice to deal with-breakfast the next morning was billed as a continental but went much farther-eggs,waffles,fruit,pastries,bagels etc a very nice experience
I would recomend this spot highly

Room Tip: They offer rooms in other building however I think the lodge is the newest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roderiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thanks guys! We are a bit slower in the winter, but would love for you to bring ALL of your friends! We will make sure to take care of you just as well. Hope to see you again soon!

Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This was our first stay at Smithfield Station but it absolutely will not be our last. The hotel, our room and the restaurant were spotless. The food was exceptional. Any question we had was met with a smile and a cheerful response. We felt like part of the family. What a delightful hotel. We have travelled a good portion of the USA, the Islands and Europe and in our expierence Smithfield Station ranks among the very best. . Smithfield Station is now at the top of our list.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

What a great review! Thank you so much! We try hard to keep our customers pleased so it is comments like yours that make this all worthwhile! I look forward to meeting you when you come back so please ask the desk for me!

Thanks again,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We never felt more comfortable, had better food or service in one place. Very nice way to bring in the New Year. The package deal was well worth the price. I would love to do this again or try another package deal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Hospitality is the name of the game at Smithfield Station and I am glad that you have spent a memorable holiday with us. If you like packaged deals check out our website as we have several on there that may suit you. See you again soon!

Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
32.6 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
632 reviews
17.8 km away
Marriott Hotel Newport News at City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
22.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
27.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Address: 415 S Church St, P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430-1703
Region: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range: $170 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smithfield Station 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned boutique hotel on the banks of the Pagan River in Downtown, Historic Smithfield. 44 well appointed rooms including a Chesapeake Bay Style Lighthouse you can spend the night in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing