We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate and Friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Richmond Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Adequate and Friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed 3 nights here on business travel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Seems a bit older than some, but overall the same set-up as most in the Homewood brand. Convenient to the airport, highways, plenty of parking, next to Uno's Restaurant, but no restaurant in the building. Breakfast was standard complimentary buffet-grade eggs, potatoes, breads, meats. Cold cereal, yogurt and some fruit available as well. Give the coffee a miss though, tastes like that just-add water brown concentrate. Evenings include a free light meal which varies by day in the lobby area. Main complaint is with the location of the pool/fitness area and access to it, which requires a walk through the lobby/dining area...not so nice in your sweaty/wet duds. There is also an outdoor basketball court beyond it, which I discovered on being kept up late by a few game playing guests. Room was fair sized, not large. Only other gripe was the satin-slick duvet which was either sliding off the end of the bed, its filling sagging out the bottom, or waking you from being under its non-breathable fabric in a ferocious sweat. Overall impression was good, basic, clean place to stay and I would recommend it to those with families in tow, or for any extended stay on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatnext4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodSuitesSocial, Social Media Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Hi whatnext4us,

Thanks for taking the time to share you experience. We appreciate your nice comments and feedback on the bedding. We hope you will stay with us if you return to the area. Safe travels!

Heather Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    104
    64
    30
    11
See reviews for
131
53
18
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rothesay, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

During a recent trip to Myrtle Beach which we drove from Canada, we booked a night at the hotel on our way down in a 1 bedroom suite. The Price was hard to beat and the room/service provided well exceeded what we expected that we stayed here again on our return trip home.

The hotel is near the airport and easy to access from the main highways. There is a bit of a drive from the interstates but just follow the directions to the airport and it is not hard to find the hotel. While you could hear some noise from the airport near by it was still quiet and easy to sleep in the room.

The building, grounds, lobby and room are all very lovely. The staff was friendly and welcoming both times we stayed here and this is a big plus for me when staying at hotels. The Breakfast area offers plenty of seating and has a nice selection of hot and cold choices so everyone should be able to find something to have in the morning.

The 1 bedroom unit seemed to be a standard layout for Homewood Suites, a kitchen area and breakfast nook inside the door with a living area that had a pull out couch and TV plus work desk. Then a seperate sleeping area with double doors to allow privacy from the living room with a sink area off the bedroom open to the bedroom. The door to the bathroom was off the bedroom and offered the basics of flush and shower/tub.

The beds are very very comfortable and provide an excellent night sleep. The TV's in both the bedroom and livingroom allow you the choice of watching TV at night on the couch or in bed while falling asleep.

There is a Uno Chicago Grill off the parking lot by the front door which is great so you don't have to drive somewhere to find a good place to eat which is nice if you've been traveling all day.

The staff and rooms would ensure this place is top choice next time I need a place while driving to South Carolina for our next golf trip. Maybe next time I'll try to schedule an extra night at this place so I can sample to local golfing the area may offer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pweb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodSuitesSocial, Social Media Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Pweb44,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found our Homewood Suites to your liking. We look forward to servicing your travel needs should you return to the Richmond area.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is an older Homewood suite but completely adequate, not luxurious. Stayed here for almost a month in process of relocation for education. The staff was helpful and the location, price, and accommodations worked out well. We would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abercrombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodSuitesSocial, Social Media Manager at Homewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Homewood Suites Richmond. We greatly appreciate your comments. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels!

Heather Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Traveled with a group of baseball boys this weekend. Hotel was incredibly accommodating. Pool was great, basketball area plus grills and tables outside made this the a perfect option for us. Rooms are spacious and clean. We only had one parent of our group have a small issue with their room (shower not working) and they were immediately provided a new room with no fuss.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnthegoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

We recently had a two-night stay here at the Homewood Suites Richmond Airport and it was better than we hoped for.

We had a large one-bedroom suite consisting of a kitchen with full-size refrigerator, small stovetop, microwave, dishwasher, and dining area; a living area with sofa bed, work desk, and flat-screen tv; and large bedroom with king bed, tv, vanity area, closet, and bathroom.

We used the hotel when visiting Richmond for a NASCAR race. This hotel is very convenient to Richmond Raceway. Just hop on I-64 and Laburnum, the Speedway exit, is the next exit to the East. After the race, we were back to the hotel about 20 minutes after exiting the parking lot.

We enjoyed the hotel's complimentary full breakfast both mornings of our stay, and were happy that breakfast lasted until 10am. (A hotel pet peeve is breakfast that closes earlier). Included were hot eggs and a hot meat each day, waffles, assorted breakfast breads, cereals and oatmeals, fresh fruit, yogurt, three different coffees, and a variety of teas.

We enjoyed the hotel's indoor pool, but the whirlpool spa temperature was too warm; we lasted just five minutes there. There's a small exercise room, too, plus a small basketball court and patio area with gas grills for guest use.

The hotel provides Neutrogena bathroom amenities (shampoo, two types of soap, conditioner, and lotion). Unfortunately, they did not agree with my skin. I found all of the items to be too harsh and drying. If you have sensitive skin, bring your own products.

I did use the workspace for my laptop and other electronics. I found the desk height to be too tall to use comfortably for long periods. The desk is less of a computer desk and more of a writing desk. There were several power outlets in the room (thanks to it being a suite), but thought there could be an additional outlet near the work area. (Hey hotels, put an outlet strip above the desk, OK? That would be great!)

There's an Uno Pizza next door to the hotel. Be sure to tell your server you are a hotel guest for a discount!! That was our best surprise of the stay.

We will definitely consider this hotel for any return trips to Richmond Speedway.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandston
1.4 km away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
0.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel
1.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Richmond Airport

Property: Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
Address: 5996 Audubon Dr, Sandston, VA 23150-1340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandston
#3 Family Hotel in Sandston
#3 Business Hotel in Sandston
Price range (per night): $189 - $263
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Richmond Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Homewood Suites Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel Sandston
Homewood Suites Sandston
Homewood Sandston
Richmond Airport Homewood Suites
Sandston Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing