We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary dinner”
Review of Alexander's

Alexander's
Reserve with OpenTable
Alexander's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 544 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 18 - USD 35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Campbell/Salem
Transit: Adjacent to City Bus Station and Smart Bus from VA Tech, Blacksburg & New River Valley
Description: We are SW Virginia's dining destination located next to the Farmer's Market, Hotel Roanoke Conference Center and the Taubman Museum of Art. Alexander's is an oasis for casual upscale dining. Focusing on superb ingredients; fish, seafood, prime quality Virginia aged meats and locally sourced organic produce, our cuisine showcases years of collaboration among some of the most talented chefs of our region. We have been selected two years in a row as one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the US by OpenTable.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were early for our reservation and had to wait a little bit, but the staff made sure we had a drink to make time pass. Our waitress was amazing, I was gaining weight just listening to her tell us about the specials. Hubby had the carrot-ginger soup and it was fantastic. Salads were very fresh. We both enjoyed a steak and the pumpkin creme cake for dessert was so light and fresh. Drinks are well made and the surprise at the end, well, thanks, I'll take another please.

Thank HELJAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRke, Manager at Alexander's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you! Please come in again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a delicious pre-theater dinner earlier this week. Service was excellent. Food was delicious. And they took into consideration our need to get to the theater, so they made sure we got prompt service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FranD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRke, Manager at Alexander's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you! Please come in again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our first trip to Roanoke...went to Alexander’s...The New Orleans bbq shrimp - well you would just want to swim with them they were soooo good. Great French bread, too.
Everything was great including the service.
Go - you won’t be disappointed!

Thank W1263SQrobertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRke, Owner at Alexander's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you - We hope you'll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have been dining here for years. I decided today that I owed it to Alexander’s to write a well deserved review. First of all they should be #1 on this list. This is the best restaurant in Roanoke. The service, the food, the atmosphere is absolutely the best. They go above and beyond to satisfy their guests and to make them feel welcome. It is a must if looking for a great place to dine in the Roanoke area.

Thank Layman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRke, Manager at Alexander's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. Loyal customers like you who express their appreciation make our day! As as you might notice these ratings are driven by algorithms and also $$ toward advertising, which we don't do. But your vote is what's most important.

The Alex Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

I had the trio. Chicken, shrimp and scallops. Chicken was small and over cooked. Scallops were a little sandy. Shrimp was good. My wife loved the steak filet.

Thank Freedom816733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alexander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing