We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
59
19
3
8
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
19
3
8
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main dining room peaceful visit private deck wonderful weekend hot breakfast general's quarters equestrian cottage fireplace virginia
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

No words can describe this wonderful place. Everything is just fascinating.The atmosphere, the weather and the view make you feel that you don't want to leave the place. watching the sunset from there relieve all the stress.
Looking forward to a longer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We've enjoyed staying here in the past but this was a disappointing visit. There were problems with the Internet and the breakfast and there were ants in the room.

We stayed in the Grant cottage. It's a very spacious room with a king bed, couch, fireplace, breakfast area, and bath with both a shower and bathtub for two. The furnishings are upscale, but a little worn, so it feels more like someone's really nice guesthouse than a fancy inn. We enjoyed stargazing on the private deck, after which we came indoors and enjoyed a real wood fire in the fireplace.

The Internet worked fine when we arrived, but in the morning there was no Internet because the ISP had not been paid.

When we checked in, we choose mushroom omelets from the breakfast menu and asked to have them brought to the room at 9:30 in the morning. Shortly after we checked in, we got a call saying they had no mushrooms, which was okay; we just asked for an omelet with vegetables. A little after 9:30 in the morning, we got a call letting us know breakfast woud be late because the chef had not shown up. By 10:40, the chef had still not shown up and it became clear there would be no hot breakfast for us. The front desk person scrounged around and brought us some juice, sugary cereal, and milk, along with forks and knives but no spoons.

I had brought some bread with us in a bag and left it next to the coffee maker when I checked in. By morning, there were ants on the bread inside the bag.

We had planned to stay until 1 pm or so for a late checkout to make up for the delayed hot breakfast, but we left at 11:30. On checkout, they gave us a 8.5% discount to try to make up for the difficulties.

Overall, I'm quite disappointed. I think we were the only people staying there on a Saturday night, and perhaps I should have taken that as a warning. The front desk staff appeared to be new and a little out of their depth. The website and their voice mail message says they are open until 9 pm, but they said they go home at 5 pm. Since check-in time starts 3 pm, that's kind of a narrow window, and we were not informed of this ahead of time (we arrived at 4:36). This didn't end up being a problem for us, but it would have been nice to know when we were making our plans.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sleepywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAdministrator, Director of Sales at Inn at Kelly's Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Sleepywoman,

Thank you so much for expressing your concerns and disappointment. We need to hear from our guests so that we can constantly work to improve our guest experience.

Unfortunately, at the time of your visit, we had recently changed ownership and the inn was in flux. At this point in time we have already made great strides, to address the very issues you shared in your review. We have addressed the issue with the chef and the delayed breakfast delivery, which never should have happened. We have also increased our internet speed in the cottages.

We are so sorry that your stay was so negatively impacted by the transition period, and we are anxious to invite you back to enjoy a much better experience.

We hope to speak with you soon to see how we can make your next stay a fantastic one for you and your family members.

Best,

Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Sadly, we were only able to stay one night at this beautiful historic Inn. We stayed in the General's Quarters, which is about a mile down the road from the main Inn and reception. The views from the house are lovely, with pastures and fields all around. It was a delight to sit on a front porch rocking chair this morning and just enjoy the view of the cows going about their day.

The General's Quarters are spotless, and all comfort's have been thought of. The House has been beautifully decorated and furnished with many country antiques and touches that just make it feel as though you've gone back to another time. The owners have thought of everything, from comfy beds with good linens to a basket full of amenities in the bathrooms. I especially liked the bathroom mirror which was made out of a lasso.

Breakfast this morning was delicious, with perfectly cooked eggs Benedict. The view from the dining room overlooking the horse pastures was simply beautiful. Staff at check in, and also this morning we're friendly and efficient. We can't wait to come back for a longer visit!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAdministrator, General Manager at Inn at Kelly's Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Linda, we thank you for your kind words and cant wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed the beautiful weather and drove out for drinks and the view. There is seating outside or inside at the lower bar. Entertainment is usually offered every weekend with a singer/guitar player.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAdministrator, General Manager at Inn at Kelly's Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you Kristin!
We're so happy you had the best time. Please come back out and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Wonderful weekend stay at the Inn at Kelly's Ford. We stayed in the General's Quarters which was very charming. 3 bedroom house down a country road and about 1 mile from the pub and restaurant. Decorated and furnished like the old days. Quiet and comfortable and not overly priced. Had dinner at the pub which featured live music and a good pub menu. Breakfast came with the room and was very good. It was served in the main dining room which had a breathtaking view. This is a must visit either for a few nights stay of just a meal. You can even bring your horse.

Room Tip: Guest house is a must
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAdministrator, General Manager at Inn at Kelly's Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review!
Please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews