We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveller rating
241
454
311
138
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
454
311
138
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviews treaty grounds shuttle bus buffet dinner pool area sea view beautiful location bit dated tennis courts the ground floor bay paihia deck waterfront
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We stayed here in the superior sea view room for 2 nights. The rooms overlooked the pools and the bay. The stunning sunrise and pristine waters had a soothing effect on us. The staff very courteous and helpful. Here i need to mention Sagar at the reception, He helped with some good food suggestions and parasailing activities.

Room tip: rooms starting with 700 series are pool side facing
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank radhadyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Sagar went out of his way to make you stay a special one. I hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The best thing about the hotel is the swimming area for kids. Unfortunately they didn't design the pools with any understanding of children. Its all rocks and very climbable but they have notices everywhere saying no climbing.
The Wifi was non existent and when I enquired I was told there was 4 ADSL lines in and when it got busy it slowed the service down. We were unable to use wifi at all when we were there. The family room we had didn't have airconditioning. The room was uncomfortably hot and fans had to be put on the entire time.
Given the cost, the buffet food was ordinary. It looked good but wasn't really cooked well and was average..The hotel feels like its struggling a little and cutting corners somewhat
The Staff were always helpful and friendly though..When we were there they were setting up for a concert which we weren't warned about. The sound checks were particularly annoying while you were trying to relax by the pool.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaunuiR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. The hotel pool was designed in the 90's prior to the strict onset of health and safety laws which protects not only our guests but the hotel also. The information provided by our staff is correct about the wifi connection. Regrettably we do not have fibre connection due to our location and when we have high demand on our wifi network speeds to reduce substantially. The hotel advises under its amenities and room descriptions that we have ceiling fans only and not air conditioning so that to advise guests that when they choose to stay at our hotel what to expect when it comes to room cooling. I am sorry to hear that the experiences you had with our Food & Beverage Department were not up to our normal high standards. I shall pass on those specific points mentioned in your review. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour. Our room overlooked the grounds and we had a stunning view of the bay. Our room on the second floor was good. All our meals were delicious. The hotel is set in a lovely location, but it is not close to town. So you either have a very long walk or take a shuttle to town.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricialD5685ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We spent 2 nights here with our tour and were extremely disappointed. The hotel has obviously not been updated in decades. While the location is excellent and views are wonderful, everything else is sorely lacking. The rooms are very small and barely at the level of a Comfort Inn in the US. Paint was peeling from the bathroom door, the grout in the bathroom floor and tub had mildew, and there was only the mirror above the bathroom sink - no other mirrors in the room. We had ants crawling over the dresser in our room. While the private balcony was pleasant, it did not have any screens or a screen door, so we felt very uncomfortable opening the patio door overnight because we didn't know what creatures (including people) might enter while we were sleeping. There was no air conditioning in the room, only a ceiling fan. The restaurant was absolutely horrible - I have not had such poor quality food anywhere else in decades. They only offered a buffet on Friday night, and the selection, quality and temperature of the food was all sub-par. Additionally, the waitstaff was minimal and very inattentive, not removing used plates or cutlery during the meal, and not checking to see if we needed more drinks. I would not recommend this resort for anyone.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathleenS2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Hambly, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Good Afternoon. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the experiences you had with our Housekeeping Department were not up to our normal high standards. Due to the high humidity in the area we are located along with the low rate of bleach in our cleaning chemicals we are stugling with the look of our grout and silicone in our bathrooms. We are currently working on solution to this issue. The hotel advises under its amenities and room descriptions that we have ceiling fans only and not air conditioning so that to advise guests that when they choose to stay at our hotel what to expect when it comes to room cooling. I am sorry to hear that the experiences you had with our Food & Beverage Department were not up to our normal high standards. The hotel also offers an all day bar menu and a la carte menu in the evenings also. I shall pass on those specific points mentioned in your review. Regards, Matthew Hambly, Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while on a 3-day tour of the Bay of Islands.

The hotel is in a beautiful location a short distance outside of Paihia and next to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds, and our room was on the first floor with beautiful views over the Bay.

I know that a number of reviews of this hotel are critical, and that may be influenced by the room allocation. Our experience was good and we enjoyed our short stay there, which was at the start of a 5-week holiday in New Zealand.

Our room was a good size and well furnished, with a small furnished balcony overlooking the grounds and the Bay, and with magnificent views. The room had a pitched roof and a ceiling fan, although no air-conditioning, but this was not an issue for us during our stay, and the high ceiling height helped to keep the room cool.

The hotel has a nice restaurant serving buffet or à la carte, and we chose the à la carte which was good. Breakfast was also good with a reasonable choice of hot and cold food. The hotel bar was well furnished and the service and choice of drinks was good. Service in the hotel was friendly and efficient.

In the grounds there was a free-form swimming pool, designed like a lagoon, which looked good although we did not use it. The hotel runs a courtesy bus hourly into Paihia, which is a 5-10 minute drive away.

This hotel is a really good base for exploring the Bay of Islands and Russell, and even further afield up to Cape Reinga at the very tip of New Zealand.

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Bay.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank farrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews