We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best B&B's ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point Veronica Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Opua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Point Veronica Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Opua B&B and Inns
South America
Level Contributor
307 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“One of the best B&B's ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Audrey and John are the most relaxed, caring and generous hosts you can possibly imagine! Not only is their wonderful house with most lovely garden situated right above bay of islands with magnificent views but also do Audrey and John provide you with everything and every advice you might need. Quite differently from the South Island here on the North Island B&B hosts in general are more caring, but these two are over the top in a very relaxed manner. We felt truly at home asking our one million questions to John over a couple of free glasses of wine or enjoying their marvellous, tailormade breakfast. Thanks again, we hope to be back!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifevoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

We arrived at Point Veronica to be met by a surprised Audrey and John!!! Our arrival was one day early! But we still received a warm welcome. The views from Point Veronica are amazing, looking out over the Bay of Islands and Russell. John and Audrey have a wonderful knowledge of the area they live in and are only happy to share this with their guests and pointed us in the right direction of the best things to see and do. The walk from the bottom of John and Audrey's garden into Pahia is a lovely, through the mangroves and around the headland. We would recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting New Zealand Many Thanks Again

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireJHadfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Jacuzi with a view. A quiet spot away from the bustle of Opua, with a cracking view. First class breakfast, all mod cons.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heraldic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Giles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

We booked our stay at Point Veronica Lodge because we liked the view and the location from the pictures shown on TripAdvisor. What we didn't realise was the the twisty road and gradients required to get there - however, John's driving instructions were perfect and the drive was well worth it at journey's end.
John and Audrey really are the perfect hosts; always helpful with suggestions for places to go and they do the bookings for you. Audrey's fruit concoctions for breakfast were a marvel, whilst John does a mean scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on a toasted english muffin. After a long day's touring, they were quick to offer complimentary refreshments, including beer, whilst John would also generously provide a night cap (wine) at the end of the day.
The kiwi bedroom was a bit tight for space, but only because the extra king size bed was so large but it is comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean. However, you only need spend night time in the room, John and Audrey have a veranda with superb views, a lower deck with a hot tub and a very comfortable sitting area where you can watch TV, read a book or play games
You go to Point Veronica Lodge for all of the above, but you need to go into Paihia for dinner and as a base for touring Northland. It is only a few minutes drive to Paihia, but the roads are still twisty and some are steep, whilst care needs to be taken after dark.
We would certainly go back to the Bay of Islands and when we do we will certainly return to John and Audrey's 'touch of paradise'.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonnyDisposition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

This was our second stay, following an earlier trip in 2006, and it says much about the place that it was the first accommodation we booked on this trip from the UK. The location of the property is stunning with clear views out to sea and in to the surrounding bush.
The rooms are spotless, bright and welcoming and of course very comfortable. Audrey & John are like old friends and will quickly make you feel at home with a welcoming cup of tea etc.

Breakfast is very good with lots to choose from and prepare you for the day ahead and at the end of the day there is a chance to relax and chat to your hosts with that wonderful view as a backcloth.

This B&B is one of the best we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world and we heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opua
3.3 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
4.9 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
1.4 km away
Opua Motel
Opua Motel
#1 of 1 in Opua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Clendon
The Clendon
#8 of 21 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.7 km away
The Retreat
The Retreat
#11 of 23 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
5.0 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Veronica Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Veronica Lodge

Property: Point Veronica Lodge
Address: 39 Point Veronica Drive | OPUA, Opua 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Opua
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Opua
Price range (per night): $129 - $166
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Point Veronica Lodge Bay Of Islands/Opua, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing