We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY AND TOP CLASS HOSTS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 26 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed for three nights in Feb 2012 and the experience was a joy. The hosts Geoff and Chris were 1st class hosts and what they don't know about the area or the local excursions isn't worth talking about.The room was luxurious and spotless and the breakfasts were devine. The gardens are a sight to behold, it was like walking through the chelsea flower show.If you want an all round memorable experience then look no further that 88,Lodge

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAGSY146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

We booked the 'Awesome Bay Experience' package, which includes 2 nights at the lodge and 1 night on board the Ipipiri cruise ship around the Bay of Islands. This was far from a luxury and relaxing stay from the beginning. There were a number of basic mistakes made from Geoff and Chris as detailed below:

1) We didn't receive our 'bottle of bubbles on arrival to enjoy and relax with' as described on their website.
2) This has now been taken off the website but at the time there was filtered water in the fridge promised, however this wasn't present.
3) When having wine with dinner (note dinner was included and prepared by Chris as it was Xmas and most local restaurants closed) we declined the red offered, not to be offered any alternative - not even water with dinner!
4) Had to endure Chris sitting at the dinner table smelling strongly of cigarette smoke.
5) Whilst out for the day our room was serviced, during which all of my toiletries were moved and tidied away.
6) Being woken at 7am by Chris banging crockery in the kitchen.

On the plus side the room and B&B were spotless and the food was generally of a high quality. The hosts are very much involved in your trip, so if you want a realxing holiday where you can be left to your own devices and enjoy your privacy, this is not for you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff8288, Owner at 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

This review is disappointing and in complete contradiction to what they said at the time.
Our Guest Book reads:- “ Thanks for a very comfortable 2 nights with you – lovely food and very helpful”.
Guests are invited to complete a feed back form. They ranked their Room, The Lodge and Breakfast all as excellent.
Quite why some 2 months after their stay they have chosen to place their very first Trip Advisor review at a level which simply does not reflect what they said at the time is somewhat disturbing. We wonder, if perhaps, they have been encouraged to do this by someone wanting to spoil our impressive Trip Advisor record.
However to answer the specific points raised:-
1) Missing Bubbles. A bottle of sparkling wine is part of the Awesome Bay Experience package. It is our normal practice to place this in the room fridge to await guest’s arrival. If we overlooked this you are owed our apology. The matter would most definitely have been resolved if you had brought it to our attention.
2) Filtered water has never been mentioned on our website. All of the water in the Lodge is triple filtered as it comes into the premises. There is mention in our Room Books as follows – ‘The tap water is OK to drink. We can provide extra filtered water for storage in your fridge if you would prefer, just ask.’
3) Evening meals are not normally catered for, as there are many excellent restaurants nearby. However as it was Christmas and restaurants were closed we went the extra mile to provide that service. A 3-course meal with wine at a rate of $35 per person over Christmas is not unreasonable. We cannot recall what decisions this couple made around drinks but certainly if asked we would have made other beverage choices available.
4) Chris tries very hard to hide his cigarettes from guests and on this occasion seems to have failed. We both express our apologies for this. We have a designated outside area for smoking away from guest rooms. On this once-a-year occasion when we sat down to a meal with guests the cigarette aroma lingered on him.
5) In order to clean a room it is essential to move some belongings when they are left cluttered around the sink or other surfaces that need cleaning. At the time Marie did express her disapproval of this attention to cleanliness and on the second morning of their visit this element of the room servicing was not done to honour her wishes.
6) 88 Lodge is located in the countryside and therefore a very quiet environment. Guest breakfasts are prepared for the time they request and as such catering starts approximately ½ hour before this time. The room occupied by these guests is some distance from the kitchen (in relation to any other room in a normal house) and whilst we cannot promise there is never any noise we are mindful of the need for care but some noise is unavoidable.
7) We take great pride to give the best advise and assistance to ensure guests get the most from their stay with us. As these guests were on a package it was appropriate to give details to ensure the package went smoothly. Outside of this guests are welcome to come and go as they please so we are somewhat at a loss to explain or defend the comment ‘The hosts are very much involved in your trip, so if you want a relaxing holiday where you can be left to your own devices and enjoy your privacy…..”.

We would finish by questioning the allocation of 3 for Value. The total Awesome Bay Experience package is $1049. The Great Sites Ipipiri overnight cruise cost for 2 persons is $714 alone (on that date). I would ask the Trip Advisor review reader to decide if the difference (less than $84 per person per night) inclusive of a full breakfast and over the Christmas period is poor value for money.

Having defended our position we would say to any guests if there are problems all you needed to do was raise them at the time. We could and would have taken the necessary action to make sure your time with us is as memorable as all the other people who have stayed at 88 Lodge. Please check out our other Trip Advisor reviews and Guest Book entries on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Absolutely wonderful. Friendly hosts, beautiful rooms and delicious homemade cooked breakfasts! Worth every penny and would certainly return if we were in the area. Hosts full of great local knowledge and an abundance of day trip travel ideas. Five stars from us!

Room Tip: All of them seem great. Take the big room if you want to lounge about, otherwise the other two are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

A lovely house in stunning gardens with lovely bedrooms/bathrooms.Geoff & Chris are very welcoming & make you feel very much at home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Beautiful B&B, with great hosts who made us very welcome and provided us with loads of useful tips for things to see and do!! Room was lovely and well appointed, and the breakfast was superb. Wish we could have stayed longer....next time we will!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelsFunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
5.0 km away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
19.1 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
4.6 km away
Avalon Resort
Avalon Resort
#4 of 26 in Kerikeri
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
470 reviews
4.8 km away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
3.5 km away
Apple B&B
Apple B&B
#5 of 26 in Kerikeri
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Kerikeri

Been to 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Address: 88 Koropewa Road, Kerikeri 0295, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range: $161 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from bustling Kerikeri 88 Lodge & its swimming pool are secluded within park-like subtropical gardens. With just 3 rooms (all en-suite), the lodge is warm, intimate and homely. Your room has a King sized bed and is fully equipped with everything you will need to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Breakfasts are a specialty of the house and made to your order from the freshest & most local produce. Free High Speed Internet & National telephone calls make keeping in touch so easy. 88 Lodge is perfectly located for the best of The Bay of Islands and all Northland. Geoff & Chris your hosts, pride themselves on ensuring you have the most memorable time in this wonderful part of New Zealand. Their hospitality is only matched by their local knowledge and free tour planning to ensure you make the very most of your time in this piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your 88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Lodge Luxury Bed And Breakfast Kerikeri, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing