We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swallows Ridge was perfect”
Review of Swallows Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swallows Ridge
Ranked #2 of 28 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Our savious on a dark and stormy night, Swallows Ridge provided more than just shelter during one of the biggest storms to hit the upper North Island in 2011.
With the rain tumbling and the wind howling, the staff at Swallows Ridge went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable, safe and happpy after travelling late into the night through the storm.
The rooms were resplendent and when morning broke over the stunning scenery we were blessed with a heartbreakingly beauftiful sunrise which invigorated the soul after Swallows Ridge had restored the spirit.
We really can't recommend Swallows Ridge enough, the staff and hotel were able to take a dreadfully depressing night and turn it into a great, uplifting experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reon_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 245 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2011

We stayed for one impromptu night to escape terrible weather and flooding and received wonderful service and hospitality.

The hosts were so kind to take us poor stranded motorists in at 1am out of the pouring rain and floods!

The house is very beautiful and waking up to that view was amazing. I am very disapointed we couldn't stay longer and I would definitely recommend Swallows Ridge all travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We couldn't have wished for a better place to meet the new year! This bed and breakfast and its wonderful hosts provided us with the perfect one-night countryside getaway for a relaxing NYE.

Both the quality and the price of the accommodation are quite amazing and the setting is like something out of a picture postcard of New Zealand. The B&B itself is situated just outside of Kerikeri and is surrounded by lush rolling hills, with a sea view to boot. It is a pretty close drive to Paihia, which is where we rung in the new year, and is conveniently located to everything that the Bay of Islands has to offer.

The proprietors themselves were extremely pleasant and are lovely people to deal with. We were provided with a bottle of wine on arrival and champagne on New Year's day, which was the perfect way to complete our short but unforgettable stay. We would recommend Swallows Ridge to anyone travelling up north and who wants to experience what the real NZ countryside has to offer in luxurious and serene surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

A brandnew, tastfully furnished private house with swimming pool in a stunning surrounding.
Hosts charming and helpful.
Opulent breakfast.
Best bed and breakfast we ever had - and we had a lot!
ABSOLUTELY RECOMMENDABLE

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luederhuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Mike and Chris have created a slice of paradise where you can relax, soak up the sun and enjoy the amazing views across rolling pasture and out to the Bay of Islands. You wake up of a morning to the sound of chirping birds and are greeted by breakfast served on the patio and are forced to relax and unwind. The day can be spent walking over the 100 acres of farmland, following the walking tracks to the beach or moving from the patio to the pool.
Mike and Chris are the ultimate hosts who go out of their way to cater for your every needs and ensure that your stay is memorable and realxing. Swallows Ridge is a touch of paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerikeri
8.3 km away
88 Lodge Luxury Bed and Breakfast
14 km away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 21 in Paihia
357 reviews
7.5 km away
Treghan Luxury Lodge
Treghan Luxury Lodge
#1 of 28 in Kerikeri
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
497 reviews
5.7 km away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
8.8 km away
Relax a Lodge
Relax a Lodge
#9 of 28 in Kerikeri
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallows Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallows Ridge

Address: 32A Rangitane Road, Kerikeri 0294, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range: $153 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our purpose built award winning accommodation (2010 House of the Year Silver Medal). Set in 21 acres, our secluded and peaceful location is a designated Kiwi area. Yet is near to town and only two minutes drive to Doves Bay Marina. Enjoy peace and tranquility with fantastic coastal views of the Bay of Islands, Kent Passage and Kerikeri Inlet. Swim in the heated 12mtr pool or relax on your own private patio. All rooms are large with en suite. Home made bread and eggs from our own chickens for breakfast. Visit Kerikeri's historic Stone Store, cafes, farmers market and art galleries, play a round of golf or take a trip to a local beach. Swim with dolphins or catch a marlin - we can arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Swallows Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallows Ridge Kerikeri, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing