We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest little piece of accommodation in New Zealand”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kerikeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lyness Accommodation
Ranked #18 of 28 Kerikeri B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My partner and I do a lot of weekends away. We have stayed in both the suite and cottage on a number of different occasions. It is by far the best accommodation of its kind in Northland, probably New Zealand. Sharon is the most lovely hostess. The grounds and house are immaculate. There are wonderful touches, chocolates, soaps from Living Earth, decent CD's, good books, magazines. You have privacy and luxury and I would never hesitate to recommend this place right up to the rafters!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2011

We found Lyness Cottage 7 years ago and have been back to both the cottage and the suite every year since. Sharon and Adrian are the ideal hosts, they are friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The accomodation compares favourably to other accomodation costing twice as much, it is clean and beautifully appointed and the location is ideal. And yes we've booked again for 2012.

Room Tip: The cottage or the suite is great, book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petert46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We planned n spending two nights with Sharon and Adrian, but extended to four, because we just couldn't leave. Amazing view, setting, on many acres of farm land in Kerikeri, a cute small town that gets little attention in guidebooks. We can't wait t come back again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham and Grah... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights to visit the Bay of Islands.

If you fly in and want a car, I suggest you rent it ahead of time, after we arrived there was nothing available so we had to walk to and from town which will take a while, and it can get pretty hot during the day.

We originally were going for the cottage, but changed to the suite so we could use some internet and we really enjoyed the space and the view of the open back yard. This place is quiet and has a lot of space. We went to the farmers market on the weekend and prepared our own meals so we did not have to go to town to look for anything at night.

Sharon was very kind to pick us up at the airport in the morning but we had to wait in town for several hours before we could come back and check in. Had we known this we would have brought some breakfast with us, as there was barely anything available in town that was vegan for us to eat. All our food was in her car so we did not have it with us.

We did the bay of islands tour which was a really great day out. Sharon let us rent her car from her, since there was no rental cars available.

It was very bright, warm and relaxing here and it's definitely one of the best B&B suites we've seen. It was nice to get sunshine and fresh air as we were coming from quite a cramped and stuffy hotel from Auckland.

The only thing that was really disappointing was Sharon told us how great the farmers market was and it's only one day a week and she could take us the next morning if we wanted at 9 am. So we agreed and got up early and got ready and waited and waited and waited. At almost 10 am my husband went to ask if we were still going, and her daughter answered the door and said Sharon and her husband were sick and they were not going... But someone could have told us and we had no idea we were not going. It was really important to us to get to the farmers market to get some fruits and vegetables, as the store selection is very poor and she had told us it's best to go early in the morning to get the best stuff. My husband went back to ask for directions to walk to town and were given the wrong directions so we ended up walking down to a dead end and all the way back to her place to ask again which way town was. We went to the market and we walked back with all of our groceries. So next time I would get a car, I did not realize the location was so rural and away from everything.

We also got a ride back to the airport for our next flight which was really nice too.

They have a nice place and it is very well furnished and really clean, so we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynesscottage, Owner at Lyness Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2011

Although it is unfortunate that the above guests had to wait to check in after a 9:25 am flight arrival into Kerikeri, we do need to adhere to industry standard check in/out times of 2:00 PM and 10:00 AM during our busy season in order to clean the rooms for the next guests. We most often have back to back guest arrivals and departures during our high season. This policy is stated via email when taking a booking. I did return to town to pick them up again by 12:30 PM as I had some extra help that morning. It looks like there is an opportunity in Kerikeri for a cafe that offers vegan food! I have also apologised for the miscommunication we had over my offer of a ride to the farmers market. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed at Lyness Suite for 2 nites on 6 and 7 Feb 2011 and it was the best suite of our stay. The suite is roomy with nice and romantic touches, cozy verandah and top it all, gracious hosts in Sharon and Adrian - Many thanks for showing us the "motherly" concern and pointing us the route we should be heading. We had a great time at Cape Reinga after ur place. This place is also value for money and certainly a place to base on when visiting the Northland.

Also, this is the only place where we need not lock it up whenever we leave the suite - it felt like "liberty", something we city folks find it hard to do! Thanks for having us and may God bless you both and family..

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstellaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerikeri hotels
3.8 km away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
506 reviews
1.5 km away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
1.4 km away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Kerikeri Park Lodge
Kerikeri Park Lodge
#4 of 16 in Kerikeri
189 reviews
1.9 km away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
4.4 km away
Relax a Lodge
Relax a Lodge
#11 of 28 in Kerikeri
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyness Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyness Accommodation

Address: 28 Pa Road, Kerikeri 0230, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Kerikeri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Kerikeri
Price Range: $119 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyness Accommodation is a very private and romantic getaway with water views over the Kerikeri Inlet. We offer 2 double, self contained units, Lyness Cottage and Lyness Suite, both with free WIFI. They have a 1920’s old world feel with lead light windows and polished rimu floors. Enjoy the ambience on your own private deck where you can watch sheep grazing at your doorstop or listen to the abundant birdlife. The cottage has a large clawfoot bath and the suite a spa-bath plus a fireplace. Our accommodation offers peacefulness and seclusion and is perfect for both honeymooners and independent travellers wishing a unique tranquil setting. We are located in Kerikeri which is a central base for exploring all the Bay of Islands has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lyness Accommodation Kerikeri, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing