We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Save
Review Highlights
All the best of Martinborough

Took my mum and nana on their first wine tasting in Martinborough and this was by far their... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Andrew C
,
Retford, United Kingdom
Anniversary Treat

Lovely outdoor setting-even in light rain.Great food. Hosts lovely. Plunger coffee tasty. Highly... read more

Reviewed 11 November 2018
TamaraP1316
,
Wellington, New Zealand
Read all 35 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Martinborough
from USD 191.20
More Info
from USD 206.90
More Info
from USD 111.30
More Info
from USD 173.90
More Info
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
26
4
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
4
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pinot gris boutique winery cheese platter glass of wine new zealand susan jams chutney jar driveway host selection region wines tasting sample cellar
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

What a wonderful wine tasting and food experience we had at Haythornthwaite in March this year. I was visiting from the UK with my son who lives in Wellington. We do not have cellar doors in the UK for wine tastings and really appreciated the welcome and relaxed ambience we received. I took a jar of your feijoa chutney back to the UK without breaking it! Absolutely delicious. The weather was pretty good too!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Frances_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear the jar of Feijoa chutney made its way safely back to the UK.
Hope to see you back in NZ some time. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Fresh off the boat from Picton, we were looking for wine and food at one of the wineries. Susan and Mark were most welcoming. We chose their 'pinot noir' tasting sets, and opted for the mixed platter to share. Travelling with my parents, they really loved the quite older style music in the background, and outside seating to enjoy the platter, and glass of their chose pinot.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed both the platter and the Pinot wine tasting tier. Safe travels. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

As part of our half day wine tasting experience in Martinborough, we were taken to this fabulous vineyard. The host was so amazingly welcoming and friendly, we felt so at home tasting his delicious
wine selection that he obviously truly loved. Also had some fab home made jams, marmalades and chutneys on offer too. Highly recommended, thank you.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Funnell5ir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanht3, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your tasting with us
I love to make jams and chutneys from the orchards on the vineyard to sell them in the tasting room. I also use many of them on our platters.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Visited Martinborough with no real plans for the Saturday. Unfortunately we had trouble ordering food or platters anywhere and were recommended we visit here. We ordered the cheese and meat platter for $40 with a couple of glasses of wine.

The white wine was served warm and judging by the lack of condensation on the glasses of those around us, their wines were also warm.

The platter was tasty enough, served on glassware from the 90's. The owners seemed lovely and friendly, wandering around chatting to people and checking that everyone was okay and had been informed of the food on their platter
(which included homemade chutneys).

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Emsy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanht3, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thankyou for your comments.
We serve our white wines at 12 degrees so that you are able to taste the flavours. Wine coming straight out of the fridge is at 4 degrees so all you can taste is the cold.
As they warm up in the glass they will get a little warmer and the aroma and flavours will appear..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

We had a great day tasting fantastic wines and enjoying beautiful food. Thanks to the owners for the hospitality. We will definitely be back.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank federicrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thank you for your visit. Glad you enjoyed our wines and the platter. Hope to see you again. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews