We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint spot with beautiful wines”

Haythornthwaite Wines
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Small boutique vineyard presenting Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris and our speciality Gewurztraminer. Situated in the Martinborough Terraces appellation, we are open 7 days a week during summer and 6 days during winter. Closed in winter on a Tuesday. Summer hours are 11am - 6pm 7 days a week. Platter food available, wine by the glass and a full tasting of 9 wines.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The owners were knowledgeable and friendly. Very accommodating with beautiful matters featuring many fruits and preserves from their own garden. Such and awesome homely feel.with incredible wines; all of which have a story to tell. Will definitely be back!

Thank Loran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanht3, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. I love to make the preserves. Hope to see you back soon. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the owner"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 2 reviews
"susan"
in 6 reviews
"jams"
in 4 reviews
"jar"
in 2 reviews
"chutney"
in 3 reviews
"cellar"
in 2 reviews
"sample"
in 2 reviews
"selection"
in 2 reviews
"platter"
in 5 reviews
"wine"
in 8 reviews
"region"
in 2 reviews
"pinot"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

What a wonderful wine tasting and food experience we had at Haythornthwaite in March this year. I was visiting from the UK with my son who lives in Wellington. We do not have cellar doors in the UK for wine tastings and really appreciated the welcome and relaxed ambience we received. I took a jar of your feijoa chutney back to the UK without breaking it! Absolutely delicious. The weather was pretty good too!

Thank Frances_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear the jar of Feijoa chutney made its way safely back to the UK.
Hope to see you back in NZ some time. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Fresh off the boat from Picton, we were looking for wine and food at one of the wineries. Susan and Mark were most welcoming. We chose their 'pinot noir' tasting sets, and opted for the mixed platter to share. Travelling with my parents, they really loved the quite older style music in the background, and outside seating to enjoy the platter, and glass of their chose pinot.

Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed both the platter and the Pinot wine tasting tier. Safe travels. Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

As part of our half day wine tasting experience in Martinborough, we were taken to this fabulous vineyard. The host was so amazingly welcoming and friendly, we felt so at home tasting his delicious
wine selection that he obviously truly loved. Also had some fab home made jams, marmalades and chutneys on offer too. Highly recommended, thank you.

Thank Funnell5ir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanht3, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your tasting with us
I love to make jams and chutneys from the orchards on the vineyard to sell them in the tasting room. I also use many of them on our platters.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Visited Martinborough with no real plans for the Saturday. Unfortunately we had trouble ordering food or platters anywhere and were recommended we visit here. We ordered the cheese and meat platter for $40 with a couple of glasses of wine.

The white wine was served warm and judging by the lack of condensation on the glasses of those around us, their wines were also warm.

The platter was tasty enough, served on glassware from the 90's. The owners seemed lovely and friendly, wandering around chatting to people and checking that everyone was okay and had been informed of the food on their platter
(which included homemade chutneys).

Thank Emsy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanht3, Owner at Haythornthwaite Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thankyou for your comments.
We serve our white wines at 12 degrees so that you are able to taste the flavours. Wine coming straight out of the fridge is at 4 degrees so all you can taste is the cold.
As they warm up in the glass they will get a little warmer and the aroma and flavours will appear..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haythornthwaite Wines also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Been to Haythornthwaite Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing