We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful New Premises on the Sqauare”
Review of Siam Kitchen - MOVED

Siam Kitchen
Price range: USD 8 - USD 16
Cuisines: Thai
Description: Thai dine-in or takeaways. Lunch starts from 11am - 3pm and dinner starts from 5pm - 9.30pm. BYO Wine only where corkage fee is $5 per bottle.
Restaurant details
Description: Thai dine-in or takeaways. Lunch starts from 11am - 3pm and dinner starts from 5pm - 9.30pm. BYO Wine only where corkage fee is $5 per bottle.
Reviewed 23 October 2015

Great consistent quality food every time we visit. Siam Kitchen is now open on the square in Martinborough with easy parking. Beautiful decorating in their new restaurant with more seating.

2  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2015

Siam Kitchen has just moved premises into the Martinborough Square. They maybe hadn't counted on so many customers with their better profile but our experience was a disaster.

Although the in house dining wasn't that busy the Takeaway customers made waiting times very slow.

One of our mains was a stir-fry with cashews, there wasn't a single cashew on the plate. When we complained they offered to re-cook but as we had waited so long we said not to bother.
The other main was fine but as we were almost finished the waiter arrived apologetically with another cashew stirfry. We declined. It might have been better to have just bought us a plate of roasted cashews in the first place.

Then at paying time we had to queue behind take-away customers placing orders or paying for their orders. Not good enough Siam Kitchen, you need to get organised to better serve your in-house dining customers. Don't think we'll be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Whakat1k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatcharan S, Manager at Siam Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Thank you for dining with us. We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience from dining on table table number 4 for 2 people on Friday night 10th Oct which was ou firsr night on the new premises.

It was a very, very busy night so we had a lot of takeaway orders in the queue to cook and in house dining was very busy as well. We don't think that what you said is right at all. Please don't try to blame us when you didn't know what was going on behind the house.

Yes, it was our mistake that one of our new staff delivered the wrong dish to your table, so it was not the cashew-nut stir-fry at all. That's why you didn't see any single nut. So when we realised the mistake, we went out to apology and offered you a new cashew-nut stir-fry which would be a new cooked dish not a "re-cooked dish" as you had finish half of the dish already. But you might have been too angry to understand our offer that's why you turned the offer down. We didn't want to give you cashew nuts on the side at first place because, as mentioned, it was not a cashew nut dish you had so we wanted to cook you the correct one. Then we gave another offer to you to try to make you happy by offering that you wouldn't get charged on cashew-nut stir-fry dish which we made a mistake on. You then accepted the offer.

We had been very polite to you and trying to solve the problem, but you were rude to us. You said "Hopeless" to us despite we had been trying to satisfy you.

When you are paying your bill, of cause you have to be in a queue as first come first serve because we only have one till and one eftpos machine, like other restaurants do, that was why you were waiting to pay the bill behind other of our dine-in and takeaway customers.

When you were paying, you didn't want to pay in full for the rest of the bill as well despite we had taken cashew-nut stir-fry dish off your bill. You were quite rude to us on the pay.

We had done our best to satisfy you.
We are happy if you don't want to come back anymore.

Thank yo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Delicious food cooked in gas woks. The staff were polite and calm despite an electrical fault that meant there was no lighting in the restaurant or electricity in the kitchen that night. The tables were lit with candles, the food arrived very quickly and it was delicious. I would particularly recommend the Rogan Josh and the Butter Chicken.

The same group of friends and I have also had delicious takeaways from them in 2013.

Open daily for dinner from 4.30pm. In winter closed on Mondays. Dine in or takeaway/BYO wine only.

Phone 06 3088068 Email: siamkitchen@hotmail.com


Visited: 20 June 2015

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank 922Wellingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Authentic thai takeaways pretty promptly delivered considering only their 2nd day in new premises. Friendly service and good sized portions.

3  Thank SKinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Food was an amazing and authentic Thai experience and we didn't expect this outside of a main city. We ordered the prawn fried rice, thinking we would get the usual fried rice with a few small prawns thrown in- we were wrong, we ended up getting some of the best cooked prawns ever!
Great service and all other dishes were 5 stars!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank katmroczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Siam Kitchen also viewed

Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing