We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Beach Backpackers
Onslow, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a location!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This was the first place I stayed in Oz and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was good with tea/coffee facilites, lockers and a fridge. Location was amazing, right on the beach. Atmosphere could be better as there are a lot of people who have been there for a few months and have already made their groups of friends. The biggest problem I had was lack of air con as it was over 40 degrees when we stayed, but hey you can't have everything. Internet may seem expensive but it is about the same price throughout Perth from what I have seen. Would definately go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquelle686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    23
    16
    8
    10
See reviews for
1
23
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bialystok, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We booked with my wife mixed dorm for 6 nights. First problem : the crew is really rude and unhelpful. When i asked about public transportation i've heard "I have got a car, i don't give a damn a about public transport". Every question which i asked were too hard for them. Next thing we booked mixed dorm, but they put us in male dorm. The room was really dirty and small, with all stuff around on the floor. A lot of cacroches, be careful. People staying in the hostel mostly are people who live there, not so many tourist around, just people who live there for couple of months. No internet connection from the hostel, you can have a free wi fi from the cafe next to the hostel from 9am to 14pm.
Only one thing for plus - location, the rest is terrible, totally NOT reccommend come there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozlanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cottesloe hotels

Milton Keynes, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed here in Jan for 2 nights in a private room. The room was quite big and quite clean with a private bathroom. The hostel itself is quite big but I imagine as a result of this it could get quite busy in the kitchens at peak times. You had to pay a refundable deposit to hire crockery and the internet was quite pricey.
The location of the hostel was great, right on the beach front but about a half hour bus ride to the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcuff1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This hostel is right on Cottesloe beach which is absolutely beautiful. There were also lots of jobs available in the hostel and the local area which were always advertised on the notice board. We were in a private room and our room was thoroughly cleaned and our bedding changed every 4 days and our towels were replaced and very clean every 2 days. The bike hire was fairly expensive however you can hire body boards snorkels etc for free which was a big bonus for us. Laundry facillities were also good value. Only downside is that our bedroom was facing the courtyard and this was very noisy at night, especially if staff had the left the light on as it meant as soon as they had gone home the drinking circles started up (despite this being an alcohol free hostel).

Room Tip: Rooms away from the courtyard will probably be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliott86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Ocean Beach Hostel is brilliant.

Very clean throughout, friendly staff, great all rounder!

The place is literally a minutes walk from the beach and you get the proper Australian feel for the place.

Being close to the beach does seem to attract a few undesirables to the place - but they are dealt with the correct way and evicted swiftly!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottesloe
0.1 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
217 reviews
0.5 km away
The Cottesloe Beach Hotel
The Cottesloe Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cottesloe
162 reviews
10.8 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
418 reviews
8.1 km away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
207 reviews
11.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Perth
Crowne Plaza Perth
#19 of 65 in Perth
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cottesloe

Been to Ocean Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Backpackers

Property: Ocean Beach Backpackers
Address: 1 Eric St, Cottesloe, Western Australia 6011, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cottesloe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cottesloe
Price range (per night): $24 - $107
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Backpackers Hotel Cottesloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing