We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Chateau Yering
AU$509
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
AU$482
Fully refundable before Wed, 13 Mar
Breakfast included
Agoda.com
AU$384
Fully refundable before Thu, 14 Mar
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
271
96
39
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
271
96
39
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yarra valley old world charm special occasion attention to detail beautiful room beautiful property comfy bed cellar door suite wine weekend courses tasting couch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2023

My third trip to Chateau Yering. As always a pleasure. The staff knew my name, saved my favorite breakfast table. Accommodated a special booking for dinner. And I was happily surprised to find a card in my room with a local treat as this was a visit for special occasion.
Their disabled bathrooms are amazing. The rooms have old world charm. A claw foot tub,not found in many places.
The autumn trees a sight that must me seen.

I have already booked Christmas.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2023

Stayed here for 2 nights. The Chateau has heaps of history and the rooms are huge. Tons of hot water. The meals were excellent and staff were accommodating with meal requests. All staff were eager to assist and are very pleasant. Will come again. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AussieRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2023

We had a 2 night stay at Chateau Yering as a catch up for old work colleagues. There were some initial problems ( very poor attitude and communication from one reception staff member who caused issues with our booking and meals ). These were quickly rectified quickly by Vince & his colleagues. He and the dark haired front of house person were excellent . So too were the restaurant and bar staff. However, the place is very very run down . It was very disappointing . The cost per night was $400 (inc breakfast only ). It is more expensive that the 5 star hotels in the city but is no where near the standard.
It is the frayed couches, worn out mechanics and dated interiors that results in the place not making the grade any longer and needs a huge revamp . The computers were not working the entire time we were there despite many staff doing their best to repair the system . It meant that staff were diverted from doing their proper roles and the service suffered as a result ( I stress staff were not to blame but were in fact trying their hardest to sort out ongoing problems that were just beyond their control). We ordered the degustation menu with matching wines . As a result of staff being called to do other roles i.e.fix computer system, our wines did not match the course and arrived late , leaving us with cold food while we waited for the wine . Further , the TV in my room did not work properly, I also felt that the breakfast was a disappointment. Usually I would expect a buffet of fruit, cereal , juice, toast and bakery items and then also have a hot selection to order as part of the breakfast ( the cost was listed as $35 pp) . However it was one section of breakfast item and one hot drink according to the menu .That was all. We were offered juice but it was unclear if this would be extra or included . A similar issue happened with the second coffee . There were no newspapers on the first day but some on the weekend day. The food was mostly very good especially from Eleanor's restaurant . A charcuterie board that we ordered was quite lean in the quantity and some of the meats were not very nice ( this was the order that was messed up ) and required additional items to be ordered . In short great staff ( except for the cranky blonde woman on reception ) , nice food that was a bit light on in serving sizes, but terrible surroundings .

Room tip: ground floor - I didn't see any lifts
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DrDer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2022

The property: beautiful, well maintained, everything works and shines. Spotlessly clean, no matter where you look (common areas, meal spaces, gardens, etc). Strong attention to detail. Excellent breakfast included. Free secure parking. Well located within the Yarra Valley, so you can visit its attractions by short drives.

The rooms: quiet, super comfortable, great air-conditioning and lighting, all you can possibly need already provided, so you don't need to ask for that extra pillow, blanket, chair or anything else. Again, spotless.

Bathrooms: beautiful, all toiletries and necessities taken care of. Again, cleanliness was impeccable.

The staff: professional, very attentive but never intrusive. The whole thing functions as a coordinated, perfectly-oiled machine. Julia at breakfast and Anne at reception excel at delivering exceptional customer service. And the cleaning team that attends to the bedrooms/bathrooms: score 10 out of 10.

Disliked · Eleonore's restaurant. Booked 2 months in advance via email, stating allergies/dietary restrictions. Once the meals were served I had to return them, as my requirements were overlooked. Of course they fixed it on the spot but the dishes took a very long time to show up again. The Christmas Eve fixed menu (at $120 per person) was simply awful. First course: a "French onion soup" was in fact two tablespoons of clear broth, a few cold cubes of cheese floating around and a small square of bread in the middle (what was THAT?). Second course: beef (already sliced and therefore cold), a good mushroom sauce and nine chips (exactly like the ones you can get at your local fish & chips shop) but displayed in an artful tower-style. Desert: a chocolate-orange tart with a liquidy filling, didn't taste of orange or chocolate with a tiny side of ice cream and a flower. Very disappointed.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia_G_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2022

What a shame this beautiful Country House hotel has been so badly neglected, lacking any of the hallmarks of its previous position at the very top of my list of places to visit in the Yarra Valley. It started with the road closure preventing access to the hotel and no one attempted to contact us to let us know.
A restaurant we had booked during our visit to the area did though hence we found out there was going to be a problem.

When we arrived we were berated by the front desk person for parking at Reception so we could unload our bags which was how we were greeted. At this point I was astonished with the dreadful attitude but I’m afraid it gets worse.

We had booked dinner in the restaurant and we’re forced to sit through a 5 course degustation that was some of the worst food I have ever eaten all of which was served cold. At a $150 per head for food only I was astounded at just how bad it was.

The second night we were told our only option to eat was to go back to the restaurant for 5 more courses of dreadful cold food so we asked about the room service menu and we literally chastised for suggesting we might want to order in room dining. There was only a bowl of chips and a couple of snacks on that menu so don’t plan to eat other than at the over priced restaurant which ONLY offers a 5 course preset menu which comes out cold. With no access to the towns around it we had no options the second night other than 2 bowls of fries which we were chastised for ordered at 7:30pm because room service is only available until 8pm so they weren’t sure the kitchen could accomodate us.

Of course the breakfast must be mentioned although we only had it b the first day as it was so bad we couldn’t face it again but never have I experienced semi raw poached eggs, raw bacon that was stone cold on bread that was soggy from the raw eggs and untoasted with the most disgusting cold mashed mushrooms. Who the hell mashes mushrooms?

Not able to eat any of that we were going to opt for pastries but earlier risers had eaten them all and apparently they can’t be restocked for those who arrive an hour after breakfast service begins.

The $630 per night Tarif for the room was fine as it was lovely but the veranda and outdoor furniture was so filthy we felt a bit ripped off there too.

It’s sad to find a grand old lady reduced to a skeleton of her former glory, needless to say we won’t be back.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DTDCTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews