We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
126MT

Mount William Station was amazing with all the luxuries - perfect for events, groups, families and couples

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Aug 2023
Mount William Station exceeded all our expectations, accommodation was warm and cosy with all the luxuries, facilities and much more (pool, sauna, tennis court, golf putting green), food incredibly delicious, hosts and staff were incredibly friendly making us feel so welcome. All on the doorsteps of a tourism icon of Grampians with spectacular panoramic views, sunrise and sunsets. Perfect for events, groups, families and couples. Amazing, we'll be back!
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: Amazing walks and treks around Grampians!
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$666
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Mount William Station
Lake Bolac Motel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$117
  • Booking.com
34.8 km from Mount William Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
We often have kangaroos come and visit us
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
35.3 km from Mount William Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
Redgum Log Cottage
Contact accommodation for availability.
32.6 km from Mount William Station
Free parking
Four new safari tents, installed Set 2019. The best view in the world!
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
30.9 km from Mount William Station
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
31.8 km from Mount William Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
35.8 km from Mount William Station
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
35.7 km from Mount William Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
36.1 km from Mount William Station
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Willaura
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
9
0
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef dean shearer fireplace property grampians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2023

We recently had the absolute pleasure to stay at Mount William Station for a weekend and enjoyed every single moment there. The grounds are beautiful, the main house is quite charming and oh so comfortable! The food was AMAZING and the service top-notch. From the front of house staff to the Chef and upper management, everyone treated us as if we were royalty, minus the pretentiousness. Will and his team were extremely friendly, welcoming and warm, making us feel at home every step of the way. Chef Dean cooked incredible meals for us all with locally sourced ingredients (including some from the property itself) which were just full of flavour. We went for a tour of the grounds and learned some history about the place, went for hikes in the Grampians, lounged by the pool, chilled by the fireplace with a cocktail every single night and chatted to other guests. It was simply perfect! If you're looking for a relaxing holiday or quick get away in Victoria, this Historic homestead is just the place. Go ahead and treat yourself :). We can't wait to be back!
PS
Oh and if you're looking for a wedding venue, MWS would be perfect for it with plenty of beautiful backdrops for your ceremony and reception. It's worth checking out.

Room tip: All rooms in the Homestead are great!
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationer602029
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2022

We decided to upgrade for a few nights from the Shearer’s Quarters and could’ve not been happier with our stay at the Homestead! First of all, the place itself is just gorgeous, full of history and beautiful antique details. We loved having Happy Hour in the Rhino Room, cozying up by the fireplace and sweating in the sauna. And the food! Chef Dean is amazing, our menus were exquisite on both nights. The Chirnside Suite was a dream – I can highly recommend booking it for that extra luxurious feel. Thank you so much for taking good care of us, cannot wait to visit again! The loveliest boutique hotel we’ve stayed at in Australia.

Room tip: Book the Chirnside!
Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandama95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2022

What an absolute gem! A rustic little place with all the modern comforts. Our highlights were the starry sky, cozy fireplace, Lake Anne and the cute sheep roaming around the area. We loved our stay – will definitely be back to explore more of the Grampians. Thank you!

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amandama95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2021

We were 3 families that stayed at Shearer’s quarters from 4th to 8th Jan (all up we were 14 of us). Unfortunately, the accommodation did not meet our expectations at all – the fridge was filthy inside and need a thorough clean before we could even think of putting any of our cooked food in there. There was an open (almost finished) ice cream tub in the freezer that had leaked out; freezer tray was sticky and dirty; there was leftover food and drink items that had been left by the previous occupants and that had not been cleared out before our arrival; coffee mugs in the cabinet that were not clean; inside of the microwave had splatters of something, inside of the kettle was black and needed a good scrub before use.

The property is huge and lovely which made us wander off to explore - only to be told that we were limited to where we could walk around to – no signs indicating the start or end of Shearer’s quarters property. The youngsters in our group were told not to play in a particular section as that was not part of Shearer’s quarters which limited them to play only in the “courtyard”.

The view from the kitchen window – not much of a view as all we could see was tall overgrown grass.

Overall, very disappointed with the cleanliness of the communal place. Rooms were basic but clean

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nishad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Abbott, Owner at Mount William Station, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2022

Hi Nishad,

Thanks for your review and we always appreciate feedback and looking for ways to improve. Apologies that your stay didn't meet expectations as we always strive to give guests an amazing experience.

Regarding the fridge situation, sincere apologies that was missed by our local cleaner. In between lockdowns was extremely difficult for staffing however we have rectified that with a full-time back-of-house and support staff so both the Shearers Quarters and Homestead are at hotel standards reflecting their respective price points.

In relation to wandering off, we encourage guests to utilise the lake area for walking and playing which is only 150m away. However, it is best if guests don't head off in the opposite direction and enter and play on our neighbours farm which is separate from the Quarters. We have endeavored to reiterate and make it clearer in the check-in message. Apologies if this was not the case during your visit.

We hope you can come back one day and see the continued improvements to our offering and have a better stay. We can collectively organise a cricket game and I can help create a really nice spot together beside the lake for your family to enjoy.

Thank you again for the feedback. Please feel free to reach out to me personally should you have any questions or comments.

Kind regards,

Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews