We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Amanda
Tampere, Finland

Charming and luxurious – the quintessential Australian experience!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Dec 2022
We decided to upgrade for a few nights from the Shearer’s Quarters and could’ve not been happier with our stay at the Homestead! First of all, the place itself is just gorgeous, full of history and beautiful antique details. We loved having Happy Hour in the Rhino Room, cozying up by the fireplace and sweating in the sauna. And the food! Chef Dean is amazing, our menus were exquisite on both nights. The Chirnside Suite was a dream – I can highly recommend booking it for that extra luxurious feel. Thank you so much for taking good care of us, cannot wait to visit again! The loveliest boutique hotel we’ve stayed at in Australia.
Date of stay: December 2022
Room Tip: Book the Chirnside!
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$782
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$666
  • Vio.com
    AU$782
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Mount William Station
Lake Bolac Motel
AU$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$108
  • Agoda.com
    AU$99
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
34.8 km from Mount William Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
    AU$133
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
30.3 km from Mount William Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$130
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$130
  • Agoda.com
    AU$130
  • Vio.com
    AU$130
30.6 km from Mount William Station
Free parking
Restaurant
Large room and bed
AU$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$160
  • Hotels.com
    AU$153
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
30.9 km from Mount William Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$152
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$152
  • Expedia.com
    AU$152
  • Hotels.com
    AU$152
30.5 km from Mount William Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sign & External
AU$135
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$135
  • Expedia.com
    AU$138
  • Hotels.com
    AU$135
30.4 km from Mount William Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • Priceline
    AU$140
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
31.5 km from Mount William Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$125
  • Expedia.com
    AU$135
  • Hotels.com
    AU$135
30.7 km from Mount William Station
Free parking
AU$95
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$95
  • Expedia.com
    AU$95
  • Hotels.com
    AU$95
32.7 km from Mount William Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Willaura
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
9
0
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef dean shearer fireplace property grampians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2022

What an absolute gem! A rustic little place with all the modern comforts. Our highlights were the starry sky, cozy fireplace, Lake Anne and the cute sheep roaming around the area. We loved our stay – will definitely be back to explore more of the Grampians. Thank you!

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amandama95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2021

We were 3 families that stayed at Shearer’s quarters from 4th to 8th Jan (all up we were 14 of us). Unfortunately, the accommodation did not meet our expectations at all – the fridge was filthy inside and need a thorough clean before we could even think of putting any of our cooked food in there. There was an open (almost finished) ice cream tub in the freezer that had leaked out; freezer tray was sticky and dirty; there was leftover food and drink items that had been left by the previous occupants and that had not been cleared out before our arrival; coffee mugs in the cabinet that were not clean; inside of the microwave had splatters of something, inside of the kettle was black and needed a good scrub before use.

The property is huge and lovely which made us wander off to explore - only to be told that we were limited to where we could walk around to – no signs indicating the start or end of Shearer’s quarters property. The youngsters in our group were told not to play in a particular section as that was not part of Shearer’s quarters which limited them to play only in the “courtyard”.

The view from the kitchen window – not much of a view as all we could see was tall overgrown grass.

Overall, very disappointed with the cleanliness of the communal place. Rooms were basic but clean

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nishad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Abbott, Owner at Mount William Station, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2022

Hi Nishad,

Thanks for your review and we always appreciate feedback and looking for ways to improve. Apologies that your stay didn't meet expectations as we always strive to give guests an amazing experience.

Regarding the fridge situation, sincere apologies that was missed by our local cleaner. In between lockdowns was extremely difficult for staffing however we have rectified that with a full-time back-of-house and support staff so both the Shearers Quarters and Homestead are at hotel standards reflecting their respective price points.

In relation to wandering off, we encourage guests to utilise the lake area for walking and playing which is only 150m away. However, it is best if guests don't head off in the opposite direction and enter and play on our neighbours farm which is separate from the Quarters. We have endeavored to reiterate and make it clearer in the check-in message. Apologies if this was not the case during your visit.

We hope you can come back one day and see the continued improvements to our offering and have a better stay. We can collectively organise a cricket game and I can help create a really nice spot together beside the lake for your family to enjoy.

Thank you again for the feedback. Please feel free to reach out to me personally should you have any questions or comments.

Kind regards,

Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC