We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Barry R
Bendigo, Australia

Very Bad/Excellent - Refer to Comments

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Apr 2024
Our 3 Star rate reflects ONLY on the Restuarant and, if it wasn't for the fantastic qualities of the Rooms, Comfort, Fitout and the service at Check in and the Reception, it would have been just 1 Star rate.
To start, the Restuarant Staff were in attentive, At breakfast on both the days we stayed there, Coffee ordered never arrived or arrived late. There appeared to be NO communication between the Staff as on 2 occasions we were told "oh, I told the other staff member to tell you there was no Milk"? Breakfast was a SHAMBLE. Having said that, the Chef (Nathan) was very attentive and was no only coking the meals, but serving them as well at breakfast whilst the Waiters were standing around????
A further mention was that signage for the Sebel is pretty poor with no direction to drive off the Maroondah Highway into the Hotel Reception and Guest Carpark. We over shot the Entrance twice.
Happy to chat with someone to elaborate on our experience.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Restuarant Waiting staff require a lot of training. Refer to my comments.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$279
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood
Free Wifi
Restaurant
LIVING
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfort Inn Ringwood Lake
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.5 km from The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood
Free parking
Restaurant
Other
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
0.4 km from The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood
Family / Twin Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.6 km from The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$240
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
AU$212
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$212
4.3 km from The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$210
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
5.2 km from The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dorset Gardens reception
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$160
  • Hotels.com
5.9 km from The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Ringwood
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
22
4
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
22
4
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was spacious every aspect blackout curtains great hotel secure parking short stay a great stay across the road orchard kitchenette fireplace staycation bowl nightclub suburb balcony luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2023

Great hotel, would definitely recommend. All staff were genuinely super friendly, food and drinks were great, room was clean and decor classy. Close to shops and transport. Freshly cooked breakfast and fast room service.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Explorer15607772773
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme Kuchmar, Owner at The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2023

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience during your stay at The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood. Our team takes great pride in providing excellent service, and it's wonderful to know that you found them genuinely super friendly. We're also delighted that you enjoyed our food and drinks, and that you found your room clean and the décor classy.

look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. If there's anything more we can do to make your next stay even better, please don't hesitate to let us know. Safe travels!

Kind regards,

The Sebel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2023 via mobile

Location is excellent. Shopping, train. Rooms were spotlessly clean and quiet. Dare I say obsessively well appointed, maintained and organised . (Or just first class training 🤔)
Every staff member encountered was polite, courteous and very helpful. And to top it off, the best bacon and eggs I’ve had in years.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 48haydenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme Kuchmar, Owner at The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2023

Dear 48Haydenc,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic experience during your stay with us.

We are truly grateful for your compliments about our staff. Providing exceptional service is our top priority, and it's heartwarming to hear that our team members were polite, courteous, and helpful throughout your stay. We will certainly pass on your praise to them.

And we're especially delighted to hear that you enjoyed our bacon and eggs! We believe that a good breakfast is the perfect start to the day, and we're thrilled that you found it to be the best in years.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood in the future. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

Kind Regards,
The Sebel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2023

I have stayed here multiple times for work, and it continues to deliver. The only let down this time was the restaurant has really fallen over, just awful but I will review that separately. The hotel rooms are still looking modern/new and the service is excellent.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyronical
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme Kuchmar, Owner at The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2023

Good afternoon,

Thank you for being a loyal guest and choosing to stay with us for your work trips. We truly value your continued support, and your feedback means a lot to us.

We're thrilled to hear that you find our hotel rooms modern and well-maintained. Our team takes great pride in providing a comfortable and welcoming environment for all our guests, and it's wonderful to know that our efforts have been noticed and appreciated.

However, we are sorry to learn about your disappointment with the restaurant during your recent stay. We apologize for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction you experienced in that regard. Your feedback is essential to us, and we will be looking into the issues you faced to understand what went wrong and make necessary improvements.


Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next work trip and providing you with an even better experience.

Should you have any other concerns or suggestions, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly.

Kind regards,
The Sebel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2023 via mobile

This place is excellent it’s a small boutique style hotel and everyone is friendly and helpful. You won’t go wrong staying here. It’s centrally located and easy to get to. They have a lovely al-a-carte breakfast which is a nice change from a buffet.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank SeekerAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme Kuchmar, Owner at The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2023

Good afternoon,

Thank you for staying with us at The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us,
We love hearing from our guests.
We will let our staff know about your kind words.

Thank you again and we hope your next stay with us will be just as wonderful as your last.

Kind regards,
The Sebel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2023

Pro: New, modern, comfy beds, friendly staff, nice foyer with fireplace.

Cons: The rooms at the back are adjacent to the train line, soundproofing does help, sound is quite muffled but it would have been nice to be told.

The onsite Orchard Restaurant looks great, modern, stylish and great ambience but that’s where it ends. The food that the ‘cook’ (could not call the person a Chef) provided was extremely basic.
For $36 I got a just warm $5 Aldi scotch fillet (really poor quality piece of meat), a big serve of silky mash (nice) and the Mushroom Sauce consisted of maybe 3 teaspoons of pan juice with one (1) paper thin sliver of mushroom placed on top of the steak. That’s it!!! It was the most expensive plate of mash ever.

I complained and was offered a free dessert or drink, which I declined to accept, getting something for free was not why I complained.

Whomever is responsible for the content of food on the plate and quality of the produce used in the restaurant needs to fix the problem.

The Orchard was all ambience and promise but zero substance. A very very disappointing experience (we drove 8 hours from NSW to get there for a family function)

So, would we stay at The Sebel, Ringwood again??? Definitely, but we would not eat again in the restaurant.

Room tip: Train line at back of Hotel, room sound proofed but if you are a light sleeper, ask for a front room. Restaurant food quality poor.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kerrich77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme Kuchmar, Owner at The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Sebel Melbourne Ringwood, and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We value your honest input and apologize for the disappointments you experienced during your stay.

We are sorry to hear that the rooms at the back, which are adjacent to the train line, were not as peaceful as expected. We will make sure to improve our communication regarding room locations to avoid any similar inconveniences for our guests in the future.

Regarding your dining experience at our Orchard Restaurant, we sincerely apologize for the quality of the food and the portion you received. Our goal is to provide a delightful culinary experience, and it is evident that we fell short on this occasion. Your feedback about the lack of substance in the dish will be shared with our team for immediate review and improvements.

Your satisfaction is essential to us, and we will take your comments seriously to address the issues you raised and ensure a more enjoyable dining experience for all our guests.

We are delighted to hear that despite the restaurant experience, you still find our hotel accommodations and service worthy of returning. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits.

Please feel free to reach out to us directly if you have any further concerns or if there's anything specific you would like us to address.

Kind regards,
The Sebel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews