We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lisa S
Lisa Stone
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Sept 2019
My partner booked the Balinese resort as a birthday gift to me. I can honestly say this is the absolute, hands down, best place I have ever stayed at. The staff were exceptional. So very pleasant, helpful and accommodating. The resort itself was just jaw dropping. Everything has been thought of that can possible make your stay more enjoyable. The food was just mouth watering. Could not fault anything about any of the meals. They were so tasty and satisfying and full of flavour. But I think the one thing that was very obvious to me was the effort to create a beautifully calm ambiance throughout the whole retreat. This was complimented by our massage and soak in our hot tub. We left this place completely relaxed, satisfied and buzzing about what we had just experienced. And just to top things off my partner surprised me with a marriage proposal. This was the perfect place to get engaged.
Obviously can’t recommend this place highly enough. We will definitely be back!!!
Date of stay: August 2019
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Official Hotel Site
    0.0 km from Balinese Retreat
    Free parking
    Pool
    Foothills conference centre deluxe twin share
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$162
    • Hotels.com
    2.9 km from Balinese Retreat
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Lochiel Original Cottage Master Bedroom
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$370
    • Priceline
    5.4 km from Balinese Retreat
    Free parking
    Spa
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    11.9 km from Balinese Retreat
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    6.4 km from Balinese Retreat
    Free parking
    Spa
    Front Shot External
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    20.3 km from Balinese Retreat
    Fitness centre
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    12.3 km from Balinese Retreat
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Montrose
    Reviews (50)
    Filter reviews
    50 results
    Traveller rating
    44
    1
    0
    4
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    44
    1
    0
    4
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 50 reviews
    Reviewed 3 July 2019

    My patner and i stayed there for 3 days/2nights and didn't leave the grounds. Amazing staff, amazing rooms, amazing food, amazing retreat room. Overall AMAZING!
    The japanese room was a real experience with an inroom spa and a japanese styled bed. The gardens and views are amazing and with a just few minutes away from the Dandenong rangers, it's ideal for a great weekend getaway.

    Room tip: The Japanese room was great, inhouse spa and Japanese styled bed
    Date of stay: September 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank MariaPetros
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 25 November 2018

    From arrival to departure treated like royalty. On arrival we were greeted and checked in at the reception to be then taken to a cocktail bar where we relaxed with a glass of wine looking over the magnificent views of trees lorikeet birds flying in for an afternoon feed.
    We started our stay with a yummy Yum Cha and our gorgeous waitress who looked after our every need. The reception staff came back to complete our breakfast and tell us all about what was to happen during our stay. We were then whisked to the spa which was like a place you would find in Dubai. When we walked in, we were greeted by a therapist that seated us and we discussed the treatment although what was explained was just so much more. I recommend the Arabian Journey as it was hours of pure bliss.

    We were picked up and taken to our first night in the private Bali Villa with an amazing romantic room with roses and petals scattered over our bed a lovely bathroom with a huge window looking over a feature garden, a kitchen that we could use to cook but we felt not necessary as they thought of everything. Full of little treats for us and a coffee machine big plus!
    We were able to snuggle together on one of large day beds at the back in the large lounge room and watched a move on Foxtel, drank wine and enjoyed a cheese platter.
    Oh yes, pure bliss unfortunately we had to move on to enjoy the happy hour after total relaxation we had a short stroll to be greeted for a pre-dinner cocktail which was so good we had two. We sat again looking over the garden and as night fell the garden and trees came alive with by coloured lights.

    Dinner service by two gorgeous waitress that explained the food and the wine. (To mention a great selection and you can take a bottle to your room)

    We had Yellow fin Tuna and salad followed by poached coconut chicken with lemongrass and almond mango tart for our dessert, but then to follow that we got a birthday cake and a card. Nice touch

    After a lovely dinner we strolled down the hill to immerse ourselves in our steaming hot tub and sip champagne under the stars.
    Day 2
    Waking up in our amazing room (King Size Bed) we opened the large doors to hear a waterfall outside thinking about the day and what we would do next. Breakfast! Fresh juice and Main Event wow talk about brilliant food! Back to soak in the hot tub then back to the spa for a facial which we booked in the morning over breakfast. So easy just strolling in bathrobes from your room to the spa. We were so happy they moved all our luggage to the Japanese Retreat while we were busy being pampered!
    So, when we finished, we were transported to Japan all without jetlag….

    We had a totally different outlook of expansive lawn and a feature lake while on our deck in the sunken hot tub under our large umbrella sheltered from some light rain which just made it so much more!
    Our bathroom also had a Japanese spa bath with a feature garden that we did not use but we will next time!

    We then fished with some wine and a board game and read a little book that shared guests own person experiences. We decided to leave our own message to all the staff for showing us an amazing relaxing time but had to share with you all that it’s well worth the visit to this amazing hidden Gem!

    With great wineries in the area the reception staff arranged a car and we headed out for dinner our second night which was lovely but after our first night’s dinner we wished we had stayed at the resort after hearing from other guests the next day of what they had for dinner.

    Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful experience we will share with our friends and family and see you again soon

    Best wishes,
    Di & Matt

    Room tip: Balinese totally private, large, romantic, heated floor, amazing views
    Date of stay: November 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank Happpytraveller1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 August 2018

    I surprised my partner with one night at the Balinese Retreat. The property is absolutely stunning and beautifully landscaped, I'd guess it's around 5 acres of lush grounds. The retreat feels very private and secluded, the cedar hot tub is lovely. The retreat has heated floors which are wonderful in winter, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on. Beautiful bath inside with a floor to ceiling window. It's exactly as depicted on the website - though was bigger than I expected when we arrived. No expenses have been spared with furnishings and landscaping, it really was breathtaking. The food was amazing as well - the ganache dessert was to die for. We also had a one hour massage which was really lovely, better than most massages I've had. Will be saving my pennies to return for a special occasion!

    Date of stay: August 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank RhiannasTravelBug
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

    What an incredible 3 days! After a stressful few years my wife booked us for a 2-night stay at the Balinese Retreat to celebrate my birthday. It was bliss!

    In our package was a private bathe in the Roman Bathhouse on the first day followed by a couples massage, and the second day was a bathe in the Japanese Mineral Pool followed by a Moroccan Hamam Spa treatment (body scrub, steam room with mud for you to apply to one another, then a massage). They were heavenly!

    The grounds are paradise. We woke to the sounds of Kookaburras laughing & Magpies warbling each day. Having stayed in Bali a number of times, this retreat captures the spiritual essence of a ‘Bali that was’ before commercial interests overtook preservation of their culture. The retreat is stunning, with an indoor plunge pool and shower, a stunning view from your bed of a private lake & waterfall, and from your lounge of another private lake with a dining gazebo and hot tub. The heated tiles of the floor was a special treat - you could leave your robe on the floor beside the bed and when you went to put it on it was pre-warmed for you 😍. No expense was spared in caring for you. The mini bar was complimentary, including cheese and dips, and was replenished each day. When you arrive the rose petals, chocolates and roses tell you that you are about to be pampered!

    We both felt the secret to the retreat and spa is the love, friendly smiles, & passion the staff put into everything. The massages are divine, the grounds are stunning - everywhere you look, and the meals are exquisite.

    We were advised to arrive early to have a spa treatment before check in and it was such a great way to arrive. We had lunch then a 2 hour treatment and it felt like we’d had an extra full day at the retreat.

    To escape to paradise for 2 days, and truly relax & recharge - we couldn’t recommend a better retreat 😍😍😍

    Date of stay: June 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank GRANT AND LISA S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

    Carolina was so helpful & lovely helping me to book I the accommodation, she helped me find the perfect package, the tranquility. Our arrival was wonderful & welcoming with a welcome drink then off to the Balinese retreat. It was beyond our expectation, just perfect. We had a lovely massage at the spa then a little later enjoyed a romantic 3 course dinner in the oriental lounge. We spent an hour in the hot tub and were so relaxed we slept so peaceful listening to the sounds of the waterfall outside. We woke early to enjoy a walk around the retreat, had a delicious 2 course breakfast before getting back in the hot tub and enjoying the beautiful views. Michael was attentive, helpful & very funny. He also made our stay exceptional. We will definitely be back again. 10/10 for the whole experience. Thank you so much

    Date of stay: April 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank jacs4040
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Deborah Q, Owner at Balinese Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

    Thank you so much for your kind words, we are glad you had an amazing time during your stay.

    We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us

    And we truly have great people on our team! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward seeing you again in the future!

    Regards,

    Layla & Japanese Mountain Retreat Staff

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews