We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artdeco Tea Rooms ”
Review of Mary Eats Cake

Mary Eats Cake
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Montrose
Price range: AU$42 - AU$92
Description: Specialty High Tea venue serving the most delicious high tea for small groups and large functions! We have the fluffiest scones In Melbourne!
Restaurant details
Description: Specialty High Tea venue serving the most delicious high tea for small groups and large functions! We have the fluffiest scones In Melbourne!
Reviewed 27 September 2023

Artdeco house turned into tearooms.
Unique high tea experience in this lovely home.
High tea choices or you can order from the menu.
Many different rooms to use for special occasions .
Nice place for afternoon tea.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sophia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2023 via mobile

I had been to the Brunswick Mary Eats Cake but this one is much more spacious and has a lovely atmosphere. We had the Mary package at $74 a head. It had a very nice selection of savouries and cakes and unlimited tea and scones. Service began very well but became less and less attentive the longer we were there. We waited a very long time for more scones and then there wasn’t enough jam and cream. We also only had one tiny plate each for the whole service . It would have been nice to be given a clean one.
A lovely place for high tea just needs a little better service.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank andream0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2023

Great place for High Tea or lunch. We, five of us, went for a quick lunch before a musical performance in Montrose.
Gorgeous decor, attentive staff---and packed! Most people seemed to be having high tea, all of which looked yummy. I'll be going back for that soon!
We chose from the Brunch menu, all delicious. I had corn fritters with a delectable salad and smoked salmon. Beautiful!
They also have a range of teas for sale, and other products. I'll be going there to purchase some for presents.
It's easy to find and has ample parking. You will need to book.

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judyfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2023 via mobile

Lovely afternoon with my favourite ladies for our collective birthdays. Excellent service, delicious food and a good combination of sweet and savoury. The scones are fat and fluffy! The selection of teas was impressive - we tried 3 different ones. Delightful way to spend an afternoon.

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary Eats Cake Bookings Team, Other at Mary Eats Cake, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2023

Hi Jackie,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review! I am delighted you loved the fluffy scones, they are delicious! We hope to see you all again soon. Best wishes Carly @ Mary Eats Cake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2022

Spent a wonderful afternoon indulging in High Tea with girlfriends for Christmas. Friendly staff, very helpful and attentive. Scones were absolutely delicious & they just kept coming
Highly recommend for High Tea, the place is beautifully decorated and a great atmosphere

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank Alybarba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Calista T-H, Marketing at Mary Eats Cake, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2022

I am delighted to read you had a wonderful time indulging in High Tea! We love what we do and am so glad the staff were able to help you. Thank you for the recommendation :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary Eats Cake also viewed

Montrose, Victoria
Montrose, Victoria
 

Been to Mary Eats Cake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.