We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
18251825
London, United Kingdom

TERRIBLE breakfast at Mercure Doncaster

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 May 2024via mobile
Took advantage of the breakfast deal at Mercure Doncaster for locals. It was meant to be $25 per person and got charged $35 upon arrival. This had to be the WORST buffet breakfast we have ever had and we travel frequently. There was one cook catering for the whole restaurant. The poor guy was run off his feet. He couldn’t keep up with the demand and yet he just soldiered on. Hats off to him. He was doing a good job. As for the other staff, they could see he was under pressure and yet chose to chat at the front bar rather than step in and help. There was no food. Things were running low or empty. Bread was stale. Had to go and ask for scrambled eggs, bacon, tomatoes to be replenished. Everything was empty. Waited ages for an omelette and it wasn’t even what we asked for. No cheeses. Empty juice jugs. Terrible customer service. No professionalism at all. All the staff need customer training to say the least. Expect better Accor. Very, very disappointing!
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Breakfast buffet is appalling
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Abbott, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Doncaster, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Staci H,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I believe our Director of Food & Beverage has reached out to you directly to discuss your feedback.
Thank you very much for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$137
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$137
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$137
0.5 km from Mercure Melbourne Doncaster
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Queen
AU$193
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$193
  • TiCATi.com
    AU$157
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Mercure Melbourne Doncaster
AU$128
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$116
  • Expedia.com
    AU$135
2.4 km from Mercure Melbourne Doncaster
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$114
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$114
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$114
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Mercure Melbourne Doncaster
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$118
  • Agoda.com
    AU$118
0.4 km from Mercure Melbourne Doncaster
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Mercure Melbourne Doncaster
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$197
  • Mercure
    AU$197
  • Expedia.com
    AU$197
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$197
0.0 km from Mercure Melbourne Doncaster
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$138
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$121
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
1.9 km from Mercure Melbourne Doncaster
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive 1 Bedroom Apartment
AU$375
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Hotels.com
    AU$382
  • Expedia.com
3.8 km from Mercure Melbourne Doncaster
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$189
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$189
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$189
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Mercure Melbourne Doncaster
Free Wifi
Room service
View more hotels in Doncaster
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
24
4
2
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
24
4
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great pool outdoor area an enjoyable stay stayed here gym jack isabella accor trent hill westfield reception city amenities function venue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2024

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Abbott, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2024

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 May 2024 via mobile

Several reasons for the eating average.
Room incredibly small, you couldn’t walk down the sides of the bed, had to shuffle sideways. Cut my elbow twice on the sharp corner of the bedside table during the night as it was pushed up against the bed and no option to move it. Only one bedside table. Only one chair although supposed to be a queen room. Air con was very slow to respond to changes in temperature. Like hours to cool the room.

Overall the room felt very claustrophobic.

Meals in restaurant very expensive although breakfast was great and a great price.

Charged a $7 surcharge on credit card but had to give a credit card for room bond even though everything was paid up front. Room parking and breakfast.

The hotel is newish and was lovely and clean and tidy.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katiepri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Abbott, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2024

Dear Katiepri,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay.
We have reached out to you directly to discuss your feedback in more detail.

Many thanks,
Cameron Abbott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2024

This review is for lunch at the restaurant.
Our restaurant server couldn’t be faulted. Unfortunately the overall experience didn’t meet expectations. There was dropped food (from breakfast?) under our table. Our drinks order took ages to arrive despite there only being 3 tables of guests in the restaurant . The hamburger was really disappointing with the meat patties being dry, overcooked and having an unpleasant texture. The fries were also overcooked.
The restaurant itself is modern but the design doesn’t serve well to dampen sound so that we could clearly hear the conversation at the next table. I can’t imagine how noisy it must be when it is full . The view itself is over the Westfield carpark.
I’m hoping to try the rooftop bar at night with the better view and hopefully better atmosphere .

Room tip: Parking underneath the hotel with tickets able to be validated. This advice was not provided at time of booking.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carmel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Abbott, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2024

Hi 513carmeld,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent experience at the Restaurant. Please allow me to express my apologies that we did not meet your expectations during your visit - this is certainly not our usual standard of service.
Please note that one of our Food & Beverage Team will be in contact soon to discuss your feedback in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024 via mobile

Wow this place is a hidden surprise. Next to Doncaster Westfield it’s above Bunnings but is like being in a 5 star property more like a Sofitel than a mecure.
Easy parking on arrival, great restaurant, amazing walk in pool and then you get to your room.
This design is modern, the beds you just sink into, wifi and Foxtel
I was shocked as it’s in Doncaster but as good as a five star city hotel
Highly recommend

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank samanthajoanne1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Abbott, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Thanks so much for your feedback samanthajoanne1974!

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed finding a hidden surprise!

We really do appreciate your Highly recommended endorsement and very much look forward to welcome you back soon!

With warm regards,


Cameron.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

WOW!! When I recently heard on the grapevine that the dining options at this incredible Mercure Melbourne Doncaster had elevated to and even higher level, I had to come check it out.

Any excuse to revisit one of the best hotels in Australia made my decision to visit for a few days an easy choice. So after a year all I can say is Fantastic. In addition to the existing stupendous rooms and facilities, finished with the highest of materials and quality the revamped dining will impress and satisfy the most discerning diner.

In fact the fare on offer will excite any foodie and tick any culinary desire and truely take you on a fulfilling and satisfying dining adventure! Cudos to the team from executive chef Daryl to the most professional team of chefs toiling over every detail of your meal selection. The finest and freshest of ingredients shine with every morsel. Oysters! Whagu fillet, sirloin, roast chicken, spectacular king fish, salmon and salads, the choices go on and on.

The 5 or 7 course tasting plates or the plethora of other dining options guarantees options regardless of tastes.

As always the rooms are amazing. The facilities including the pool, gym and inside and outside lounge space offer the hotel guest many places to relax or catch up with friends or even to conduct some business in an informal setting.

The hotel also provides more formal business gathering spaces of the most professional standards(including access to great coffee!).

At the helm the most welcoming GM Mr Cameron rallies the most warm and profession staff. Ms Susan from f&b with Clair, Stephanie, Lily, Daniela along with Kimie and Nicholas in dining.

Huge thank you also front office angels inculibg Elle and it has been an incredibly hard decision to declare my team member of the stay but on this occasion my award goes to the most lovely Kaki who went over and beyond to deliver the most professional, courteous and kind service!

In summary the Mercure Melbourne Doncaster delivers exceptional accommodation within reach of Melbourne CBD by car or train , is incredibly well priced for the 5 star experience and is even easily accessible directly from Melbourne Airport with the local bus service 901 (about an hour or so).

On-site parking, great food, great staff and great rooms, beds and facilities, the Mercure. Is setting the standard for others to follow.
Well done everyone.
Mr Dean

Room tip: Reception is on level 3,
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dean_Cer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Abbott, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Dear Dean,
Thank you for your lovely review of Mercure Melbourne Doncaster.

It is so wonderful to read about your stay with us including the hotel facilities, your dining experience with both our team and the food, the guest rooms & of course the hotel facilities.

We are so privileged that you took the time to tell us, and name the team members you interacted with during your stay - I have been delighted to share this information with them and your lovely review.

This has acted as a type of encouragement within our team, to ensure we are continuously striving to improve each day.

Thank you for your lovely feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.

Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews