We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”
Review of Rosevears Hotel

Rosevears Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Rosevears
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Modern cuisine, local produce & stunning views. Relax overlooking the Tamar River when exploring the Tamar River Region. A 20 minute drive from Launceston but feels like a world away at the most picturesque waterfront location.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Great food, great staff, great atmosphere.
We stayed in the accomodation for two days and had meals in the hotel.
There is not a bad word I can say about Rosevears.

Thank Cez8254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Great hotel on the outskirts of Launceston overlooking the Tamar river. Food fabulous, great wine and very accommodating staff! A must visit when in Launceston.

Thank 573triciaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

It was our first night in Tasmania and we had dinner there. The food was nice. It was quiet but there was about four or five waiting staff on duty. Our main course was cleared and then we waited and waited. No one offered us a dessert menu or coffee even though they kept coming in and out. After about 15-20 minutes we gave up and went to pay our bill. We complained politely about the poor service and the duty Manager took $6 off our bill, then tried to charge us service charge. As we were leaving he and the barmaid were laughing about us .When I checked the bill the next day I found out why. We had been charged an extra $2 for each main course and the bottle of wine. I found out the Hotel Manager's name and sent him an email. It was ignored. We shall be complaining to the Tasmania Tourist Board.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren W, Front of House/Customer Relations at Rosevears Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear David,

I’m very sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience with us recently. We really appreciate your feedback, and hope that you will give us a chance to make it right.

I would like to take this chance to comment on a few things:

First of all, I do apologise for the delay in our response. Thankyou for your patience, and for taking the time to leave a review.

In regards to your dining experience, the standard which you have described is far below where we would like it to be, and how it usually is. We agree that asking your customers about dessert and coffee is essential. Rosevears Hotel is committed to ongoing staff training and continuous development, and will pass on this feedback to improve our service.

Rosevears Hotel, along with many other local cafes and restaurants, does have a 10% surcharge on Sundays and Public Holidays. Some restaurants will add the 10% at the bottom of the bill, and there are some systems which will add it to each item. A $20 meal on Sunday will have $22 displayed on the bill. If you ordered 2 meals and wine, there will be $2 added to each of those, even if a $6 discount has been applied. Although this 10% is displayed on the bottom of our menu’s, we will strive to provide good value and pass this information onto our customers so there are no more future misunderstandings with our food service charges.

I would also like to say thank you for commenting that you still enjoyed the food, and gave it an honest 4 stars.

Along with our sincerest apologies, we hope you don’t judge the entire business from this single experience. Feel free to reach out to me directly if you have any further questions or comments, or if there is anything that we can do to help remedy your experience.

Kind Regards,

Ren
Rosevears Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Was told by a local about this place and his rave review was spot on. Beautiful setting right on the Tamar River and a lovely meal without a hefty price tag.

Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren W, Front of House/Customer Relations at Rosevears Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Jenny!

Thank you for your rave review also!

We're pleased to hear that you had a great experience at Rosevears Hotel Restaurant.
Look forward to seeing you soon (We'll save you a window seat)

Kind Regards,

Ren
Rosevears Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Stopped in here for lunch while doing a few wine tastings on a public holiday. Lovely spot on the Tamar River with good fast service and tasty food. We both had the steak sandwich and chips. Steak was very tender and enjoyed the egg and salad on there too. Could have had some extra sauce as the chips were a bit dry. Overall, a good experience on what was a pretty busy day for staff. The young man with the spiky hair was very friendly.

Thank Julesmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren W, Front of House/Customer Relations at Rosevears Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Julesmac1!

Thanks for stopping in!

Ah yes, the Rosevears steak sandwich. One of my favourites.

Depending on how you like the chips, one tactical move is to dip them in the steak sandwich mayo and/or egg.
If all else fails, don't hesitate to ask one of our staff for a side of sauce, we'll be happy to help.

Glad to hear you had a great day with us at Rosevears Hotel, hope to see you again soon Julesmac1.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosevears Hotel also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Rosevears, Tasmania
 

Been to Rosevears Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing