We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue but needs to work on plating”
Review of FINO Seppeltsfield

FINO Seppeltsfield
Price range: AU$55 - AU$90
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Good Food Guide Awards 2020 - Awarded 1 Hat The Advertiser Newspaper Food Awards - Best Regional Restaurant (Winery) 2018 FINO is the epitome of progressive regional dining, nestled amongst the grand palm trees of the Barossa Valley within the rejuvenated grounds of the Seppeltsfield village. Directors Chef David Swain and front-of-house personality Sharon Romeo's philosophy is on the very best fresh, local and seasonal produce delivered in a selection of set price menus. Expect a convivial ambience on arrival and dine on expressive dishes such as Hutton Vale Lamb, dirt(y) inc chickpeas, currants and cavolo nero and the forever crowd pleasing Spanish inspired dessert crema catalana.
Reviewed 25 January 2023

We booked a table for two here at FINO at the Seppeltsfield winery. Decent menu and choice of a la crate or set menu - we went with the six course degusation which was good.

Attentive service which was appreciated, but a little confused that each course came as a serve for two, from which we would soon portions onto each plate. Which is fine for one course, but as time went on the plates became increasingly dirty and bore traces of the previous dish

Elsewhere we’ve been used to each course coming on own plate, allowing a crisp appreciation of the flavour without lingering aftertaste of the previous dish. probably not a big deal for a 2 course meal, but an issue for a six course experience.

Anyhow, minor quibble. Great location, good value, nice food. recommended

Date of visit: January 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2023

This is a beautiful location for a summer lunch. The food was fantastic and very generous with the feed me selection. The staff were amazing, so attentive and kind. A big shout out and thank you to Mel for making our day such a special one.

Date of visit: December 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rebeccatA8846BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2022 via mobile

Had the most amazing meal. We chose the set menu giving us a taste of 4 different courses plus a dessert,was so good. My husband even ate raw fish delicious. We also had ravioli that I would never have ordered as a main as it was filled with ricotta. It was so good then we had brisket so tender I could just go on and on the food was that good. As for the dessert yummy. Would recommend one of the best meals and the staff where so friendly and service 10 out of 10.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2022 via mobile

The positive: wait staff, service and setting was fantastic.

The poor: the amount of food dished up for a 4 course ‘menu’ at $68 per head was one of the most egregious examples of such little food for the price I have ever experienced.

We ordered the 4 course menu between four couples and each was served: 1 slice of bread, 2 bits of king fish (50c size), 1 slice of pork belly (the size of a tic tac container) 2 x bits of ravioli (50c size), some potatoes and a slice of cake. Grand total circa $700.

It was horrendously under sized and well over priced for what was served. It was insulting.

Date of visit: October 2022
2  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2022 via mobile

Lovely staff, warmly greeted, service was faultless.
Cold larder however came up a little short.
I like my oysters and raw fish cold- call me old school but at a minimum at least seawater temperature.
Both were served room temperature to slightly above, which was a little off putting.
Catalan dessert was fantastic and great coffee. Myles in the tasting room was awesome and a shout out to ( Troy?) who tends the grounds solo! Massive job.
Wish there was a button below very good, but above average. Somewhere in there would be accurate.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank I8642IOjulieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed FINO Seppeltsfield also viewed

Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 
Marananga, Barossa Valley
 

Been to FINO Seppeltsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.