We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Off the Nark”
Review of FINO Seppeltsfield

FINO Seppeltsfield
Price range: AU$55 - AU$90
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Good Food Guide Awards 2020 - Awarded 1 Hat The Advertiser Newspaper Food Awards - Best Regional Restaurant (Winery) 2018 FINO is the epitome of progressive regional dining, nestled amongst the grand palm trees of the Barossa Valley within the rejuvenated grounds of the Seppeltsfield village. Directors Chef David Swain and front-of-house personality Sharon Romeo's philosophy is on the very best fresh, local and seasonal produce delivered in a selection of set price menus. Expect a convivial ambience on arrival and dine on expressive dishes such as Hutton Vale Lamb, dirt(y) inc chickpeas, currants and cavolo nero and the forever crowd pleasing Spanish inspired dessert crema catalana.
Reviewed 14 October 2022 via mobile

Lovely staff, warmly greeted, service was faultless.
Cold larder however came up a little short.
I like my oysters and raw fish cold- call me old school but at a minimum at least seawater temperature.
Both were served room temperature to slightly above, which was a little off putting.
Catalan dessert was fantastic and great coffee. Myles in the tasting room was awesome and a shout out to ( Troy?) who tends the grounds solo! Massive job.
Wish there was a button below very good, but above average. Somewhere in there would be accurate.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank I8642IOjulieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

We were visiting Finos not by choice, more because our wine tour company had recommended it. The day was Sunday and the venue was quite busy. Our tour guide had allocated two hours for lunch and a wine tasting. Unfortunately the wine tasting didn’t eventuate because lunch service took the entire two hours. It wasn’t until we had waited almost an hour for our second course, and I’d asked our waiter (who had been ignoring us for quite some time), did we receive the meal. Most readers will appreciate that when you’re paying top dollar for a meal, you expect a high standard of service. Frustration set in and the entire lunch was ruined by sheer lack of care and attention. The food was mediocre and I would challenge the chef to taste the lamb croquettes as they had almost no flavour, and the cheesecake was awfully curdled. I actually think this place is a commercialised, overpriced waste of money.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank 592yvonnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2022

Authentic, fresh and simply beautifully prepared food with excellent staff service. A really impressive and memorable dining experience.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank NoshandNap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2022

We had not been here before and on a cold and wet Sunday we took a couple from Melbourne who are used to fine dining. A very bright and bubbly Layla greeted and seated us in front of the fire and the experience only just got better from there. We had the six course course Fino Signature Experience which was absolutely fantastic with a broad range of exquisite courses. Full marks to the Chef and team for great presentation with every dish tantalising the taste buds without being overpowering. Setting was brilliant for a large room and not too loud with high roof. All the staff were super friendly and up for a chat which just added to the pleasurable experience. Highly recommend and we will be back.

Date of visit: August 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2022 via mobile

A perfect lunch with friends visiting from Melbourne. Friendly and super efficient, professional staff, in particular Meaghan.
We were seated by the fire which was a perfect bonus - a prime spot in winter only surpassed by their outdoor terrace tables in summer! The food was amazing. Cooked to perfection, amazing presentation and sensational tastes. Fabulous wine list…. we chose an Izway Mates Aglianico to enjoy with the food - a wine made only a couple of kilometres further along Seppeltsfield Road by one of many talented young Barossa winemakers, Craig Isbel. Fino at Seppeltsfield is a must if you wish to have a quintessential Barossa experience. All class.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank SharynMRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed FINO Seppeltsfield also viewed

Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 
Marananga, Barossa Valley
 

Been to FINO Seppeltsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.