We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birth year port tasting”
Review of Seppeltsfield

Seppeltsfield
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 59.74*
and up
Seppeltsfield Winery Tour and Tastings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: “The most historic winery and greatest showpiece of the Barossa Valley” - James Halliday. Discover more of Seppeltsfield: wine, food, art, design & beauty.
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Visited this winery with the view to taste some port from our friends birth year. Enjoyed a tour of the original homestead and then the old cellar. Mind blowing cellar with vintage ports stored in barrels dated from 1878 to today. Amazing that someone decided to keep 1 barrel for every year. Our friend was born in 1952 and she was able to taste that vintage with no problems. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Thank NeilSchier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seppeltsfield1851, Public Relations Manager at Seppeltsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your kinds words about our Taste Your Birth Year experience. We are glad you were able to enjoy the day.
Kind regards,
Nicole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"old port"
in 21 reviews
"jam factory"
in 47 reviews
"cellar door"
in 51 reviews
"tasting room"
in 21 reviews
"port tasting"
in 8 reviews
"fortified wine"
in 7 reviews
"beautiful winery"
in 8 reviews
"heritage tour"
in 6 reviews
"date palms"
in 6 reviews
"staff member"
in 5 reviews
"great port"
in 5 reviews
"tasting area"
in 11 reviews
"palm trees"
in 12 reviews
"rich history"
in 5 reviews
"grounds are beautiful"
in 7 reviews
"lots of history"
in 6 reviews
"barossa valley"
in 24 reviews
Filter

30 - 34 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

Seppeltsfield is a very interesting location - lots of history, beautiful historic buildings and modern architecture. Roaming the gardens and the jam centre was great. The wine - well for a place specialising in historic fortified wines- was good. Nothing special

Thank Maclaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seppeltsfield1851, Public Relations Manager at Seppeltsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Fortified wine production dates back to 1878 at Seppeltsfield and is at the heart of our winemaking, we are sorry this was not to your taste, but glad you enjoyed the history, buildings and architecture.
Kind regards,
Nicole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Enjoyable. As a cellar door it is very commercialised and purchases need to be collected from another building on your way out. Wines are enjoyable. There is a separate group of fortified wines to the standard ones listed that you may taste at an added cost that is refundable if you happen to purchase one of the wines from the paid tasting. well worth the extra effort if you have an inkling that you may buy one. Over all pleasant experience. The grounds and buildings are fantastic and a great place to bring the family even with small children

Thank brucew1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seppeltsfield1851, Public Relations Manager at Seppeltsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our winery and for your kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back again one day.
Kind regards,
Nicole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We found the tour of Seppeltsfield interesting and worth the visit. The wines are limited as the fortified wines are the focus of the vineyard. We finished off with a delicious lunch at the restaurant Fino.

Thank Tessahern14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seppeltsfield1851, Public Relations Manager at Seppeltsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our winery, we are glad you were able enjoy both the tour and lunch at Seppeltsfield. We look forward to seeing you again one day.
Kind regards,
Nicole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

A visit to Seppeltsfield is a must when in the Barossa, even it's just to wander around all of the lovely old buildings that are immaculately kept. The cellar door is very modern and the staff are very friendly. You can see the old barrels of Tawny and smell them from the cellar door and it adds to the atmosphere. The lady that looked after us was very informative and absolutely loved her job which was fantastic. Hearing the history of the wines and the Tawny was fascinating. A very enjoyable couple of hours and beautiful wine!

1  Thank Greta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seppeltsfield1851, Public Relations Manager at Seppeltsfield, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our winery, I'll be sure to pass along your lovely comments to our cellar door team - they really do enjoy making people happy and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us!
Kind regards,
Nicole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seppeltsfield also viewed

Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 
Greenock, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Seppeltsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing