We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Millpond

Stunning view from deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning view from deck
Living Room Bespoke Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Stunning view from deck
Living Room
Bespoke Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Third Bedroom
Decor
Living Room
Living Room
Decor
Dining Room
Bespoke Kitchen
Decor
Deck
Deck
Decor
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
Fully Equipped Laundry
Decor
Millpond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Having spent Seven days at millpond this time around found the house Perfect as usual, great view,great walks and wildlife only one problem could not stay longer, we will be back in 2018 Thank you Eddie

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Dear Peter and Anne,
Thank you for your great review and for once again choosing Millpond as your preferred holiday home for your annual visits to Kangaroo Island, we will look forward to seeing you again in 2018.
Kind regards,
Eddie and Rhonda Crouch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwiknigh...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Fantastic location, with a stunning view of the sea and a short walk to the beach. Extremely well appointed and clean house, with quality mod cons and very comfortable decor. It was an absolute pleasure to stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Dear Deb,
Thank you for your great review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our holiday home and that you found that it met your needs, we hope to see you and your friends again in the future.
Kind regards,
Eddie Crouch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith I
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely home-like place”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Family of 8 checked into Millpond for our vacation last week. Must say that the place is simply awesome. The décor and furnishing are done in such a way that give a home-like feel. Modern look with hard wood floor (not laminate ones)!Essentials such as cutlery, towels (including beach towels), deck chairs are sufficient. The place is very neat and clean when we checked in. Full marks for these attributes.

Millpond is only 2 minutes or less drive away from the Sealink harbour where visitors first diesmbarked. A supermarket, cafes and restaurants, a bottle mart (selling alcoholic drinks) and the Penneshaw Hotel are also located 2 minutes away. The proximity of the harbour and these amenities make Millpond an excellent choice for visitors. We appreciate that we do not have to drive a very far distance to check in and settle down. We can check in very quickly, grab a bite and load up some essentials before plotting the next move. Again, full marks for these attributes.

Millpond is located on the top of a ridge (so to speak) and therefore, it accords a very good view of the sea and the beach. The sunset is simply gorgeous. Full marks here again.

And as for the host, Eddie. He's a most reasonable and pleasant man. Although we did not meet in person, the conversation that I have with him over the phone reveals a man who is thoughtful and pleasant. Before embarking on the holiday, he responded to my email queries most promptly and politely. We appreciate his gesture in wishing us a good trip before we depart. When we checked in, there was a night when the plumbing did not work well. There was no hemming or hawing and he assured us that he would send the plumber down to check it out the following day; which he promptly did.

If you want a place that feels like home when you're away from home, a place with scenic view and where the host is most attentive, Millpond is the place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
Hi Keith,
Thank you for your great review of Millpond we were very pleased that our holiday home met your family and friends needs and that you enjoyed the sights of KI. We were glad that the hot water issue did not cause too much concern and it was rectified quickly. We hope to see you and your friends again in the future.
Kind regards,
Eddie Crouch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Five star excellence”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Beautiful beach house with stunning views. Millpond is modern, clean, spacious and very comfortable. The amenities are plentiful and of high standard. We are a family of 4 with 2 boys aged 12 and 9 and everyone loved Millpond. Location is terrific, easy to move around the Island and get back to a wonderful home at the end of the day. We would highly recommend Millpond to everyone planning a trip to K.I.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean and modern
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
Dear Lucy,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Millpond and we were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our holiday home met your family's needs. We hope to see you and your friends again in the future.
Kind regards,
Eddie Crouch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Truly a great place to live while on KI. Eddie's attention to detail is amazing and the house has all you need. Was great for the three of us (including my 10 year old daughter) but would be comfortable with more people. Recommended without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Dear Eric,
Thank you for your great review and we were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Millpond. We also hope to see you and your friends again in the future.
Kind regards,
Eddie Crouch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing