We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ricky K
Murchison, Australia

Worst stay in 20 years

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Dec 2022via mobile
We stayed in room 3 downstairs and whilst it had a view of the ocean the walls are thin in thus building, upstairs was room 10 with possibly unsupervised children jumping from beds and running around very noisy, after 7 pm the front desk is not manned so you are stuck with persistent noise, we unfortunately booked no refund and chose to forfeit $189 second night and leave ad the noise was that bad from upstairs room - even when it appeared adults returned to upstairs we may as well have been in their room as we could hear their drunk voices as though we were in their room - also they checked us in and the power meter was being upgraded and no power until about 4 pm and no apology or for warning of such, do yourself a favour and not stay in the motel section villas are more like cabins but may have been ok- service though is little to nothing - one if the worst accomodation ever had. Sorry to be honest but sometimes people need to.
Date of stay: December 2022
Room Tip: Don’t book in hotel area as rooms are very thin roof and walls very noisy ok if you don’t want to...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • Official Site
0.2 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
Charlie Bates Cottage - Penneshaw Kangaroo Island
    1.2 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    view from balcony
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    1.4 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free Wifi
    Beach fishing on Red House
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    17.6 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$237
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$237
    0.3 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    • Priceline
    • Trip.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    0.3 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
    0.5 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Agoda.com
    1.0 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    AU$170
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    0.0 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Penneshaw
    Reviews (543)
    Filter reviews
    543 results
    Traveller rating
    131
    219
    130
    46
    17
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    131
    219
    130
    46
    17
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews ferry terminal kangaroo island garden villa the pub mini golf upstairs room fish and chips dinner voucher yogurt across the road stunning views penguins accommodation iga kitchenette tour ensuite
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    8 - 13 of 543 reviews
    Reviewed 30 November 2022 via mobile

    Lovely position near the water. Amenities very clean and modern. No dryer or dump point though. We used the park as a base for exploring the northern and eastern aspects of Kangaroo Island. Check in was at the seafront hotel. Fairy penguin sightings at night bear the caravan park.

    Room tip: Speed limit seems a little fast for road conditions at 100kmp. Locals are very helpful for advice. Places not to miss include Remarkables.
    Date of stay: November 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Debbie P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 November 2022 via mobile

    The staff were lovely and I do not want to take anything away from home incredibly helpful and lovely they were. They assisted with providing us a hdmi cord when we asked but they did fail to provide anything special for the stay which was asked for by email (only asked for a note.)

    My only issues were with the hotel itself, with the pool now being out of commission for 6 weeks, the ‘sauna’ sign out the front being wrong as it hasn’t been there for years and the mini golf being closed.

    Additionally, the bed sheets had stains and rubbish was not removed from our room when it was serviced and the hotel struggled to give us a mere 15 minute later check out. The bathroom door didn’t lock, the screen door to the balcony (great view) also was broken. I can understand all of these things being wrong, however at over $200 a night this really was very disappointing to have this experience on a romantic get away.

    The location of the hotel is great though, with great food nearby, IGA and BWS a very short walk away and a fantastic view and beach front stay which is right next to where the ferry docks.

    Room tip: Be aware that many of the facilities may be closed.
    Date of stay: November 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Angus M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 November 2022

    Went here to pay for fees at 12.00pm for caravan/RV park we had booked for 3 days and were told we could not get to our site till 2.00pm. Why not we asked ? Company policy ,unpleasant woman told us. BUT if you pay an EXTRA $15 you can get in now. Could not believe it. Aussies DO NOT liked to be RIPPED OFF!! Need to reexamine themselves.

    Date of stay: November 2022
    1  Thank Laurie I
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Nicola Purvis, General Manager at Kangaroo Island Seafront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2022

    Hi Laurie, Sorry you felt we ripped you off for an early checkin. You asked to check in at 11am, as our website clearly states check-in is from 2pm (pretty stock standard time) we do allow sometimes early checkins with a fee, as electricy and water is used with in those 3hrs. We have never had a complaint about this fee in all the years we have been operating the Seafront Holiday Park. You had a choice not to accept, and checkin at normal time of 2pm.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 November 2022

    Chose a garden villa (and asked for a sofa bed option) as we were self catering dinners (heated up meals in the small but efficient microwave oven). The villa was comfortable and insulated against the strong winds at 5am (at time of visit, the weather was brisk, cold, showery). Parking was easy, adjacent to the rear of the group of villas at the back of the property.
    Handy location, next door to the IGA Supermarket.

    Room tip: Ask for a villa at the rear of the property ie villas 20 onwards, away from the inground pool and high street noise.
    Date of stay: October 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank BelC0001
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 October 2022

    The Romantic Glamping location said it had sea views, a kitchen and the perfect romantic getaway, yes sea views but no where near the sea, kitchen er no, we had a sink and a fridge, i had to buy a toaster. The staff had a major fault, they did not know how to smile or make us feel welcome, its a if it was a burden for them to be there.
    I would strongly suggest do not go to the Seafront Holiday Park unless your sick of life. The pictures on the website are nothing like what we ended up in.
    Great it offered Netflix, problem it didnt work.
    It was very cold in the glamping tent, air conditioner didnt not work very well, and there were no spare blankets, i had to wear normal clothes in bed with my jacket just to keep warm.

    Room tip: go elsewhere, we were so excited the day we left, the place is terrible
    Date of stay: October 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Glenn H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Nicola Purvis, General Manager at Kangaroo Island Seafront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2022

    To N717SMglennh,
    We are confused regarding this review, and we are sadded that you didnt enough your glamping experiance. We want to acknowledge a few of your concerns and dissapointment. We do not advertise a full kitchen on any website, we do list all the amenties in the tents (we do NOT encourage cooking in the tents as they are a canvas material) We have plenty of pictures on website to show location of the tents and do not advertise that they are directly on the beach. All the images are our tents, we have never had a compalint that we have advertised falsely. They all do have seaviews of the back stairs passage over seeing the mainland. Netflix is on the smart TV you need to login to your own account to access (all tv are working perfectly well) lastly the aircon - unless we are told by yourself or previuos guests we are unaware, maintenace attended your room when we saw your review and changed the setting as it was on fan not heating. We apologies if your experinace was not up to your standard.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews