We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite Faulty Towers - if you are older, but its ok for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penneshaw
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite Faulty Towers - if you are older, but its ok for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

My 84 yr colleague, plus me (75) as his carer, stayed 4 nights and ENJOYED Kangaroo Island tourist offerings.
BUT for anyone in future, if u arrive on a late afternoon Ferry, as we did, stay the one night at Pennshaw or better still the Kingscote end of island. Then use at least the next full day touring en route to a mid-island base. This is because of distances to 'sights' - the Island is 150km long- travel wass slow on winding metal but sometimes poor dirt roads, and the avoidance of being on the road after dusk which is 'roadside kill' time.
We 'stayed put' at Seafront Resort and as a result did not get to visit the far end of island and its famous rock formations.

The informative, helpful Seafront 'Resort' hosts were available up to 7-9pm only, no presence at all after that.
For the elderly/infirm/handicapped, walking about, by day or in the somewhat dull evening lighting, is in my opinion an 'accident waiting to happen', on the uneven, sloping pathways that may turn slippery if really wet, yet no hand rail help. We were 'alerted' to the 'un-even path situation' and offered inside accomodation but had paid for, and preferred, the excellent self contained villa unit.
Once an extra heater was provided- as the air-con living area heating did not reach to the bedroom- we were comfortable, but walked carefully on the outside porch, as again there was a short drop/steps with no railings.

Our rate included an excellent value for money $20 full buffet breakfast. We learnt to get in early while the cooked food was still hot, since the containers never had their 'under- flames' lit. You could order 'fresh' scrambled or poached eggs cooked on the spot.
For other meals you had to exit the 'Resort'.
After 7.30pm the only 'late night' food was at the nearby Hotel, provided by, we understand, the same 'proprietors/owners as the 'Resort'. The Hotel offered very good food choices prepared by two excellent chefs, with reasonable pricing supported by average, jovial, serving staff.
I could go on - if you want to do Kangaroo Island maybe give Seafront a miss or one night only.
'Resort' is certainly a 'misnomer'.

Our tour highlights -
-The journey from Pennshaw or Kingscote to visit Jenny at her Honey farm and the nearby Eucalypt Distillery and the 'American River' enclave
-Seal Cove and its walk-about to the beach and the en-route 'Birds of Prey' demo.

Room Tip: If you don't want the 'quieter' located, self-contained villa style, then choose an up-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xplorer1Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    166
    84
    34
    11
See reviews for
64
219
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Handy to the Pub and Restaurant at the Pub, close to the car ferry and not far, just a short drive to the wineries.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glennT3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed for 1 night at the Kangaroo Island Seafront hotel as part of my 2 day Sealink tour of Kangaroo Island. This hotel is simply outstanding. The rooms, the location, the friendly staff, the food. This is simply one of the best boutique hotels I have stayed in anywhere in the world and I would highly recommend it to everyone.
The sunrise view from the balcony on the first floor is breath taking.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor with a balcony facing the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akhtar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,043 reviews
370 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,821 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We've been here a few times but was not aware of the garden villas.I've had fond memories of seeing penguins across the road and walking down the main road so naturally I booked the room at the front facing the park and sea.
We had a conference on KI and I put the rest of our team in the garden villas - more fool I.
They were cheaper but actually better rooms and gave our team privacy to party on.
We had a wonderful couple of nights and thoroughly loved this hotel and town.

Room Tip: try the garden villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This seafront hotel is not to be taken on photo value. An excellent photoshop has led us innocent travellers to believe it is of 4 star class instead of 2 star class. The rooms have been cheaply renovated with a small balcony that has no shelter from the sun at all, making it very unpleasant to sit outside. Evening meals are only available at the local hotel nearby and are expensive. Try the cafes instead, they deserve the patronage. If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing stay, I suggest you avoid the overpriced rooms here and don't rely on reception hype telling you that your choice of hotel is suited to your needs. This is a stop-over only if on tours and not for the solo.

Room Tip: Later discovered there are two rooms above reception that may be worth asking about as far as quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seafront D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penneshaw hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penneshaw
27.7 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
107.1 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
15.9 km away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
28.5 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
27.9 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Seafront

Property: Kangaroo Island Seafront
Address: 49 North Tce, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Penneshaw
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penneshaw
Price range (per night): $136 - $216
Hotel Class:4 star — Kangaroo Island Seafront 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seafront is perfectly situated in Penneshaw - Gateway to Kangaroo Island, and overlooks the magnificent Backstairs Passage. Kangaroo Island is totally unspoilt with white beaches, stunning coastlines and home to an abundance of wildlife. If you're looking for four-star accommodation in an idyllic setting, this is surely the place, located on the Esplanade just 500 metres from the Sealink Ferry Terminal. The Kangaroo Island Seafront has 16 rooms and 12 Villas.....Choose from the 4star Sea Front Rooms with spectacular views and private balcony, 4star Sorrento's rooms located upstairs in the original guest building or the sanctuary of our Deluxe Villas. Bringing the family? Why not stay in one of our 1, 2 or 3 bedroom Villas. FREE WiFi for all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kangaroo Island Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Seafront Hotel Penneshaw
Kangaroo Island Seafront Penneshaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing